9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really good, sweet sour taste. But it definitely needs more sugar it was to sour. I added more sugar to it once I defrosted and tasted it. Other recipes are calling for 2 cups sugar to 1 cup vinegar and this is how I will make it from now on.
I couldn't believe how crispy and fresh it tasted and I had it in the freezer for 3 months.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 24, 2012

We enjoyed this tonight as part of a quick meal put together all with things from the freezer. (It meant I didn't have to order out after a long day!) This is very very sweet, and I'd cut down on the sugar a little bit next time. But it was good and convenient. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit July 02, 2008

Almost identical to a crowd-pleasing old recipe I have for railroad slaw. I never knew it could be frozen. I like that your recipe is half as sweet as the others posted here, and includes oil in the dressing. This one's going to be a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KunmingCook February 15, 2013

I made this one month ahead for a crowd I was having here for a party. It was absolutely delicious and it got rave reviews! I must say I was a little nervous throwing this in the freezer, I thought it would be wilty, but it turned out great. I highly recommend this one, especially if you want to have a great make ahead dish. Thanks for a well written and easy to follow recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 24, 2005

very good recipe it will be nice to have some of this packed away in the freezer just thaw out and you got an awesome salad thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmiene August 14, 2007

This is absolutely great. I can't wait till I bring it out of the freezer and wow everyone! I tasted it and it was alittle strong but im sure after alittle time it will season just perfectly. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv July 21, 2007

Loved it! I used half a cup of splenda instead of sugar, and a red pepper instead of green (as the one I had bought to prepare this was bad...). It was still delicious on the third day in the fridge, and 3 baggies are stashed in the freezer for later this month. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amalissya August 16, 2006

This is a delicious sweet and sour slaw! So good it didn't make it to the freezer :). I omitted the green pepper, because I just can't get peppers to shred well. Also boiled the sugar with the brine. I have a similar recipe, but I like yours too. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin December 10, 2005

I'm doing the low carb thing and by using splenda for the sugar I was able to enjoy this make ahead recipe! When I tasted it before freezing it had a very strong vinegar taste but it tasted fine when I served it. I have added this to my public OAMC-low carb collection cookbook, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * June 16, 2005
Freezer Coleslaw