52 Reviews

Really great dish! I used a la creuset pot instead of a crock pot and it worked great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acdmix January 12, 2011

I made tried this after making French Tart's Moroccan chicken which was also excellent. These ingredients work great together. the flavor was delicious. The only complaint I have are the cooking instructions. The recipe says to cook in a crock pot on high for 6-10 hours. I do not have a crock pot so I have no idea what temperature is high. I cooked this in an oven at 275 and it was done in 2 hours. I cooked it at 400 for an additional 30 minutes to kill any bacteria. My carrots were soggy. Next time I will not boil them first.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko July 09, 2010

This was so delicious! My husband is Moroccan and loved it! I made some Moroccan bread (Authentic Moroccan Bread )to go with it and it was phenominal. I agree the aroma from the crockpot was making us hungry near the end! We couldn't wait to dig in! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I also used a chuck roast and came out very soft. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
italiansoxgirl25 July 30, 2008

Very good - the sweetness is controlled, which is a problem with some tagine recipes. I didn't have prunes/date, but raisins make a good substitute. I didn't use a crock pot, but doubled the beef broth & cooked on the stove for around 1 1/2 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
profken June 27, 2011

Truly delicious. I was short on time, had to get out the door, so I literally threw everything in, including frozen chicken stock , and hoped for the best. I was great. THanks for sharing this, French Tart.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mksmith January 23, 2010

What an awesome tagine/stew. Wonderful spicy sweet flavors, incredible aromas! Made it as written, except I was in a hurry so instead of par-boiling carrots and charring onions, I just dumped everything in the crock and went on my way. Returned to a fabulous dinner! Thank you, French Tart, for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B December 04, 2009

Wax away! This was beautiful for my tongue. The dates and honey have such a nice smooth sweetness that is not at all overpowering. The meat was melting in our mouths tender. I was rushed so I mostly took GIAD's advise and just threw everything in the pot without browning except the onions, which I did lightly char. I used a chuck roast trimmed & cubed for the beef, the spices listed individually (not the ras el hanout), and a 14oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. Morocco is definitely a place I want to visit after making this dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chandra M April 07, 2008

Another five star review here! I served this at a large dinner party, and this got rave reviews from all my guests, who ranged from 19-year old boys (no adventurous appetites there) to a professional chef. I did 6 hours on low in the crockpot. I strongly recommend using the full spice mixture which several other commenters here have already linked to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cronopio August 11, 2014

Amazing aromas and flavors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 20, 2014

This was just spectacular!!!! I made it on the stove top and it took about 3 1/2 hours to get very tender. I used a chuck roast for the meat. The complex flavors of the sauce is unbelievable!!! Make sure you serve it with something to sop up the gravy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 October 28, 2012
Fragrant Moroccan Beef, Date, Honey and Prune Tagine - Crock Pot