Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Country Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Country Slow Cooker Chicken

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2012

      Came out pretty good but just a bit bland for me. Next time I will try bumping the spices up by adding a chicken boullion cube and some garlic and powders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      My family thought this was ok. I added a cup of chicken broth as Spencer #2 recommended. There won't be any gravy if you don't add additional liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Really wonderful flavor. Chicken was moist and tender with a wounderful mix of spices. I hemmed and hawed about the amount of liquid. A ended up adding about 1 cup of chicken broth halfway through cooking. I think I am just accustomed to more liquid in my crock pot than this recipe called for. The recipe may not have needed the extra liquid after all but it did make a wonderful light gravy.

      I will definitely make this again for guests. I served with a side of mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      This was a great recipe for comfort food! I added an extra can of condensed chicken soup in the last hour, because it wasn't creamy enough to my liking. I cooked whole grain brown rice on the side, and added chopped green onion, parsley, salt and garlic powder to that. Topped the chicken stew on-top of the rice. Was delicious! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Loved it! Omitted celery but added baby red potatoes. Cooked on high for 4.5 hrs. Stirring once with 1/2 hour left. The family all thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      From the aroma when it's cooking to the last drop of gravy on the plate, this was absolutely delicious! And couldn't be easier to prepare. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts and cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I also added a bit more wine during cooking since I ended up having to cook it a bit longer than required. Served it over quinoa. Thank you Virginia Cherry Blossom for sharing this great tasting dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Wonderful tasting stew. Reminded my daughter and I of the roasted chicken with gravy we had in Paris. The only change I made was I added a whole cup of wine. My crock pot runs hots and actually cooks the food so I needed the extra liquid. My family raved that this was the best stew yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      So simple and easy to make. This tasted great and will be great for when the weather turns cooler. I had all the ingredients on hand to make it which is a plus. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Simple to prepare, yummy to eat. Good combination! I subbed chicken broth for white wine & omitted the cornstarch. I had some left-over white rice I stirred in before serving, and that was delicious. I chopped up some green onion and threw it on top for garnish and a little zing. Good stuff! Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes of ZWT5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      It was simply too hot in London today to have my oven going. So, it was a perfect time to try out this slow cooker recipe. Over all it was an easy and magnifique recipe. I did have a little trouble with is drying up a bit after I stirred in the wine mixture. However, I think that my slow cooker might run a bit hot and that might be the reason. I simply added another glug of the white wine and that fixed the 'problem' just fine. It had a lovely rich taste at that stage and then I just stirred in a tiny bit of Dijon mustard right at the end and then it got very good indeed! Instead of serving over rice, I served it alongside Mashed Potatoes With Creme Fraiche and Chives for a nice French themed meal without much work involved. Made for the Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was a simple, tasty meal. I used 4 large skinless chicken breasts (which were about 1.75 lbs). When I went to stir it halfway through, I noticed things seemed to be a bit dry, so I added the white wine at this time (without cornstarch). I checked it after 3 hours and it was well cooked. I did not need to add the cornstarch, as the sauce was thick enough. It smelled absolutely wonderful, and I really liked the combination of tarragon and thyme. Thanks for posting this. Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Country Slow Cooker Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.5
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    23%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 79.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 924.0 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites