Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Cabbage Soup from Door County, WI Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Cabbage Soup from Door County, WI

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2003

      This soup is really good. I used sausage flavored with basil and garlic and almost 2 pounds of cabbage. There was plenty of broth. I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      This was simply divine. Really reminded me of corned beef and cabbage, one of my favorites. I changed the recipe a bit, added ham instead of polish sausage. I also cut the first direction, sauteing the onion and carrot then stirring in some extra olive oil and the flour and cooking just a minute then slowly added the broth and simmered about 40 minutes, stirring. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      A wonderfully comforting meal that's perfect for chilly weather! I had some leftover cabbage after making Bierocks, and this recipe used the rest of it up nicely. I added in some garlic, increased the carrot, sub'd kielbasa for the polish sausage, and used a combination of butter/EVOO to saute' the veggies. We were pleasantly surprised at how rich and creamy it was! :) Next time, I might add in some celery and a bay leaf... maybe. It's definitely delicious as written. I'm looking forward to the cooler temps sticking around so we can have this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      Great tasting soup. Made a few substitutions: didn't have potato so used chopped turnip, didn't have polish sausage so used ham steak. Unfortunately I also use a purple cabbage. Don't use purple cabbage! The soup comes out with a very unappetizing gray color. Tastes great but only with your eyes closed! Will definitely make again with green cabbage!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      This was so wonderful! I didn't have any sausage so we had vegetarian soup and it was still fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Yum! I'm always looking for recipes that are healthy, economical, easy to make, and above all delicious. This soup wins on all points!
      Made it without the roux, and came out just great - will do it next time. Also, I used precooked packaged bacon instead of the polish sausage. Flavor was awesome. Would make this for guests:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This great soup has become a harvest time tradition in our house. We use 1 # turkey kielbasa instead of the 1/4 # polish sausage, wheat flour, and Imagine Organic Low Sodium Chicken Broth (lowest sodium of any broth I've ever run across). I just finished making a double batch of this today, and just for kicks, I put 2 cups of it into a separate pan after adding the roux and experimented with adding some fennel seed, which was very complimentary. Next time I'll try some caraway seed - bet that'll be terrific, too. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      We all l-o-o-ved this soup. It was easy to make, with readily available ingredients, is inexpensive, and makes a bunch! The flavor is way above what you might imagine from reading the recipe--very creamy, flavorful,and with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. It is definitely one that goes on our favorites list! Thanks, PanNan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      Very, very good. I made this exactly as directed and wouldn't change a thing next time. Thanks PanNan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Just made it yesterday. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      We really enjoyed this, and it was relatively easy to make. I made this exactly as posted, except I used kielbasa for the sausage. The roux gave this a rather creamy texture that was a nice change of pace from typical sausage and cabbage soups. This is quite hearty and really fills you up! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      The soup was wonderful! I served it with a loaf of homemade bread. Next time I will double the recipe and freeze some to keep on hand for a day when there is no time to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      My friend made this and I thought it was wonderful and deserving of five stars. But when I went to make it myself, I was surprised to see how much butter was in it, so I modified it to fit my tastes. The following changes were made:<br/><br/>Added two stalks diced celery with the carrots and onions.<br/>Sauteed carrots, onions, and celery in the pot with a few sprays of Pam and 1 Tbsp olive oil. <br/>Added extra potato.<br/>Used turkey Polish kielbasa in place of Polish sausage. Used 6-7 ounces.<br/>Created roux with just 1 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp flour. <br/>I cooked it a little longer because I like cabbage to be thoroughly cooked.<br/><br/>So I cut all that butter down to 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp butter and the results were really good and I felt better about eating it. Of course, nothing tastes as good as the full fat version, but this is the way I will continue to make it. Healthier, lower fat, and still tastes great. <br/>Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      This soup is wonderful! It's one of my favorite soups. It has a lot going for it. It's quick and easy to make; it's incredibly inexpensive; and reasonably healthy (I cut the butter amount to 4 Tablespoons total and it works well for me) - it comes out to 1 Tablespoon of butter per quart and 2 tablespoons of flour per quart. <br/><br/>I love making a double batch and sharing it with others. The best part is when I tell someone (who hasn't had this soup) that I'm going to give them some of my Fr. Cabbage Soup, what they HEAR is "cabbage soup". But when they taste it's homy goodness and the butteriness of the cabbage leaves as they melt in their mouths - comfort.<br/><br/>I made a couple of changes so this would be more of a chop and go kind of soup and I only used half of the butter. I melt all the butter at once and saut? the meat (I use ham) with the onions, and carrots while I cut up the potato and cabbage. I just add the vegetables as I cut them up. I add 6 cups of chicken broth and simmer for 20 min. and then I mix the flour with another 2 cups of broth to make a slurry and add that to the pot and cook for another 20 min. or so to cook out the flour taste and thicken the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      So delicious! Cabbage was on sale so I found this recipe, the end result is smooth and great tasting. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This is a fantastic recipe. I have made it twice. once with polish sausage and once with chorizo. The chorizo definitely gave it some zing! The original was more savory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      This soup is just absolutely delicious. I made as written but used chicken smoked sausage in place of the Polish sausage. I used plenty of white pepper. We're really looking forward to having this soup quite a few times this winter. Thanks so much PanNan for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This is a wonderful hearty soup that everyone will love. Just had it at the Summer Kitchen in door county and this recipe tastes just like it. Will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      A wonderful thick soup for a cold day. Ihad a whole head of cabbage to use and this recipe sounded perfect for it. The whole family enjoyed even my daughter who does not like cabbage. I did not change a thing and made as written. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      This is a wonderfull recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Cabbage Soup from Door County, WI

    Serving Size: 1 (3588 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 546.1
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    56%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 18.4 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 80.9 mg
    26%
    Sodium 2011.9 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites