Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Bread Rolls to Die For

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2009

      I wish i could go for 5 stars but less than 24hrs these were going stale. They do taste wonderful and were a joy to bake. They seem to be freezing very well as i have made another batch which i froze once cool. If eaten as soon as defrosted and warmed a little, they are just as wonderful as when first cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      The title says it. I have made this bread 3 times. The first time I put a little Italian seasoning, and Parmesan on half of them. The smell throughout the house was awesome. And the taste, forget about it, delish. Next time I made it I added the seasoning to the dough, and on top, for garlic bread. The dough is so nice to work with. I will use this recipe forever. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      These were great, and very easy too. I made mine a bit larger so I could use them for sandwiches - yielded 12 rolls instead of 16. They were still done in 20 minutes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      These rolls were so good! I used my bread machine with this recipe, placed it on the dough setting, and the dough rose so much it pushed open the lid! That proved to be an impressive recipe already! My rolls browned nicely though it didn't seem quite as crusty as other French bread I've had, but regardless, these were delicious and tender inside. I didn't have bread flour and substituted with regular AP flour mixed with wheat gluten (1 TB gluten per cup of flour.) I made 16 oval shaped rolls and they also turned into amazing garlic bread after! I froze the majority of the batch and can't wait to have lots of fresh bread in the future. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      They were so easy to make and so delicious and beautiful - high and rounded like bakery French rolls. I made 24 smaller rolls for a buffet supper and everyone loved them. Delicious hot, but equally good and substantial at room temperature for small party sandwich rolls. These freeze well as soon as they are cooled, and will keep for about 1 month in freezer. Next, I'm going to try freezing the rolls BEFORE baking; defrost, let rise, and then bake. Will update review after this trial.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Super simple and easy recipe with great results! I rated this 5 stars because the results were very similar to the breads I've proofed and baked from frozen at work (I used to work in the bakery of a small grocery store). I used the recipe to make two loaf-pan breads and they smelled so good coming out of the oven that within 10 min. I had to slice off a chunk and taste it. Sooo good... crusty on the outside and chewy and moist on the inside. I think this makes for a great basic dough and I will probably try to use it as a pan-pizza crust next time I make home-made pizza.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      I loved working with this dough! After dividing the batch in half, I made rolls for dinner the first night and buns for French dip the next. I went ahead and shaped them into the buns on the first day and after the first rise, I covered and refrigerated. I set them out about an hour before I cooked them and they came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Very easy to make, even for someone who is a bread novice. Oh so tasty. On day 2, just heated up in microwave on middle setting for 1 minute to get the 'just baked' taste. Wonderful served with French black cherry jam and soft goats cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I made these right before serving they were very delicious! I also made a second batch and by the next day they were a bit heavy and starting to harden a bit. I also found them a bit bland but then again I use kosher salt at home and I hear that makes a difference. I would still make them again and serve right before they will be eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      I love these rolls thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Simple and easy to make. Delicious hot out the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      I made these for the first time on Thanksgiving '10 and since then (today is 27 Feb), I have made them probably 10 times. I use them for everything from dinner rolls to French dip sandwiches. Of course they are best right out of the oven with butter, but we all knew that, right? ;-)

      *Sorry! I just realized I never actually gave these a rating! 100 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Delicious Recipe! Easy Peasy~ Browned beautifully and was a great addition to the Mahogany stew I made!
      Recipe made 16 for me, baked in 16 minutes (my oven is running hot though)
      Thank you for a winning roll recipe Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      I have made these rolls several times and this recipe always produces wonderful results! I don't know what's better: The smell while they're baking or the taste when they're done. Crust is a bit hard right out of the oven but after they cool for a few minutes they soften up nicely. Thanks for my favorite go-to french bread recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

    • on June 28, 2010

    • on January 29, 2010

      Great recipe! I didn't even allow the dough to rise the entire time and the rolls were still to die for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      The title says it all -- these are fantastic! If I don't bake these at least once a week, my husband gets cranky :-).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I made these for our Thanksgiving dinner and they got great reviews from everyone. The best dinner rolls yet..Thank U for this great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Bread Rolls to Die For

    Serving Size: 1 (926 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.2
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    13%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 147.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes