Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fragrant Lamb Stew with Dried Fruits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fragrant Lamb Stew with Dried Fruits

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2001

      This recipe is heavenly! We all enjoyed it and my guests would not leave if I didn't share the recipe with them. Thankyou for a recipe I will.enjoy many times over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2002

      Bergy originally suggested this recipe as one we would like. Thanks Bergy! I'm normally put off by so many ingredients, but it was really easy to assemble (and that didn't take nearly as long as bijoudog suggested). Our cilantro was a bit sad, so I used a combo of mint and parsley instead, and didn't put the carrots in it. I made this with prunes, apricots, and a few pieces of crystalised ginger for the fruit. We had this over couscous with currants onions, and preserved lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      I scaled this for 4 servings. This is absolutely delicious! Every bite was like a different blend of flavours. Loved the addition of the nuts and fruits. (I used apricots, raisins and prunes)This will be a favourite. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      This really is superb. It is one of my go-to party dishes. And yes, by the second forkful, people start asking for the recipe. I have made it many times, It works perfectly as a braise in the oven, or in a slow cooker as well a stove top stew. No lamb? No problem. It is delicious with beef, chicken or venison. I replace the lemon zest with a quarter of a preserved lemon (Moroccan Spiced Preserved Lemons) minced as fine as possible. If you do, remember to adjust the salt. Also, I double the dried fruit, and use as many kinds as I have: apricots, cherries, raisins, prunes, cranberries - you name it. You'll want plenty of couscous, rice or noodles alongside to soak up the wonderful juices. Add a green salad, and dinner is ready.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      I scaled this down for 2 people and I will be making adjustments for the heat. I used white pepper instead of black pepper and that may have led to the heat. Cutting a tad on the ginger, curry and cayenne will improve for my household's taste, we are more accustomed to more subtle dishes with a med twist. <br/><br/>Fruits were raisins, apricots (which I normally cannot take) and prunes. They added a lovely sweetness that lingered over the heat that is on the backside of the bite. I avoided the nuts entirely but will possibly pine nuts in the future since almonds are a hazard. <br/><br/>For a first time Moroccan dish..fantabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      This is fabulous! It is going to be our new Easter tradition. I was anxious about all the flavors, from sweet to spicy, very unusual mix, but it is absolutely outstanding. I made a few changes. I marinated the meat for about 30 minutes in the vinegar, lemon juice, olive oil and spices. That way, all the flavor blended in with the meat when I browned it. And I did not include the cilantro as my family finds that to be an unpleasant herb. Try it, be adventurous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Everything you read about this recipe is true. i made it last night adding an extra lb of lamb it was marvelous! We paired it with couscous and butternut squash. Better than any restaurant. oh, and the aroma!!! YUMMM-O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      5 stars This was a hit with all the people I asked to be guinea pigs. The recipe is fabulous. . . preparation take almost as much time as cooking. . .especially if you spend lots of time trimming the leg of lamb. . .but it was worthwhile and definitely a keeper. I used only craisons and apricots, and everything fresh. . .ginger, etc. The stew was, truly a fragrant combination of all great things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      please please make this. i was scared about halfway through but once the dried fruit caught up with the rest of the flavors it was AWSOME.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      This is definitely not a recipe suitable for the addition of coconut milk. Cook is as is and enjoy it. I did and my guests enjoyed it immensely

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      bijoudog, I prepared your lamb stew last night, using coconut milk instead of water, and set it up to cook slowly all day today. While the meat was tender, I'm sorry to say I didn't enjoy the flavor of the sauce as much as I'd anticipated. I usually enjoy savory dishes that call for fruits, and I especially love curries, but I guess it wasn't meant to be for me and this dish. Thanks for posting nevertheless! (I'm not rating this dish because my adaptations might be what made a less tasty result for us.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      I made this dish for friends. It was delicious. Every body wanted the recipe. A real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2004

      I sell lots of dried fruits. Finally a recipe I can use them in. I added coconut milk to this recipe to make a good thing even better. http://www.intlfoodsource.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fragrant Lamb Stew with Dried Fruits

    Serving Size: 1 (526 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 690.7
     
    Calories from Fat 251
    36%
    Total Fat 27.9 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 120.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 352.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.3 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 38.0 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites