Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Franco American Apple Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Franco American Apple Slaw

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2011

      This is one of the most delicious coleslaw recipes I've ever tried. The recipe was cut in half
      and I added 1 cup of shredded cabbage and two varieties of apples: Granny Smith and Pink Lady. The optional celery seed was used and I wouldn't omit it. Good quality maple syrup is very important. Reviewed for Veg Tag/November.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Sweet, nice and crunchy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This is going in permanent rotation - what a wonderful salad. The red onion mixed with the apple and carrots gives a beautiful snap to the taste - and the dressing is light and flavorful! thanks for a winner!!! Made for PAC Spring 2009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      The subtle flavour of sweet/sour dressing combination was a lovely fresh addition to the Labour Day barbeque. I made sufficient to keep body and soul together during the day on Sunday; noshed on it all day and liked it so much, repeated the recipe to share with my friends on Labour Day... Of course for the barbeque group, I doubled the recipe to have enough of a good thing for all to enjoy. Can I give it 10 stars,(five stars twice) because I made your recipe twice? Well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      This has such a lovely flavor and using a mandoline made quick work of the first cut towards the julienne strips. I loved the crispness of the salad and thought there was enough to lightly coat the ingredients. I did use the optional celery seeds. Thank you for wonderful salad option during RSC #10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      This is a very refreshing crispy salad. I loved the dressing, although there was a litte too much of it for my liking, but since it was pretty runny there was just a lot left in the bowl. It definietly worked exceptionally well with the salad ingredients. Good luck in RSC #10!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Although I had trouble making the apples into julienne sticks, I did enjoy the recipe as a whole. Even though celery seeds were optional i left them out and really liked the recipe as a whole. Since I did not try this a second time I am unsure of whether the celery seeds would make a difference or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      We loved this salad! The flavors were great, the texture was great. The balance of apples to carrots to dressing was a little off; I only used 3 apples & made a bit extra dressing. Delicious! Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Reviewed for RSC #10. If this were served as a side salad in a restaurant we would not have been able to guess the "mystery ingredient" -- maple flavoured syrup -- and we'd have been mightily impressed by it! A great salad, cool and refreshing: I'll make this again. I did not have sesame seeds, and used a sprinkle of fennel seeds on top, which didn't seem to do any harm. I have an idea that grapes would also fit well into this combo. The 5th star is not there for, maybe, very subjective reasons. The salad would have been easier to eat if the apple and carrot had been cut into small cubes or smaller pieces (although the julienne strips looked very attractive). Also, I made the dressing first, then started on the julienne strips. As the pile of salad grew, I glanced at the dressing and realised that if I used all 4 apples there would not be enough dressing. So I used only 2 apples, and the dressing only just coated the ingredients (as it should). Maybe my carrots were too large? Keep this salad in mind when you next grill meats outside: it will be perfect! Delicious, dear cook! Thanks, and good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Franco American Apple Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.7
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    26%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 12.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 108.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 27.5 g
    110%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites