13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe!! I used fresh green beans instead of a can and it tasted wonderfully! I will be using this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Efz001 in the Midwest US June 24, 2010

wow! This was really, really, really overwhelmingly sweet. And fairly bland. After letting it sit for a few hours I dumped out the extra liquid in the bowl and added in about 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and then added some seasoning salt and fresh parsley. That helped immensely...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker June 17, 2010

I was a bit skeptical of this recipe, but it was actually really, really good. It tastes better on the second day so I highly recommend making it in advance. I couldn't find wax beans, omitted the green pepper and the scallions. I added some finely chopped red onion and let it marinate overnight. After marinating for a full day, I put over some argula and it acted as a dressing and I served it as an argula salad with beans. Delicious. My guests LOVED it. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NJamateurcook June 14, 2009

I LOVED this recipe. It was super easy to make and everyone loved it. I used white onion (because that's all I had) and it worked fine. Very much like the salad that is sold at Costco! A new favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nrlangford June 12, 2009

I used Splenda instead of sugar and it turns out okay. (It will froth a little bit when you're mixing the dressing, but it doesn't affect the salad.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustPeachy in Edmonton, AB April 14, 2009

A very nice bean salad. The dressing was a little on the sweet side so I might reduce the sugar next time or add a little lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's May 15, 2008

yummy, we loved it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc July 24, 2007

Just wanted to add my review to a great recipe. Just like other reviewers, used Splenda instead of sugar and reduced to about 1/2 cup. Also added chopped onion. Thanks, Chris, for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 24, 2007

This is wonderful! I love the garbanzo beans as you don't usually see that in some of the other bean salads. I used 1/2 cup splenda in place of the sugar and 1/2 cup red wine vinegar rather than cider b/c that was all I had on hand. Great salad Chris!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis May 16, 2007

Outstanding year-round salad! In winter, you get a real perky kick of sunshiny flavor from the zippy tang! Complimentary colors for spring and fall, too. I've been using this recipe for years, taking to potlucks and picnics. The ONLY change I'd make is to add a bit MORE vinegar (my recipe calls for 1/2 cup). ALSO...I've used both white and brown sugar, and we like it better with BROWN. More depth to the flavor. Be sure to sliver the green (or red & yellow) peppers and onions into very small pieces to distribute the flavors throughout. Definitely a KEEPER!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber May 15, 2007
Four-Bean Salad