Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Forgotten Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Forgotten Cookies

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2002

      made these for Christmas and they turned out great. everyone asked where the name came from . will do again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Christmas Smichmas these will be done in this household at any time. So simple and so good. Will keep some in the freezer for unexpected company!! Thanks again Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      Yummy! So nice, they are rich, your lovely nature is the essence of this cookie. We all enjoyed it and I forgot for once that I'm trying to slim down:) These cookies have been nicknamed "Magical Cookies" by me, because of the way they bake in a switched-off oven, loved the concept. Oh I must mention that 8 hrs. after these were put in the oven and were done, they were quite soft, so in order to make them a little harder, I placed them in the freezer and they were a delicacy this evening. Thank You so much, love u!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      These cookies are great. I had no idea what to expect but they are simple to make and really really good. We went to a party last night and I took them along. They were gone in no time. My grandchildred especially liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2001

      These are excellent and sooo easy to make. Thanks for posting this one. It will be made again and I doubt that we wait for Christmas next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      I have been all over the internet and in cookbooks every where looking for this exact recipe.My grand mother used to make these every christmas and she passed away, in 2001 at the age of 97, before I had a chance to get the recipe from her.So thank you thank you thank you.You don't know how much this means to me to be able to make these again.She made chocolate ones too now I'm not sure of the measurements for the coco powder though the rest of the recipe stays the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Several things make these cookies a 5-star recipe! And not because they are 'gourmet', either! First are the memories of my grandmother (who didn't really cook) making these at Christmas. However, not only are the memories sweet, but I hate throwing away egg whites when I've made a recipe that only uses the yolks, so these cookies come to the rescue. I had never added nuts until this year, and they were a good addition, but I think I like them best with just chocolate chips (mini-chips being the favorite). They are also so very easy - just don't preheat your oven the next morning and forget they are in there!! (Been there, done that!) Now I put a little post-it note over the 'on' button for my oven as a reminder. Thanks for a reminder of an old family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      When I was a little girl, an old lady at my church always used to make these for me with M&Ms inside. It has taken me forever to track this recipe down! We called them 'Forget-me-nots'. Thank you for posting it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Any oldie, but goodie and so irresistible. Never can I just eat one. Okay, I'll be honest...more like ten in one sitting. Great for a Christmas cookie exchange, too. We'll all go on diets after Christmas, right?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Great cookie if you like meringue. Made several batches but must admit that I forgot to turn off the oven one time....not good! This one is a keeper...so easy and dee-licious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      My grandmother used to call these Go-To-Beds, because of the way you put them in overnight, and have to wait for them until the morning. We got her recipe before she passed, and were never able to replicate it the way she did. I'm going to try again, though. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      My mother used to make these but used mint flavoring in place of the vanilla and dropped the nuts. Our family called them Reindeer Farts. You can change the flavor - I really like them made with maple flavoring instead of vanilla. Thanks for posting because I lost the recipe during our last move.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      My aunt used to make these also. While she was mixing up the batter, she preheated her oven to 400 degrees. Then she put them on cookie sheets, stuck them in the oven, and turned the oven off. She also left them in the oven overnight. A tablespoon of apricot brandy can also be added to the batter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      These were pretty good, I love the nuts in them (I used walnuts). I halved the recipe because I couldn't figure out a way to get three dozen anything in my little oven. They weren't quite dry after about 9 hours, so I heated up the oven to about 200*, stuck them in and left them overnight (I'd started them in the morning). They were much better after that. I've been keeping them in the freezer, which has completely hardened them up. I think next time I'll try them without the chocolate, with just the nuts, I bet they'd be wonderful that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      I tried these. The results were mixed. The mistake i made was to get another batch of biscuits whilst I had already put the previous batch into the oven and turned the heat off. It's really important in this recipe to put the biscuits inside the oven and THEN turn the heat off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Forgotten Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (11 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.8
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    62%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites