Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Apple Cake(Cook's Illustrated) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Apple Cake(Cook's Illustrated)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2014

      I regret not reading these reviews before I attempted the recipe on the Cooks Illustrated site. What a huge disappointment and waste of perfectly good apples. Oily, oily, oily. Shame on Cooks Illustrated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      First let me say that when I try a new recipe I follow it to the letter, otherwise if it doesn't turn out, one has no justification to complain. I did follow this recipe exactly, including using all the specified ingredients, including Crisco Oil, which cook's rated #1. My results were as the reviewer, patandjimg, has already stated, oily, flavorless cake?. This cake is so oily that I found it nauseating; admittedly I am over sensitive to oil and grease. Quite frankly, the flavor was bland and lacked any hearty apple flavor. As my wife stated, in the length of time it took you to do this cake you could have turned out one of your wonderful apple strudels. This recipe needs a lot of work, so much so I would just toss it out and start over from scratch. Shame on Cooks I expected a lot more from them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Oily, flavorless cake, no discernible custard/cake layers. Only changes I made to the recipe were using Honeycrisp apples, since I have a treeful of them, and using brandy instead of whatever booze they called for.I can't imagine 1 T. of that would improve the flavor that dramatically. The Honeycrisps were fine. Followed the directions to the letter. First recipe I've ever used from Cooks Illustrated that was a flop.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2014

      This cake will please people who don't care for dessert. It's not very sweet or very flavorful but it is super moist. (too moist). The one thing I liked was the sweet crispy crust on top. My husband liked it as is but I note he isn't a dessert person and hates most sweets. I think if I made it again I'd make it with 1/2 the amount of fat and use a combination of oil and butter for a better flavor. My cake also leaked oil. I would also add maybe an almond taste to batter you pour on top with some sliced almonds for flavor. Maybe just a teaspoon more of flour to the extra cup of batter too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Such a fun recipe to make! It looked so delicious on the cooking show that I couldn't wait to try it. My first attempt turned out very moist but disappointingly bland. I found that the recipe was greatly improved by substituting 1 cup vanilla pudding for the milk, and adding 1 Tbs cinnamon to the apples along with the brandy and lemon. The cinnamon also made the cake and custard layers more distinct. An orange glaze or vanilla sauce might be other easy ways to add a splash of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Quite delicious, great texture! Followed recipe exactly except mine was done few minutes early. Looked just like it did on TV. Making again for guests tomorrow might.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Wonderful cake. I made this cake for the first time just as the recipe called for except I added white rum instead of the calvados. I did have to cook it a little longer (15 minutes) watching it carefully. It has more of a soft center consistency than a normal crumbly cake. The apples were not overcooked as in other apple cake recipes which made it more flavorful. Make sure you cool it before releasing the springform pan. I would make this cake again and again. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      I have made this cake 3 times, it is delicious. It does take a long time to make and one has to follow the recipe very carefully. Letting it cool down, I found 3+ hours is needed. Also I lined the bottom and sides of the cake pan with parchment paper, made getting it out of the pan a breeze. Also used rum instead of calvados.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      While the flavor is delicious, this is a very oily cake, and presenting it is a turn-off.
      Oil actually oozes from the bottom of the cake onto the stand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Apple Cake(Cook's Illustrated)

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.7
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    55%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 72.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 260.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 36.8 g
    147%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes