Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Baguette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Baguette

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2011

      I followed the ingredients portion of this recipe BUT the trick is, you have to bake at a much higher degree. I found that you must bake at 450'F, with a glass bowl of hot water at the bottom rack. Leave in for first the 15 minutes and then take out the water bowl and bake for the remainder time, which is 30 minutes total. When there is 1 minute left to the timer, take the loaf off the baking sheet and turn upside down directly on the rack for the remaining 1 minute. I had a nice dark crispy color to my baguette.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This was a wonderfully easy and tasty bread to make. I am NO baker and I did OK with it! ;) I made 3 smallish baguettes from this and served them with pasta that had a nice tomato shrimp sauce and the baguettes soaked up the sauce nicely! I will make these again for sure, but will make more because they went fast! Thanks so much Deantini! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Very easy to make & was served with a bowl of soup (at least the 1st one was)! I did make this into 2 baguettes & that was just fine! Just the recipe since I wanted something simple, tasty & satisfying! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I used about 2 cups flour and mine maybe are not so pretty like the others,but they were sure tasty. I made 3 little baguettes and 2 rolls out of it. I left mine for 25 minutes but didn't turn golden brown.Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This was a nice French Baguette that we enjoyed. I think if you are going to make 3 baguettes out of this recipes they should be termed mini-baguettes. I made one moderate sized loaf with a whole recipe. Flavor was very good. I didn't measure the flour but probably used 2 1/2 cups maybe 3. I was also concerned about no sugar, but it worked out okay without. Thanks for sharing. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      wow this was good very crisp crust which i like i too had to bake longer they were small bagettes but really good i noticed the stars didnt stick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      My baguettes didn't turn out to be a pretty shape, but the taste made up for it! This made a nicely textured bread. Will definitely be making this again! Made for ZWT 8, Bistro Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I like how easy this recipe was, but I'm going to try it a few more times to see if I can do better. The 'baguettes' were a little bit too dense for me, unlike a traditional French baguette. If anyone has ideas how to improve this, I'd appreciate it. I baked them on 375F for 15 minutes with a water bath, then 15 minutes without a water bath. I used all-purpose flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I won't rate this recipe, because I'm not sure it was my fault I didn't have good results. I was expecting a fairly good rise, since the recipe called for that much yeast, despite the fact I subbed in a cup of whole wheat flour to bump up the nutrition value. I got 3 small loves with good texture, just not a good rise. They did make nice egg salad sammies though. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I made 4 small baquettes. I did the first rise in the oven with the light on and the second rise just on the counter while the oven was preheating . My kitchen was cold so they did not rise as nicely as they should of .My fault LOL DUH. I forgot the water part. Very nice bread. Tender yet chewy like a baquette should be. Made for Everyday is a Holiday

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Yummo!!! I made this for my DD's 22 birthday dinner and it was gone!!! I made 1/2 of the recipe into one loaf and that worked out well for us, as it was served with salad, twice baked potatoes and steak!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Lovely baguette Deantini. I made this recipe into one large baguette. We enjoyed this quick and easy to make bread very much. The flavor is outstanding, the texture and crumb were wonderful. Thanks for posting this recipe ... that even a newbie bread maker like me can make and have great results with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This is very tasty bread! I am a new beginner to making bread and misread the recipe, read to quickly. :( After adding the salt I covered with a tea towel and let rise. It wasnt rising to well and I couldnt fiqure out what I did so read the recipe again and found my mistake. My DMIL helped me, she added more flour because I had a very sticky dough and kneaded. We didnt think we were going to get a good rise but put the dough in a loaf pan and let set. It did rise and baked into a very nice loaf of bread. Crispy crust, very tender center, and tasted great! Will double this recipe to make more bread, this is a small batch of dough. Thank you Deantini for sharing this recipe. Made and reviewed for the Went to the Market tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Really simple, bread at its most basic, just right for the table, and delicious. I made three baguettes out of this and sprinkled poppy seed on one, sesame seed on another. Made for Zaar World Tour 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This is a simple and easy recipe to make. Tasted GREAT! Used it for "Mozzarella and Roasted Red Pepper Toasts" #316267 by Slatts. Will be making again. Thank You. Made for ZWT 5, Sultans of Spice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Delish! I have to admit I was a little skeptical about not having any sugar in the recipe but made it exactly as written (making 3 baguettes) & we loved it. Our only complaint was that there wasn't enough. In the future I will just double the recipe for either 3 larger baguettes or for 6 of these dainty, jumbo breadstick sized ones. The dough was super easy to whip up using the stand mixer with the dough hook attachment. I didn't measure the flour, just added in a spoonful at a time until the dough held together without being sticky. I've been hanging onto this recipe since the very beginning of this round & kept not getting it made with the French main dishes. Tonight we enjoyed it with Pork Roast Guadeloupe (Caribbean) & no one cared that it was a mixed region night. :) This recipe has already been requested for soups & chowders. Thanks for sharing, Deantini! Made for ZWT5 - Ali Baba's Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      These were really good and easy to make. However, making three baguettes still left these a little thinner than I would prefer. I would try to reduce the number of baguettes to 2 next time I make this. Merci! Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: French/Creole Cajun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Baguette

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.0
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    49%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 234.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites