8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We had a lovely salad in Sienna with the same combination. Their presentation was SO memorable, that we have served it many times. The pears and cheese were sliced in thin strips and placed alternately on the plate, in sunburst design. To finish, there was just a drizzle of honey over the entire serving. Looks VERY dramatic ! Thanks for the memory, Lauralie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney June 21, 2007

Great combo! I went ahead and peeled the pears, since the recipe instructs doing so and I was planning to grab a quick photo. Next time I would probably just leave the peels on, though, to add a little contrast (the pears and cheese looked about alike :) ). Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ June 20, 2007

Simple, but soooo good! The pepper is outstanding and adds a nice flavor to it all. I used red pears. I will definitely do this again. Thanks Lori!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D September 12, 2006

A great appetizer. I cut the pears in thin slices and lay next to them, the perorino also in slices. We enjoyed so much with a cold glass of white whine. That deserves more than 5 stars Lori!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia July 02, 2006

Fantastic combination--the pepper is crucial. Served some of it with thin slices of cucumber for scooping it up like a dip or salsa. Served the rest with some watercress and endive--beautiful pale to dark green colors with the black flecks of pepper--and so tasty and palate cleansing. Thanks, Lori!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate September 06, 2005

Fantastic dish Lauralie, loved it, quick, simple, few ingredients....and very very memorable. So tasty, light, refreshing and different from anything I've tried here yet. Made exactly as written, using Anjou pears and a mixture of ground and diced pecorino, topped with fresh ground black pepper. The pears were light and refreshing while the cheese turned creamy and perfect, with just a touch of saltiness. Love pecorino and love this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. I can't wait to make this for my brother, he is going to love it. Made for Feareless Red Dragons - ZWT-8 - France.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 23, 2012

I was just thinking about this recipe yesterday and then saw this today on the reviews link! I always remember my mother making this for us kids as a side dish to a lighter meal, except she made it budget style...she used canned pears in light syrup (drained) and used shredded cheddar cheese over the top of each pear half, all served on a lettuce leaf. There you go-Formaggia con le pere for all budgets and all ages!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend June 21, 2007

6 stars.. more if I could. This is fabulous. I was a bit skeptical at first about pepper and pears, but this is a fabulous salad of sorts. Its simply delicious... the cheese and pears go very well together, and the pepper really does add that perfect touch. I served this with my lunch today! Thanks...Will make this again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary September 05, 2005
Formaggio Con Le Pere (Pears and Cheese)