Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fragrant Apricot Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fragrant Apricot Rice

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2012

      This was perfect with simple roasted chicken. We couldn't decide if the dish were more
      East Indian, Thai-influenced, Middle Eastern. They we finally settled on a happy combination of all three. First I rinsed the rice under cold water in a sieve for 1 minute (plain white long grain rice but I think you could very easily sub jasmine or basmati depending on your menu). Finely minced the onion and garlic in a food processor and lightly sauteed with the rice. Added the wine (locally vintered) for another minute until absorbed and added only half of the zest, lightly crushed coriander seeds, unsulphured Turkish apricots. Used vegetable broth and garnished with the zest, fresh basil and roasted cashews. Loved it! We especially liked the ginger because it didn't overpower the other flavors as it can if overused. Prepared for Veg Tag/May and definitely going into my Best of 2012 cookbook! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      I was searching for a side dish to have with lamb chops and as I like something fruity with lamb I decided upon this rice dish. Easy to prepare and the apricots give it a lovely flavour..the added cashews are a bonus!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      This rice dish was very nice with the lovely hint of ginger coriander and basil. The apricot and cashews added for lovely texture. I dont think I would use as much white wine next time, and maybe a bit less of the zest as I found it to be just a tad bit overpowering. Thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      I liked the browning method used in this recipe for the rice and spices. They smelled so good cooking! The resulting rice has a nice, mellow flavor….no one flavor standing out, but a very good side dish to serve with spicier fare. I did add some frozen peas for color. My only suggestion would be to add the salt earlier in the cooking process.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      Really good but I don't think it really stands alone as a meal. I didn't use wine for religious reasons but I added 1 tbs organic apple cider vinegar to 1/3 cup water in its place (not sure if that is a close substitute). I also used less lemon zest (another reviewer said their was too much, I simply didn't have enough organic lemons). I used sweet (unsalted) butter, pressed fresh ginger through my garlic press, loved the whole coriander seeds in this, and in rice in general. I used white basmati rice, water, sea salt, to taste before cooking, which I recommend like another reviewer, freshly ground black pepper, no garnishment of cashews or fresh basil as I served Beef Stew in Berbere Sauce and Sautéed Carrots With Toasted Almonds on top. I may make this again a similar way. Definitely without the wine. Made for Veggie Swap #46 ~ May 2012 ~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Very good....I skipped the cashews, but otherwise did everything per recipe. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I think this was great, my husband was a little less enthusastic thus we split the difference and gave it a four. I used fresh basil and used all chicken stock (in place of both of wine and water) but otherwise made as written. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Man my whole house smells so wonderful. I made half of this recipe today for lunch and it was amazing! Left out the nuts though - cuz nuts don't eat nuts! thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      A good array of flavours happening here, so easy to make too. The lemon uplifts, & I found I could do without the cashews. Served as a side to chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      When I saw this recipe, I knew it was a winner in our house. DH loves rice. This is a fragrant rice and easy recipe to put together. It is good either with or without the cashews as the first go I forgot to garnish with the cashews and basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fragrant Apricot Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    22%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 341.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites