Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Bread ("Rapid Rise") Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Bread ("Rapid Rise")

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2003

      Super easy to make! Turned out perfectly! After rolling it out, I sprinkled some fresh ground herbs on the bread before rolling it up jelly-roll style. Will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      This recipe couldn't be easier---I actually think I know what I'm doing when I make it---lol. I've had good and not-so-good results in my bread-baking efforts over the years, so this was such a nice surprise. The family loved it, and my DH was a little disappointed when he saw that I froze the second loaf. I told him I was saving it for next week. The only "effort" needed in this recipe is the 8-10 minutes of kneading. I could have used the dough hook on my mixer, but I figured I could use the exercise (lol), so I kneaded the dough by hand. This recipe is now my first choice for homemade bread. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      This recipe turned out wonderful!! The bread was perfect in every way. will def make this again and again! I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Considering the time it took to make the bread, it was pretty good. Not light and fluffy like I am used to but good nonetheless. I used the bread to make garlic bread and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      Made tonight and had two loaves of crunchy on the outside, perfect on the inside French bread. We ate one with dinner and froze the other. Skipped the egg white step because I was being lazy, and slashed my loaves before the last rise time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Delicious! It turned out beautifully golden brown and so chewy and moist on the inside. Will use this recipe regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Just made it today for the very first time. and it turns out perfect. Im gonna make this again..
      and i felt good that i didn't failed..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I made this bread a few months ago for garlic bread. It was really good, but my loaves spread quite a bit. So, instead of cutting each loaf in half, I just cut the bottoms off and went from there. But I am pretty new to bread making; so, it was definitely my fault. Thanks for the recipe! I will be keeping this one around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I'm just starting out baking bread and I haven't quite figured out how to make my bread stand up without a loaf pan....so I followed all the steps, but I just placed my bread in a loaf pan rather than a baking sheet to rise so that it would get nice and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      delicious! I didn't split it into two loaves, and I should have because my loaf was massive. A lot easier than running to the store too. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Yummy bread! My daughter was just diagnosed with a severe nut allergy, so I find myself an overnight baker. This bread was super easy for a beginner, and tastes delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Really great recipe, Thank you! I was in a hurry, so I picked this recipe before even reading the reviews. I halved it, and even though I just kindof slopped the ingredients in without being extremely careful with my measuring, this bread turned out wonderful! Chewy and moist. Even my boyfriend (who says he is not a big bread fan) loved it! I am on my way to buy more flour so I can make them for dinner again tonight! Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      very good. moist and chewy, everybody loves this bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

    • on October 24, 2009

      Turned out great!! I went with 4 1/2 cups flour to give a better crumb shortened the knead time to 2 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Excellent!!! This was a very easy bread to make. I let my Kitchen Aid Stand mixer do most of the kneading and followed the rest of the recipe directions exactly as written. I can't believe how light and fluffy the bread turned out. I especially like the contrast of the crispy crust. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This was our first time trying to make french bread. The recipe came together quickly and easily, and made two big loaves. Although it didn't taste specifically like french bread to us, but still a nice loaf of bread. We even made some home made butter to go with it. This recipe is best eaten the day it's baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat bread flour and 3 cups white - Since my vegan son was coming for dinner - I brushed cold water over the top instead of the egg white. It is great bread, quick and tasty. The water made a crunchy crust - next time I will try the egg white and see which I like the best. This was a real hit with everyone. Thanks Dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I used some wheat germ in place of 1/2 cup flour. Great bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Very easy and fast. Great crust and soft inside. I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Bread ("Rapid Rise")

    Serving Size: 1 (1249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1307.6
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    71%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2370.8 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 271.7 g
    90%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    44%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 40.2 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites