Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frankfurter Wurstchen Im Schlafrock (Hot and Crusty Frankfurter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frankfurter Wurstchen Im Schlafrock (Hot and Crusty Frankfurter

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2007

      You hit a home run with this recipe! I've been looking for recipes that would get my children interested in cooking. The familiar ingredients and the fun rolling of the bread got them all (ages 18/13/11) involved. They each chose their own condiments: two ketchup, one mustard, DH chose feuersenf that we bought in Germany, and I used mustard with Wallawalla onions. We used your instructions to mix up some curry ketchup for dipping. The franks and cheddarwurst that we used were fully cooked - uncooked brats would require much more time and would probably release a bit too much grease. We didn't need the toothpicks - ours stayed in place - and we used parchment paper for easy cleanup (I buy it in bulk at a restaurant supply). Everyone was happy, especially me - because they want to do this again and they tasted great! Thanks Amis!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      This is a great simple idea that could be exploited in many different ways. I didn't put anything in with the hotdogs, just rolled them up, but next time I'm going to play around a bit more. Could even be cut in pieces for appetizers. This is the kind of thing you never think of, but is so easy you can't believe you didn't think of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      My mom used to do something like this for quick dinners. It was something that she could have us kids make. I'm not going to use the recipe as is, but am going to use chopped sauerkraut instead of pickles. I have raw brats, that I'm going to simmer in beer first. Thanks for posting the recipe, and reminding me of a simple dinner idea. Sometimes, we forget ideas like this, and get wrapped up making complex and time consuming dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I made this with bratwurst and it took a bit longer, a good 15 minutes. It seemed like I could barely get the bread around it but once that was accomplished they did not need tooth picks. I haven't eaten bratwurst in many years and I remembered that I am not a fan of it. I probably wouldn't have finished it but the pickles made it pretty good. OTOH, my kid wanted everything pulled off and to eat the sausage plain. I probably won't make this again, but it was a nice little adventure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      Fancy hot dogs that were a total hit at dinner. Loved that homemade curry ketchup. It should be a great condiment for any number of things. Made our franks with whole wheat bread and butter spray. Nobody complained.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      These were great! I too did not have curry ketchup, so as another reviewer did, I just mixed some up. Delicious!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This was a nice quick snack, and convenient since i didn't have any hotdog buns but wanted a hotdog, so made this instead! I added pickles to half and cheese to the other, after reading mama's review. I liked them both! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      Great quick recipe! I added some ahredded cheese inside the bread- due to a mutiny in the kitchen - dh and dd ganged up on me and said- NO pickles- CHEESE PLEASE!! lol So what can I say? I was outnumbered! They were fantastic and so easy. I also used a honey wheat bread since we do not eat white bread and did not want to waste the rest. Thanks for a great recipe. Very easy to adjust to your own taste. I DO recommend using a good frakfurter or sausage and not just a plain old 'hotdog'. This was great! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      What I really liked was the ketchup/curry combination. I used curry powder mixed with Heinz, tasted, and kept adding more, and more... Now I'm not sure how other NYers eat their hot dogs (in my case, only vegetarian brands) but I used to consider it practically sacreligious to put ketchup on them, but with curry it worked well for me so maybe I should reconsider!? We used our favorite mustard brand (Kosciusko). BF did not want to try the curry ketchup, but he still enjoyed this too. I also cut back on the butter quite a bit. The only problem I had with this recipe was cooking time (took me 30 minutes) but that may have been because I used a frozen vegetarian hot dog brand (Worthington). Thanks Amis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      So easy and really good! I used sweet hot mustard and whole wheat bread instead of white bread. Really tasty and easy. I thought the butter would make it shiny, but it didn't. Still wonderful! Like MaireAlice, we will be making these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      These little gems are fantastic and very easy to put together! Made them for lunch today and we were both so impressed. I only made 4 and am now wishing I had made more. I used honeycup mustard as we didn't have any German Sweet mustard and I made my own curry ketchup following your suggestion, using Korma curry paste and normal ketchup. Yummmm!! I had plenty of Gerkins as I am a Gerkin nut. Thanks for an excellent recipe I KNOW I will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frankfurter Wurstchen Im Schlafrock (Hot and Crusty Frankfurter

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.9
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    67%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 40.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 975.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites