Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fragrant Moroccan Beef, Date, Honey and Prune Tagine - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fragrant Moroccan Beef, Date, Honey and Prune Tagine - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2008

      This was so delicious! My husband is Moroccan and loved it! I made some Moroccan bread (Authentic Moroccan Bread )to go with it and it was phenominal. I agree the aroma from the crockpot was making us hungry near the end! We couldn't wait to dig in! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I also used a chuck roast and came out very soft. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Very good - the sweetness is controlled, which is a problem with some tagine recipes. I didn't have prunes/date, but raisins make a good substitute. I didn't use a crock pot, but doubled the beef broth & cooked on the stove for around 1 1/2 hours.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Really great dish! I used a la creuset pot instead of a crock pot and it worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I made tried this after making French Tart's Moroccan chicken which was also excellent. These ingredients work great together. the flavor was delicious. The only complaint I have are the cooking instructions. The recipe says to cook in a crock pot on high for 6-10 hours. I do not have a crock pot so I have no idea what temperature is high. I cooked this in an oven at 275 and it was done in 2 hours. I cooked it at 400 for an additional 30 minutes to kill any bacteria. My carrots were soggy. Next time I will not boil them first.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Truly delicious. I was short on time, had to get out the door, so I literally threw everything in, including frozen chicken stock , and hoped for the best. I was great. THanks for sharing this, French Tart.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      What an awesome tagine/stew. Wonderful spicy sweet flavors, incredible aromas! Made it as written, except I was in a hurry so instead of par-boiling carrots and charring onions, I just dumped everything in the crock and went on my way. Returned to a fabulous dinner! Thank you, French Tart, for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Wax away! This was beautiful for my tongue. The dates and honey have such a nice smooth sweetness that is not at all overpowering. The meat was melting in our mouths tender. I was rushed so I mostly took GIAD's advise and just threw everything in the pot without browning except the onions, which I did lightly char. I used a chuck roast trimmed & cubed for the beef, the spices listed individually (not the ras el hanout), and a 14oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. Morocco is definitely a place I want to visit after making this dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      Another five star review here! I served this at a large dinner party, and this got rave reviews from all my guests, who ranged from 19-year old boys (no adventurous appetites there) to a professional chef. I did 6 hours on low in the crockpot. I strongly recommend using the full spice mixture which several other commenters here have already linked to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Amazing aromas and flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This was just spectacular!!!! I made it on the stove top and it took about 3 1/2 hours to get very tender. I used a chuck roast for the meat. The complex flavors of the sauce is unbelievable!!! Make sure you serve it with something to sop up the gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      This dish is sooo good.So easy to make in the crock pot.I started the meat last night in the crock pot..Love the smell of all the seasoning in my kitchen.I will serve this with Couscous and Moroccon cucumber salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Spectacular dish! I made this in a Dutch Oven and it turned out great. The prunes and dates were really good here.They melt down into a luxurious sauce with the other spices to coat the beef. Served with a plain version of Curried Couscous. Thanks, French Tart. [Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Tasty tasty very very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Yummy really liked this dish.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Wonderful tagine! I cooked it on low for 5 hours because my crockpot runs really hot. Used Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix for the ras el hanout and threw in a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This was fantastic. I served it with couscous and cumin flatbread Cumin Flatbread. I used medjool dates and they grew huge and tasted amazing mashed up and eaten with a fork-full of beef. A zinfandel wine was the perfect accompaniment. I also used 6 tsp of the Ras El Hanout - MoroccanSpice Mix Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix in place of the spices here. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Everything about this tagine is wonderful. It smells heavenly and tastes divine, and it is authentic. I followed the ingredients exactly, using Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix (which has about 12 spices). My only change, simply because I don't own a slow cooker or a tagine, was to cook in a slow oven (100-degrees C) for just over six hours. Served with Couscous With Dried Apricots, Currants, and Pistachios. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Wow! What a wonderful dish! I had to prepare a bit of it the night before, but it was worth it! We cook a bit with the crock pot in the sunmmer since we don't have ac. I used the entire can of tomatoes and just dumped all of the liquid in with it. I also used london broil only becuase it was on sale. I cooked it on low since I usually set it and go to work, so it cooked for about 10 hours on low. The meat was just a little dry but it was very tender. I may decide not to cut it into cubes next time just because it was cooking for so long. Hubby requested that I make this again, so it's on the rotation. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT6, Redhot Renegades.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This morning, when I set out to make this recipe, I had second thoughts as it was such a scorcher of a day, but then I thought that it's probably hotter in Morocco - and people there eat tajines all the time...so I set to. Got all the browning out of the way, (vital for good crockpot cookery, imo) and set the crockpot to work outside. Many hours later (nearly 7 to be precise) I opened the lid to discover the most amazing fragrance. Lovely! I added a few dried apricots simply because I had them. Complex sauce, assertively spiced, meltingly-tender beef, generally speaking, a winner of a recipe. Served over Couscous With Dried Apricots, Currants, and Pistachios for a real Moroccan feast. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      FANTASTIC as can be! This REALLY is a TERRIFIC recipe! Couldn't help myself, by putting in a couple of dried apricots, TRUE! And a sprinkle of sultanas as I said to myself, "This will do!" Served it with saffron rice! This is amazingly VERY nice! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fragrant Moroccan Beef, Date, Honey and Prune Tagine - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1823.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1518
    83%
    Total Fat 168.6 g
    259%
    Saturated Fat 67.6 g
    338%
    Cholesterol 224.7 mg
    74%
    Sodium 325.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 36.8 g
    147%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ras el hanout spice mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites