16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish was so easy to prepare and cook. The flavor was creamy and pleasing. I used one can of low fat soup and one regular can of soup, and it turned out very well. I used chicken breasts with bones, so I cooked the rice for 30 minutes before adding the chicken and remaining sauce. I cooked the chicken breast for 40 minutes, and the meat turned out moist. I will make this dish again. Thanks for sharing it!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie November 13, 2002

This was made on a day that I really didn't want to make dinner. It was a snap to make. About 10 minutes in the kitchen and dinner was on the table in two hours without slaving over the stove. It was nice to have the meat and the side-dish together, so there wasn't alot of mess to clean up after. I've made this in the past and lost the recipe. I'm very greatful to have an old favorite back in my recipe box.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnreq July 09, 2002

So easy to fix and the rice was the best I have ever ate. I followed the directions and it turned out great. I would not change a thing

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TIMEONMYHANDS HINNANT February 12, 2003

This is delicious! Recipe was very popular in the early 70's as "No Peek Chicken with Rice"
I washed my rice first since I use Calrose Rice which has talcum on it. I mix the rice with
some of the soup and water mixture. I have used chicken pieces and chicken that has not been deboned and it all is delicious. I have used barley which has been precooked in boiling water for ten minutes, then drained when my husband could not have rice. I just added the barley to the pan on the bottom and followed the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song February 12, 2012

A cooking conversation with a dear childhood friend of mine had us both talking about "...remember that chicken dish we both grew up on?" Neither of us could remember either the name or how it was prepared; we only remembered how we made it as tweens (before there was even that word!) and how good it tasted. Finally, a friend of a friend gave me the name of the recipe, I came to f.com to do a search and THIS recipe had 100% of all the ingredients that I remember using. My family loves! rice, so I simply tripled the rice (using Minute Rice Brown Rice) and tripled the soup/water ratio. For the four of us, there was the perfect amount of chicken to rice. Despite the name "forgotten", I won't be forgetting this recipe in years to come; my family requested this to be on a monthly meal for us. Thanks, Kim D., for posting this classicly yummy dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef September 30, 2011

I should have listened to the experienced cook in my ahead when I questioned the little amount of fluid and cooking temp..The rice wasnt cooked done and the sauce , well, wasnt. <br/><br/>My common sense told me his recipe should be cooked at a lower temp (like 250-300) and be covered with foil for the recommented 1-2 hr cooking time.. But, all the reviews raved with the recipe as is. Uncovered and at 350 degrees for 1.5-2 hours. I took it out after and hour and it was beyond repair. I used long grain rice as the recipe didnt specify otherwise and one of the reviewers stated they used long grain. So I thought I was in the clear...NOPE...<br/><br/>The only reason it didnt get one star rating is because the flavor was good. Ok for me but I could NEVER serve to family / guests. Lesson learned -always follow your gut when making something- NEXT time I will cover with foil until the last 10 min and cook at 250-300 for 1.5 -2 hours<br/><br/>Next time I do this it will be GREAT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbhelmly September 28, 2013

The chicken was good but I couldn't get myself to eat the rice. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina November 25, 2008

I made this for a dinner with my father in law, aunt/uncle and they all loved this. The mixing of the soup/rice and letting set first ensured that my rice was perfectly moist. I followed the baking directions of Michelle's Forgotten Chicken at 200 degrees for 4 hours and it worked great. I did brown my chicken pieces first in a cast iron skillet (bit of short) first. I served with broccoli, carrots, crescent rolls, and a wonderful cherry parfait (by Nicole Brumnet). Thanks Kim! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado February 12, 2008

i learned to make this recipe in 1978 in nursing school from Mrs. Perkins who was the nutritional instructor. her DH was a VP for Campbell's and she was as exciting as a can of cream of celery soup. the recipe is easy and delicious and one that my whole family loves. I use split breasts, too, and cream of mushroom soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears September 26, 2006
Forgotten Chicken