Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fragrant Linen Water Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fragrant Linen Water

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2003

      I love the fragrance of this once its ready and the fragrance of this on the clothes that are ironed. It smells so fresh and lovely! After making this, I kept it uncovered in my room(forgot to cover the bottle) and the fragrance just filled my room and it was sooooo good that I just wanted to sink into it! I used surgical spirit(having Ethanol content 70%) as a substitute for the vodka and it worked well. I made this using grapefruit oil as the essential oil. I just gifted one bottle of this to a friend this afternoon and I can't wait to hear from her! She has to do alot of ironing for her family as well as another family she is staying with, so I think she'll be really glad to have this! Thank you so much for sharing such a good recipe. I'm going to share it with as many people as I can :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      Thank You... For making ironing a little more pleasant!!! This also made the whole room smell nice as I worked. I used peppermint oil on hubby's work shirts. Can't wait to try other scents!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      This does make you feel like a Goddess! A DOMESTIC GODDESS! I do hate ironing. But this makes it a little better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This is so wonderful! I used vodka and distilled water and a mix of citrus oils, and it makes the laundry a fragrant dream. So glad I tried this, I'll make it again and again and try different oils.
      Made for Cook-A-Thon in Memory of Pets'R'us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Who would have thought. vodka! It about killed me to use vodka for ironing clothes instead of in a toddy, but what the hey? I will certainly use this especially when I'm quilting, there is so much ironing to do when you piece. Carol in Canada had s good idea too, great christmas gift. Made for holiday tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      Wonderful recipe and very inexpensive compared to those bottles of linen water at the kitchen/bath boutiques. I made my recipe with lavender essential oil and the vodka. I worried a bit that the vodka would leave a "boozy" odour but I cannot detect any alcohol odour. Ironing is not my favourite household task but this gives a touch of luxury to a very mundane chore. The smell lingered long after the iron was put away. This is a great gift idea as well....Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      I love this! I made mine using 24 oz of distilled water, 2 oz of vodka and approximately 40 drops lavendar, 30 drops bergamot, and 30 drops sweet orange...I was an ironing fool and enjoying it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      I just heard on a gardening show this very moment about lavender linen water being a natural mosquito repellent. They advised to add to your laundry wash so then your gardening clothes would be a natural aid to help keep mosquitoes at bay. THEY will be here too soon and in massive numbers as always. Will give this a try! If it works it will deserve more than 5 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fragrant Linen Water

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    essential oils

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites