17 Reviews

I followed the ingredients portion of this recipe BUT the trick is, you have to bake at a much higher degree. I found that you must bake at 450'F, with a glass bowl of hot water at the bottom rack. Leave in for first the 15 minutes and then take out the water bowl and bake for the remainder time, which is 30 minutes total. When there is 1 minute left to the timer, take the loaf off the baking sheet and turn upside down directly on the rack for the remaining 1 minute. I had a nice dark crispy color to my baguette.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzanx June 19, 2011

This was a wonderfully easy and tasty bread to make. I am NO baker and I did OK with it! ;) I made 3 smallish baguettes from this and served them with pasta that had a nice tomato shrimp sauce and the baguettes soaked up the sauce nicely! I will make these again for sure, but will make more because they went fast! Thanks so much Deantini! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif January 02, 2011

Very easy to make & was served with a bowl of soup (at least the 1st one was)! I did make this into 2 baguettes & that was just fine! Just the recipe since I wanted something simple, tasty & satisfying! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 11, 2010

I used about 2 cups flour and mine maybe are not so pretty like the others,but they were sure tasty. I made 3 little baguettes and 2 rolls out of it. I left mine for 25 minutes but didn't turn golden brown.Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 06, 2010

This was a nice French Baguette that we enjoyed. I think if you are going to make 3 baguettes out of this recipes they should be termed mini-baguettes. I made one moderate sized loaf with a whole recipe. Flavor was very good. I didn't measure the flour but probably used 2 1/2 cups maybe 3. I was also concerned about no sugar, but it worked out okay without. Thanks for sharing. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 13, 2009

wow this was good very crisp crust which i like i too had to bake longer they were small bagettes but really good i noticed the stars didnt stick

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 06, 2012

My baguettes didn't turn out to be a pretty shape, but the taste made up for it! This made a nicely textured bread. Will definitely be making this again! Made for ZWT 8, Bistro Babes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess July 25, 2012

I like how easy this recipe was, but I'm going to try it a few more times to see if I can do better. The 'baguettes' were a little bit too dense for me, unlike a traditional French baguette. If anyone has ideas how to improve this, I'd appreciate it. I baked them on 375F for 15 minutes with a water bath, then 15 minutes without a water bath. I used all-purpose flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Russ in NJ December 27, 2011

I won't rate this recipe, because I'm not sure it was my fault I didn't have good results. I was expecting a fairly good rise, since the recipe called for that much yeast, despite the fact I subbed in a cup of whole wheat flour to bump up the nutrition value. I got 3 small loves with good texture, just not a good rise. They did make nice egg salad sammies though. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama January 10, 2010

I made 4 small baquettes. I did the first rise in the oven with the light on and the second rise just on the counter while the oven was preheating . My kitchen was cold so they did not rise as nicely as they should of .My fault LOL DUH. I forgot the water part. Very nice bread. Tender yet chewy like a baquette should be. Made for Everyday is a Holiday

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 October 29, 2009
French Baguette