Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Free Range Fruitcake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Free Range Fruitcake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2008

      Thanks, Blue Peacock, for a Great recipe! FYI: if anyone trying this recipe does not have whole Allspice berries (or a spice grinder), you can substitue 1/2 tsp. ground Allspice for the 6 Whole Allspice berries called for in the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I have been making this recipe for YEARS and I can't believe I haven't rated it yet!! THIS IS THE BEST fruitcake recipe you will get. Every year I have to make more than I did the previous year, it is that good!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Very good fruitcake....liked the inclusion of ginger...something different. It is rather $ to make however. I made 2 batches of this up after Halloween and have been basting with apricot brandy every week. Just had to have a taste before giving as Christmas gifts! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Best ever. Never liked fruitcake, but loved this one. Everyone at our Christmas party raved over it and consumed it all. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Seriously good!...Loved the inclusion of ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      I've made this fruitcake for three years running and it's just fabulous. I even doubled the recipe this year and it came out perfectly. The only thing I do differently is add nuts to only half of the cakes. This is not your grandmother's fruitcake...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      We've made this three times now, and it is well worth the effort. The only changes we make are: substitute dates for the currants, substitute 1/2 cup each orange juice and cranraspberry juice for the golden rum, and we do not spritz with brandy. The dried fruits are so much better than the candied type fruit used in many fruitcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

    • on March 10, 2007

      Delicous fruit cake; just enough tender batter to hold the fruit together. I made 30 of them for Christmas. 1 recipe gave me 2 cakes the size of 8" pans. I decorated the tops with lots of fruit and nuts; as you can see it presents beautifully. Highly recommend; worth the time and expense if you want a superior gift to give.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This fruitcake is delicious. It only gets better the longer it is stored. Was relatively expensive to make, but definitely worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      This recipe is really fabulous. I made this three weeks ago and tasted it tonight to make sure it was good. It is and then some! I made some changes based on what I had on hand. I got five loaves from this which took only about an hours and 10 minutes to bake. It's fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Free Range Fruitcake

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    28%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 67.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 532.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 44.5 g
    178%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sun-dried blueberries

    sun-dried cherries

    lemons, zest of

    oranges, zest of

    candied ginger

    cloves

    allspice berries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites