Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip-Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip-Crock Pot Recipe

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2003

      This was so delicious! Two of my kids do not even like roast beef and they loved this. My husband could not stop eating it and raved the entire time...plus, it couldn't get any easier! I used a 4 lb. bottom round roast and 3 tsp. of instant beef bouillon powder. I also used regular salt because I had no seasoning salt. Otherwise, followed to a "T". I have to admit, I was worried about all that pepper, but it was fine! I cooked 4.5 hours on high, then sliced the beef and put it back in the crockpot for about 20 minutes. Never have I eaten a more tender roast beef sandwich. I used split Kaiser rolls with a slice of American cheese on each and put them in the oven for about 10 minutes on 375*. Then I piled on the sliced meat and served with the au jus. Just wonderful. This made 8 good size sandwiches and I still have plenty for leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! P.S. My daughter loved it so much that after her sandwich, she asked for a cup of the au jus to DRINK!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      What a simple to prepare, deilicous, and not too many points meal. I threw everything together the night before and refrigerated the crockpot. This morning I plugged it in and at lucnch came home to a delicious lunch that no restraunt could of made any better. I used a small french roll and about 1/2 cup of the beef with 1/4 cup au jus. I calculated this to 7 points. I like how all the flavers in the juice are seperate, but also blend together well. Thank you for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      It was good and I will make it again. I did use fresh garlic and rosemary, and I agree with one review that the pepper and salt amounts may be switched. 1 tablespoon pepper is too much, and I love pepper. I did use my own stock since I had it own hand. I'm not a fan of bouillon, so I think I would stick with the stock as it has a nice rich flavor. I sliced my onions so I could use them on the sandwich, and served it with a mayo and horseradish sauce along with the au jus. Definitely all gone, so that is a good thing. Thx for posting. Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Had this for New Years Day dinner. What a hit. Everyone loved it. It was easy to prepare and the taste was fantatic! Thanks for an easy tasty meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Love the peppery flavor! Definately the best French Dip sandwich I have ever had. Thanks Di

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      Absolutely Wonderful!!!!! My MIL and I each had two. So easy and so good I couldnt believe the flavour from a recipe with such few ingredients. I reserved the onions to put a couple on the bun and other than that did all the rest the same. Thanks Di, we had never had French Dip and deffinitely will do so again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      Very tasty. I would cut down on the pepper a little. I will make this a favorite,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      My husband gave this a two thumbs up! I served mine on onion rolls and mixed horseradish and mayo for a dressing for the sandwiches. Great recipe and very easy to put together. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      I am not a big roast beef fan - but I really liked this. It was very tender and had a nice beefy taste. I used only 1 tsp of pepper. I also omitted the bouillon cubes and added a touch of kitchen magic flavoring. <br/><br/>I used a sirloin beef roast that was on sale ( lot of marbling ) and cooked on hogh for 4 1/2 hours. Will definitely make again, Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Delicious and so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      It was good. I mean i like the simplicity of it, but it wasn't great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      This was so good! I think our roast (a small-ish round roast) cooked a bit too long, which was really just a product of our day running too late. When I first strained the juices using just a metal sieve, the au jus was too spicy from all the pepper. But then I strained it a second time, through a thin kitchen towel, and it was just right. Maybe I will cut back on the pepper next time, just to be safe--but the kids didn't complain so it probably wasn't too much after all! Thank you for the recipe. We will surely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      This was easy to make and we liked the taste of it. I only used one teaspoon of pepper as I thought a tablespoon would be too much. I didn't use rosemary as I didn't have any. I cooked mine for 8 hours and it was too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Great easy recipe! I overcooked mine by accidentally hitting High instead of Low but it still had really good flavor. I had to add some juiciness back into the slightly dried out meat so I sauteed some onions and topped the sandwiches with muenster cheese. Although my husband loves au jus straight up, I put some of it into a small pot mixed with a little flour and made a light gravy for dipping these babies into. Deelish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Tasty & easy. I cooked for the suggested amount of time but felt it needed just a bit more time. Has a wonderful flavor. We will make again & cook longer . Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Lunch, anyone? Don't mind if I do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      The flavors in this recipe are wonderful and the meat comes out very moist and tender. Even though there are only two of us, I went ahead and made the 5# roast and froze the leftovers for another meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This was very good & simple to make! I try to follow a recipe exactly the first time, but a 5 lb. rump was a bit much for just the 2 of us so I bought a 3 lb. I only cut down on the pepper, making it 1 t.
      It was in the crockpot all night & at 10 AM. is was tender as can be. That way as soon as the meat cooled I put it in the fridge to cool so it would be easier to slice.
      I was afraid the Au Jus might be to salty, but it was perfect. I sliced it cold put in a small frying pan to warm with a little of the Au Jus & had it on soft Hoggie rolls. Delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Perfect! Wonderful! Heck, it's FANDAMNTASTIC! This was easy to do & the flavor is just the way it should be. I can't believe it's been posted this long without me seeing it or making it. Thanks Di, will be a regular 'fix' around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Delicious and easy . I was looking for a slow cooker roast recipe without 1,000 mg of sodium. I used low sodium beef stock and Herb Ox sodium free beef bouillon. It was delicious. I also swapped garlic powder w/minced garlic and used fresh rosemary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip-Crock Pot Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 582.1
     
    Calories from Fat 312
    53%
    Total Fat 34.7 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 212.6 mg
    70%
    Sodium 521.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 60.3 g
    120%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    instant Oxo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites