Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Chicken in a Pot (America's Test Kitchen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Chicken in a Pot (America's Test Kitchen)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2010

      I love this chicken recipe! It was exactly what I was looking for, and ATK is so reliable. One word of caution about rosemary: just use a small sprig, about 3 inches long. I found out the hard way that it easily overpowers the other flavors in the dish. In fact, the first time I made this I didn't use any rosemary and preferred it to the taste with the herb.
      This is one easy dish that will make you look like a gourmet French cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This is by far the best roast chicken. I have made it many many times because it is my family's favorite chicken recipe. The last time I made it I added about 1/4 cup of white wine and 2 tbl. of dijon mustard and two springs of thyme just before putting in the oven. It was heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Wonderful! I had a 5 lb. roaster and after cooking for 1.5 hours it still wasn't done and my family started circling me and out of fear I rasied the temp to 350 degrees and cooked 20 more minutes and it was done and absolutely delicious. I was not allowed to tent for 20 minutes due to a hungry bunch of people but I will definately make this again and again and maybe add carrots. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      I've prepared this well over a dozen times. This is my go-to recipe when I cook a whole Chicken and when I don't use my rotisserie. A huge hit with my lady and guests. Just absolutely juicy and succulent. 5 Stars all the way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      I had a cut up whole chicken and used it in this recipe. Also added some wine. A splash of white right before putting in oven. All I can say is "superbe". Served with mashed potatoes over which we drizzles some of the dripping juice. Added some sliced tomatoes that were dressed with oil,red wine vinegar, s&p, and some Herbs de Provence (just a smidge). Accompaniment was a glass of some French red wine. Vive la France!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I used a humongous, 7 1/2 lb chicken, to baptize my brand new 6 1/2 qt enameled cast iron
      dutch oven. I brined the bird first, for about two hours, and removed it from the pot after browning on all sides, so that I could caramelize the veggies, completely cooking off all their moisture. I used 40 cloves of peeled garlic, too! I cooked the bird for two hours, then, after removing it to a cutting board to rest, I added 1/2 cup of white wine to the jus and reduced it by half. I pressed the jus through a fine mesh strainer and defatted it.

      It was spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This was real good! I just purchased a Lodge Dutch Oven and this was a perfect meal to cook in it! The chicken came out moist and flavorful, just as others described. I followed the recipe as directed plus added some wine to the pot before putting it in the oven as others suggested. I also added some thyme to the dish broth before thickening it for gravy. (Thyme and wine are two of my favorite cooking ingredients!) I think next time I will forgo the extra lemon juice because my husband is not fond of lemons. The broth will stand nicely on its own though, so this will not be a problem! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This is my first roasted chicken, and it is a hit!!!
      My bird was only 3 1/4 lbs, so I roasted it for an hour. Fearing the meat not cooked, I then cranked the oven up to 450 for 15 minutes.
      Juicy, perfectly done, fall-off-the-bone chicken!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I like this recipe a lot , delicious, and I have with crusty artisan bread, steamed green beans, roasted potato/carrots. today I am doing the largest chicken to date at 6 lbs in my 7 qt. dutch oven cuisinart. you get a lot of wonderful pan juices with this recipe for juicy tasty chicken. sometimes I put the carrots and potatoes right in the pot and cook them, but not enough room today. a classic dish my friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Chicken in a Pot (America's Test Kitchen)

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1147.9
     
    Calories from Fat 759
    66%
    Total Fat 84.3 g
    129%
    Saturated Fat 23.6 g
    118%
    Cholesterol 372.8 mg
    124%
    Sodium 1224.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 88.0 g
    176%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites