10 Reviews

I regret not reading these reviews before I attempted the recipe on the Cooks Illustrated site. What a huge disappointment and waste of perfectly good apples. Oily, oily, oily. Shame on Cooks Illustrated.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tami K. January 11, 2014

First let me say that when I try a new recipe I follow it to the letter, otherwise if it doesn't turn out, one has no justification to complain. I did follow this recipe exactly, including using all the specified ingredients, including Crisco Oil, which cook's rated #1. My results were as the reviewer, patandjimg, has already stated, oily, flavorless cake?. This cake is so oily that I found it nauseating; admittedly I am over sensitive to oil and grease. Quite frankly, the flavor was bland and lacked any hearty apple flavor. As my wife stated, in the length of time it took you to do this cake you could have turned out one of your wonderful apple strudels. This recipe needs a lot of work, so much so I would just toss it out and start over from scratch. Shame on Cooks I expected a lot more from them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rwomackintx_7926784 October 15, 2013

Oily, flavorless cake, no discernible custard/cake layers. Only changes I made to the recipe were using Honeycrisp apples, since I have a treeful of them, and using brandy instead of whatever booze they called for.I can't imagine 1 T. of that would improve the flavor that dramatically. The Honeycrisps were fine. Followed the directions to the letter. First recipe I've ever used from Cooks Illustrated that was a flop.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patandjimg_12112378 October 07, 2013

This cake will please people who don't care for dessert. It's not very sweet or very flavorful but it is super moist. (too moist). The one thing I liked was the sweet crispy crust on top. My husband liked it as is but I note he isn't a dessert person and hates most sweets. I think if I made it again I'd make it with 1/2 the amount of fat and use a combination of oil and butter for a better flavor. My cake also leaked oil. I would also add maybe an almond taste to batter you pour on top with some sliced almonds for flavor. Maybe just a teaspoon more of flour to the extra cup of batter too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lnaalba_9269645 November 06, 2014

Before you do anything, watch a couple of videos or read about leak proofing a springform pan. Next, read these reviews, and consider making modifications. One I will certainly make in the future, is cutting back on the oil. This was very oily. I'm gonna give it another try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clevergirl7 November 10, 2015

Such a fun recipe to make! It looked so delicious on the cooking show that I couldn't wait to try it. My first attempt turned out very moist but disappointingly bland. I found that the recipe was greatly improved by substituting 1 cup vanilla pudding for the milk, and adding 1 Tbs cinnamon to the apples along with the brandy and lemon. The cinnamon also made the cake and custard layers more distinct. An orange glaze or vanilla sauce might be other easy ways to add a splash of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joonbug47 April 15, 2014

Quite delicious, great texture! Followed recipe exactly except mine was done few minutes early. Looked just like it did on TV. Making again for guests tomorrow might.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neensagers_6967608 December 06, 2013

Wonderful cake. I made this cake for the first time just as the recipe called for except I added white rum instead of the calvados. I did have to cook it a little longer (15 minutes) watching it carefully. It has more of a soft center consistency than a normal crumbly cake. The apples were not overcooked as in other apple cake recipes which made it more flavorful. Make sure you cool it before releasing the springform pan. I would make this cake again and again. We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia S. October 07, 2013

I have made this cake 3 times, it is delicious. It does take a long time to make and one has to follow the recipe very carefully. Letting it cool down, I found 3+ hours is needed. Also I lined the bottom and sides of the cake pan with parchment paper, made getting it out of the pan a breeze. Also used rum instead of calvados.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakehydro April 27, 2013

While the flavor is delicious, this is a very oily cake, and presenting it is a turn-off.
Oil actually oozes from the bottom of the cake onto the stand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyTheToe February 21, 2013
French Apple Cake(Cook's Illustrated)