47 Reviews

The first time I made this to the letter. I couldn't belive I made something so good . Crusty crust dense and soft middle. In other words perfect. I added more boiling water half way through baking, because my cookie sheet was baked dry . The second time I made this with 1/4 c milk and 1/4 olive oil , instead of 1/2 cup of the hot water. As suggected by another zaar chef ,even yummyer if you can belive that. But again I had to add water half way through as the cookie sheet had baked dry . The third time I made a loaf and rolls , as I had double the baking to do, I put a 13 x 9 cake pan in the bottom of the oven and filled it with boiling water.The water lasted through the WHOLE bake time. 35 min for the loaf and 30 min. for the rolls. Thank you all for making me the french bread queen of Trego Street

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbiekitchenwench December 06, 2006

Plus a few more stars LOL I LOVE how quick this is to make. Perfect for that midafternoon panic of " OH NO I forgot to make bread " Wonderfully thick crispy crust and a center that is soft and airy. This IMO is one of the best French Breads I have made. Two days later it is still soft and crusty. I have had problems with some recipes going dry and crumbly after a day. But not this one. This recipe will be going in my bread rotation and in my Divine recipes of 2009 cookbook. I followed the recipe as stated with the exception of using an 8x8 pan for the water.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 October 19, 2009

This is a good bread. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because it's not really a French bread since it's not super crusty on the outside and full of air pockets on the inside. It wasn't what I expected. That aside, this is a good recipe for more of an Italian style bread, which I totally love also. I will be making this bread again. Thanks for posting it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee January 07, 2009

This is a terrible bread recipe. I followed the recipe to a T (I never review unless I do) and it came out tasting like uncooked flour. This recipe goes against the science of good bread making (low gluten flour, little kneading time, little rise time etc) and it shows. If you are starving and have nothing but these ingredients, by all means make it. If you are looking for a good home made bread recipe, look else where.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chanelle October 09, 2011

This was perfect and SO easy! I'll definitely make it again. I have made it using half bread flour and half regular white flour. As a note, the ingredients list should read "6 1/2" cups of flour rather than 4 1/2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun July 14, 2011

Fantastic, My go to recipe when I make french bread, great texture, amazing flavor and of course simple,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supermommy83 June 24, 2011

this was okay. It was a decent bread and had a nice flavor, but the crust and inners where nothing like real french bread. I will not make again, unless I want a softer ciabatta (sp) bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe.s.true July 25, 2007

It was very easy to make and mildly flavorful. It makes a really beautiful loaf. I was also skeptical about the cutting rise time, but it turned out to be a nice texture and did rise to a fully developed loaf size in the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ December 19, 2003

This is the easiest recipe for french bread I have ever seen. I made it exactly as written and it came out wonderful. Crunchy crust, soft center and it was denser than any store loaf I've ever had. My brother ate one and a half loaves of it at dinner, and he's picky. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, well worth 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow November 08, 2003

Okay, so I was skeptical at first with the kneeding and rising time cut in half, but it turned out wonderful. It was much lighter and the crust wasn't rock hard. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chooo August 02, 2003
French Bread