84 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup is really good. I used sausage flavored with basil and garlic and almost 2 pounds of cabbage. There was plenty of broth. I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie January 13, 2003

This was simply divine. Really reminded me of corned beef and cabbage, one of my favorites. I changed the recipe a bit, added ham instead of polish sausage. I also cut the first direction, sauteing the onion and carrot then stirring in some extra olive oil and the flour and cooking just a minute then slowly added the broth and simmered about 40 minutes, stirring. Will definitely make again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen November 13, 2009

A wonderfully comforting meal that's perfect for chilly weather! I had some leftover cabbage after making Bierocks, and this recipe used the rest of it up nicely. I added in some garlic, increased the carrot, sub'd kielbasa for the polish sausage, and used a combination of butter/EVOO to saute' the veggies. We were pleasantly surprised at how rich and creamy it was! :) Next time, I might add in some celery and a bay leaf... maybe. It's definitely delicious as written. I'm looking forward to the cooler temps sticking around so we can have this again soon!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 September 13, 2010

My friend made this and I thought it was wonderful and deserving of five stars. But when I went to make it myself, I was surprised to see how much butter was in it, so I modified it to fit my tastes. The following changes were made:<br/><br/>Added two stalks diced celery with the carrots and onions.<br/>Sauteed carrots, onions, and celery in the pot with a few sprays of Pam and 1 Tbsp olive oil. <br/>Added extra potato.<br/>Used turkey Polish kielbasa in place of Polish sausage. Used 6-7 ounces.<br/>Created roux with just 1 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp flour. <br/>I cooked it a little longer because I like cabbage to be thoroughly cooked.<br/><br/>So I cut all that butter down to 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp butter and the results were really good and I felt better about eating it. Of course, nothing tastes as good as the full fat version, but this is the way I will continue to make it. Healthier, lower fat, and still tastes great. <br/>Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton March 08, 2014

This soup is wonderful! It's one of my favorite soups. It has a lot going for it. It's quick and easy to make; it's incredibly inexpensive; and reasonably healthy (I cut the butter amount to 4 Tablespoons total and it works well for me) - it comes out to 1 Tablespoon of butter per quart and 2 tablespoons of flour per quart. <br/><br/>I love making a double batch and sharing it with others. The best part is when I tell someone (who hasn't had this soup) that I'm going to give them some of my Fr. Cabbage Soup, what they HEAR is "cabbage soup". But when they taste it's homy goodness and the butteriness of the cabbage leaves as they melt in their mouths - comfort.<br/><br/>I made a couple of changes so this would be more of a chop and go kind of soup and I only used half of the butter. I melt all the butter at once and saut? the meat (I use ham) with the onions, and carrots while I cut up the potato and cabbage. I just add the vegetables as I cut them up. I add 6 cups of chicken broth and simmer for 20 min. and then I mix the flour with another 2 cups of broth to make a slurry and add that to the pot and cook for another 20 min. or so to cook out the flour taste and thicken the soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpixley March 06, 2014

Great tasting soup. Made a few substitutions: didn't have potato so used chopped turnip, didn't have polish sausage so used ham steak. Unfortunately I also use a purple cabbage. Don't use purple cabbage! The soup comes out with a very unappetizing gray color. Tastes great but only with your eyes closed! Will definitely make again with green cabbage!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wirkwoman1 September 22, 2013

This was so wonderful! I didn't have any sausage so we had vegetarian soup and it was still fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earlybird255 December 10, 2012

This is just delicious and fairly easy to put together. The flavors blended so well together. I did use Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage as that is what I had and it turned out great. I also baked my potatoes to almost done then sliced them and added to the soup with skins on. Thanks so much for sharing. I'll make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ February 26, 2012

Yum! I'm always looking for recipes that are healthy, economical, easy to make, and above all delicious. This soup wins on all points!
Made it without the roux, and came out just great - will do it next time. Also, I used precooked packaged bacon instead of the polish sausage. Flavor was awesome. Would make this for guests:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpants August 15, 2011

I love hearty soups when the weather starts getting nippy. This was wonderful! That said, I did make a few adjustments to suit our tastes and the size of my soup pot. I used a full link of kielbasa, homemade chicken stock, 1 1/2 c onion (next time i might use leeks), 2 c carrots and 2 turnips and a clove of garlic. I diced the sausage and baked it to render out most of the fat and to give a nice bit of caramelization. I also cut the roux to 3 T butter and 3T flour-- the consistency was perfect. Likewise, i skipped sauteing in butter to cut more fat. I added some caraway seed. Tastes almost like my fried cabbage. I was born and raised in Oshkosh and this was a taste of home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danska November 06, 2009
French Cabbage Soup from Door County, WI