13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tasted wonderful! I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 casserole size. I quadrupled the amount of blueberries, and I'm glad I did. To make spreading the cream cheese easier, I froze a brick of reduced-fat cream cheese and then "shaved" off pieces using a sharp knife. This allowed for it to crumble across the middle layer and was nicely distrubted. I did not make the sauce, and I don't think it was needed. I served this when I had company staying with us. All the children complained about having to eat this, so I guess it's not a child-friendly dish. However, all the adults loved it. This also reheats well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun October 24, 2010

We all enjoyed this on Christmas morning. Being able to prepare it in advance was a big plus. I did find that I needed to prepare a little more of the milk/egg mixture in order to moisten the bread sufficiently. And I felt that the blueberry sauce needed just a little something - perhaps a squeeze of lemon juice or some lemon rind. But all that said, this is a very good recipe that I would recommend.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii December 25, 2007

This was delicious and everyone really liked it. I had to make a few adjustments based on what I had on hand- I used regular wheat bread and 6 total eggs instead of the egg substitute. I also was out of maple syrup so I used honey and maple extract. I made ahead and froze. The day I served it, I made the fruit sauce but was out of blueberries, so I used frozen strawberries. Even the people who said they didn't want the fruit sauce ended up eating it and loving it. Thanks for a great make ahead meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 March 23, 2010

This was a fast and easy casserole. I am giving 5 stars even though I felt the amount of blueberries should be doubled or tripled for the amount of bread used...perhaps just my personal preference. I also subbed sour cream for the cream cheese, and this turned out excellent. Will be making again, but definitely with more berries....and perhaps will try with strawberries next time. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubbles M. March 12, 2009

Great but as other reviewers have stated you probably need more egg mixture depending on your bread. I used a thick french bread and had to add a bit more milk and some half and half. I only had 6 eggs on hand. Still it was quite tasty and I served it with regular syrup rather than making the berry syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy August 18, 2010

This was excellent! The kids loved it, and the whole pan was gone in no time. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2 T, K, K & G November 19, 2008

I didn't make the blueberry sauce, but it went very well with regular maple syrup. I will be making it again with the sauce this time :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean July 13, 2008

Very good for Christmas morning. I, also, had to add a little more egg/milk to adequately cover the bread I used. This was a big hit with the family and super easy to fix up the night before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SailingChef December 27, 2007

This was great. I had left over ricotta cheese. Added a couple spoons of sugar. And mixed it with the cream cheese. Everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjrobbins6966 November 06, 2007
Freezer Blueberry French Toast Casserole