Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2003

      I used leftover prime rib roast and followed recipe exactly. Better than restaurant french dip sandwiches. Wonderful flavor. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      WOW, this was really good. I used just regualr shaved steak because it was what we had. The flavoring was wonderful....Everyone enjoyed it. I did add 2 TBSP of cornstarch to the broth after I took the meat out to make it a little thicker (we like gravy) very good and will make again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      I had a chuck round roast and wanted to make french dips, so I tossed everything except 1/2 the water into the crock pot and it is soooo good! I will turn the crock pot back on tomorrow for extra tender meat, I really didn't want to wait for them, but I know it will be worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I used leftover deli sliced roast beef. I knew we would not eat it cold so I hoped this would help. It was stellar. I wish I had more, in fact I think i have to try it with a beef roast. The au juis had so much flavor and so did the beef. I did add a little beef base to the liquid and we served it with sauted peppers and onions. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Wonderful way to use leftover beef roast. I had just under 1/2 lb of leftover pot roast, so scaled back the ingredients accordingly. I did add 1/4 tsp of "Better than Bouillon" (beef flavored) to the mixture and some sliced onions. After simmering for an hour I added the beef/onion to the bun and topped with a slice of provolone cheese and put it under the broiler for a min and served the the sauce on the side, yummo!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This is so good!! I didnt have a bay leaf but it still turned out great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      These are so good, I wanted to eat the meat right out of the pan. I cooked a roast the other day just for this recipe, and I am soooooo glad I did. This is amazing, the meat is tender and flavorful from cooking it for the hour. We loved it and will continue to make this for our french dips. I sauteed some peppers and onions to serve on top and had swiss cheese for those who wanted it. I did slice the meat instead of shredding but otherwise followed the recipe. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Very good! I only had shaved deli roast beef. I doubled the au jus, adding "Better than Bouillion", about 3 tsps. to the water and about 1/2 of a thinly sliced onion. After about 30 minutes of simmering, I added the roast beef to the pot. Used toasted sourdough rolls with a few slices of swiss cheese, as that is what BF likes on his French Dips. We will make this often, thanks for posting, Charlotte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      We just love love love this recipe. We will nerver do packet au jus again!!! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      We really enjoyed our French dip sandwiches last night. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added about a teaspoon of beef bouillon granules to the sauce. It turned out great and I'll be making again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I never know what to make with leftover roast beef. This was a keeper and I'll be making it again and again. I used a low sodium soy sauce, but didn't use beef broth as others had suggested. I don't think it needed broth - the meat simmering in the soy sauce and water for so long, plus the herbs, made for a very flavorful sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      These sandwiches were extremely flavorful and really hit the spot on a chilly day. I used the leftovers from Herb-Crusted Roast Beef. I will definitely make these again after I make roast beef. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      This is a wonderful French Dip recipe! I used to always use the little packets to make the au jus! This tasted so much better! I will definitely use this recipe again!! I did add a handful of chopped onions to the au jus, to give it more texture, and also a can of beef broth. It tasted wonderful! Also, if you dont have a leftover roast, use deli meat! It adds a lot to the sandwich if you add some swiss cheese and mayo and toast it! :) Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I made this a while back. I served it with deli roast beef and threw a couple pieces in the au jus, so I probably didn't get the same effect, but it was still a delicious recipe and I loved the herbs in the au jus dip as well as the flavor the soy gave it! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I made this on 8/11/07,and am very sorry it wasn't rated and reviewed until now.For the roast I used leftovers from Slow Cooked Tender Italian Beef,and I think it worked just fine for this dish.My SO and I both thought that there wasn't enough of a beefy taste to the au jus sauce.I'm not sure if I'll make this again.But,thank you for taking the time to post this recipe."Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Outstanding is an understatement...this is terrific. Had left-over chuck roast and voila...a wonderfully tasty French Dip dinner. THX for posting this EZ and delicious use for leftover roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      was delicious. Actually did in crockpot with raw chuck roast about 9 hours and then shredded, refrigerated for the next day. warmed up and put some au ju in a dipping bowl and put beef on finger rolls with a little au jus and mayo. Yummy! Would also be great with leftover or deli turkey. thanks for a simple dinner idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Awesome... I used a baguette for french rolls and it was a hit with the whole family. So good that this will be my only recipe for leftover roast. Thanks Charlotte

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      Very good...tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Before leaving for a weeks vacation at Christmas time, I froze a leftover venison roast that I had cooked in the crockpot. I was at a loss as to how to finish it up this past weekend until I ran across your wonderful recipe! I served this roast on buttered and toasted multi-grain hard rolls with grilled onions and broiled provolone cheese on top. We then dipped them into the awesome au jus. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (346 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.4
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    30%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 112.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1339.8 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 41.1 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites