Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Country Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Country Casserole

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2002

      Miss Annie, yet another winner! This recipe is wonderful! As per my usual, I couldn't wait for Dan'l to get home before tasting and reviewing so I had a bite as it came out of the oven (just cooled enough). I made exactly as indicated, using the beef broth instead of the wine and cooked for 60 minutes. I will serve with a tossed green salad and French baguette, which I think is going to make a great meal! Once again, Miss Annie, Thank you for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      Miss Annie, we thought this casserole was so delicious. Very hearty and filling. I followed your instructions and used red wine instead of beef broth. The thyme lends a wonderful flavor, too. My husband said he was definitely taking the left-overs to work for lunch. Thanks for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I really liked this but I made a few changes. First I did it in a stock pot on top of the stove and I started with a tiny bit of olive oil and I cooked some bacon until crispy (I had cut the bacon into little pieces before cooking it). Then as those turned brown I threw the carrots in to cook them a bit. After I was satisfied that the carrots were partially done I threw my onions and garlic in for just a minute before I added the other stuff. The last change I made was I used alot more sugar than you called for, I must have uses about 7 big scoops with a tablespoon. I just kept tasting and adding because I was looking for sweet and tangy. :). I cooked it for about 20 minutes (the amount of time it took to make cornbread, which went perfectly with this!) thanks, I'm keeping this one. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe in its own right as well as an excellent one on which to build, which I did, and used my large crockpot to hold it all. I added 1 lb chicken thighs, cubed, & 1 lb pork chops, cubed, to the sausage. I used white kidney beans in place of the great northern, a 24 oz can tomato sauce, 1 lb carrots, 2 large onions, 1 cup white wine in place of red wine, doubled the garlic, and omitted the brown sugar, keeping the thyme about the same. It was ready 8-9 hours later. Took to a potluck the following day where it was the highlight of the luncheon table. Thanks for posting this Miss Annie. Fall is here, and winter isn't too far behind, which means many more occasions to pull up this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Great comforting dish! I made exactly as the recipe, except I browned the kielbasa with the onions and carrots first then combined everything else and cooked in the oven for 45 minutes. It smelled heavenly while cooking. The whole family gives this 5 stars. I plan to serve the leftovers over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      a wonderful way to serve kielbasa. I followed the recipe exactly except for the thyme...I kept it to one teaspoon. Mixed up the casserole in the morning and had it for dinner that night. This was delicious!! I'm adding this to my original review....I used a tube of Jimmy Dean low fat sausage, fried up, instead of the kielbasa. And, as another poster suggested, cooked it in the crock pot all day. It was super-delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      This is a real good dish. I make this recipe all the time. I will throw all of the ingredients in the crockpot and cook it on low for eight hours. It is really simple and dinner is ready when I get home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      Excellent dish. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and it eas great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Very good, I will swap tarragon or another spice for the thyme next time though. I used about 3/4 tsp and it was still too much for me. I'll try a chicken sausage next time too. Thanks for the keeper!

      Update: I changed it slightly to tamper the thyme and boy do I love this meal now for ease and flavor! I added 1/4 tsp thyme, 1/4 tsp tarragon and 1 tsp of good sweet hungarian paprika. Sauteed the onions and garlic and then made it on the stovetop (45 min total) because our oven is on the fritz. YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I love a great recipe that is primitive in nature and results in something that tastes as fantastic as this. It was so easy to make, I felt good about the wholesome and natural ingredients it called for, and it gave the illusion that I had slaved away in the kitchen for a LOT longer than 10 minutes. What a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is a good recipe. I've made it several times--I have it in a cookbook. I have used canned carrots so that the baking time is reduced a little. I also omit the brown sugar, because we don't care for sweet beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I didn't much care for the kielbalsa...but that's a personal preference. I may have enjoyed it more with beef stew meat instead. Or perhaps chunks of chicken...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This was excellent. Even my kids liked it. Very easy to prepare, not a lot of cleanup (hooray!) and it looks like you spent all day in the kitchen. I'll be making this one a lot. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      This was pretty good. Didn't do too good with my DBs, because they don't like beans. However, all of my meat loving guy family members (DF, DBs) have pretty much demanded that I make pork in the crock pot with the sauce recipe sometimes, so I'll try that. My mom and I loved it. Oh, and I used lite kielbasa with lots less fat + calories. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      This was so easy and delicious - and even better the next day! I used some smoked brats I had on hand and a chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I used a can of whole tomatoes that I chopped up and I used chicken broth instead of wine or beef broth (all I had - and it worked very well.) I did everything else as stated in the recipe. We will be making this again soon! And I think it will become a "regular"!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      This is our favorite recipe! I've been making it for almost a year now - at least 3 times a month! So easy and delicious. I've made some substitutions to appeal to my family's taste. I use chicken/apple sausage rather than kielbasa, and garbanzo beans instead of the great northern beans. I also cut the sugar to 1 tablespoon and use 4-6 cloves of garlic (we're garlic lovers!). Finally, I use almost 2/3 cup of red wine, since I love the way it flavors the whole casserole. This is such a fabulous one dish meal. Thank you Miss Annie for sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This was well received by guests. I substituted chorizo for the kielbasa and baked covered it in a Chinese clay pot at 350°F for 1 hour 10 minutes; it was too watery so I baked it for another hour uncovered. I served leftovers the next day topped with Mexican cheeses and baked for 25 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Dee-lish!Good comfort food for a cold evening!Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Healthy, colorful, flavorful and delicious. So easy to put together. Just takes a little time to bake while you enjoy a glass of wine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was very good. I was turned off by all the beans at first but it was a really good meal for kielbasa. I will make it again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Country Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.5
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    38%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 37.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 980.0 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites