100 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wish i could go for 5 stars but less than 24hrs these were going stale. They do taste wonderful and were a joy to bake. They seem to be freezing very well as i have made another batch which i froze once cool. If eaten as soon as defrosted and warmed a little, they are just as wonderful as when first cooked.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the veggie plot November 03, 2009

The title says it. I have made this bread 3 times. The first time I put a little Italian seasoning, and Parmesan on half of them. The smell throughout the house was awesome. And the taste, forget about it, delish. Next time I made it I added the seasoning to the dough, and on top, for garlic bread. The dough is so nice to work with. I will use this recipe forever. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knaylor76 July 20, 2010

These were great, and very easy too. I made mine a bit larger so I could use them for sandwiches - yielded 12 rolls instead of 16. They were still done in 20 minutes. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug April 18, 2010

They were so easy to make and so delicious and beautiful - high and rounded like bakery French rolls. I made 24 smaller rolls for a buffet supper and everyone loved them. Delicious hot, but equally good and substantial at room temperature for small party sandwich rolls. These freeze well as soon as they are cooled, and will keep for about 1 month in freezer. Next, I'm going to try freezing the rolls BEFORE baking; defrost, let rise, and then bake. Will update review after this trial.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl May 18, 2012

I made these right before serving they were very delicious! I also made a second batch and by the next day they were a bit heavy and starting to harden a bit. I also found them a bit bland but then again I use kosher salt at home and I hear that makes a difference. I would still make them again and serve right before they will be eaten.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salvichic July 25, 2012

These rolls were so good! I used my bread machine with this recipe, placed it on the dough setting, and the dough rose so much it pushed open the lid! That proved to be an impressive recipe already! My rolls browned nicely though it didn't seem quite as crusty as other French bread I've had, but regardless, these were delicious and tender inside. I didn't have bread flour and substituted with regular AP flour mixed with wheat gluten (1 TB gluten per cup of flour.) I made 16 oval shaped rolls and they also turned into amazing garlic bread after! I froze the majority of the batch and can't wait to have lots of fresh bread in the future. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu July 24, 2012

Super simple and easy recipe with great results! I rated this 5 stars because the results were very similar to the breads I've proofed and baked from frozen at work (I used to work in the bakery of a small grocery store). I used the recipe to make two loaf-pan breads and they smelled so good coming out of the oven that within 10 min. I had to slice off a chunk and taste it. Sooo good... crusty on the outside and chewy and moist on the inside. I think this makes for a great basic dough and I will probably try to use it as a pan-pizza crust next time I make home-made pizza.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rochonmethestel July 22, 2011

Great buns!! They turned out perfect. I only used all purpose flour but it didnt seem to matter. In a couple of them after I had let them rise, I put a little bit of butter and about a 1/3 of a clove of garlic, pinched it shut and then baked it and they were delicious!! Thanks again for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephiefae May 20, 2009

I don't know if I did something wrong or not but these weren't very good. They were fine hot out of the oven but once cooled were tough and chewy. DH took one bite and said "Ugh - leather." I much prefer Yogi's "Tasty Buns" recipe which are good hot or cold every time I make them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofallboys November 09, 2004

Fantastic!!! So easy!!!! Great taste!!! I will never buy store bought rolls again. Thank you for sharing. A side note - 1 1/2 cups water in microwave for one minute brings water to the right temp to activate the yeast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita January 28, 2015
French Bread Rolls to Die For