16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. I also add some butter, red wine, Italian seasoning, a little bit of worchestershire sauce, some thomas'es sauce, and some carrots if I have them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique May 03, 2012

DH loved this! Fast and easy and very flavorful! I thinly sliced some leftover steak (rare) that I allowed to come to room temp before serving. Made an easy sandwich of it with toasted multi grain bread. FAST meal and very satisfied dh! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) March 16, 2010

What a great way to make au jus! I didn't have any onion or celery, so just used dried minced onion and thyme and it came out wonderfully! This au jus combined with the provolone cheese I melted on top of the deli roast beef for a couple minutes under the broiler had my family raving. We ended up having it two nights in a row because my picky DD loved it so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camden's Mom September 10, 2014

Perfect. I used a carrot instead of an onion and a knob of the bone from the prime rib as a fat agent, and some marsala and worchestershire. I reduced it for quite a while and it was so so good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz December 18, 2013

No complaints here! Made it as written. Everyone really liked this. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir November 27, 2013

This is an excellent au- jus. Totally agree with using beef base. I used Minion, what I had. Out side of that followed recipe. Don't understand where all the other add-on's enhance the taste of original. Then again each chef has their own stick .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galig January 03, 2013

This was an awesome au-jus! It went so well with our holiday standing rib roast. The only thing I changed was to add a half tsp. of garlic powder and a Tbs. of Lea and Perrins worcestershire. It was as good or better than any restaurant au-jus I've tasted, I think it was mostly due to the Better Than Boullion soup base. I would recommend this recipe for any fine beef dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian in Maine December 26, 2012

Very tasty! Made exactly as the recipe calls, and was very pleased. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BThomson June 06, 2012

Super tastey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet**Fuzion November 14, 2011

This was perfect! So fast and easy. I used a beef base that I purchased at Sam's and cooked the three stalks on celery and onion a bit in the sauce pan before I added the rest of the ingredients. Put some roast beef from Sam's in a heated sub roll and wow!!! This one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
garcia_parks January 01, 2011
French Dip Au Jus