Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Forgotten Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Forgotten Chicken

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2002

      This dish was so easy to prepare and cook. The flavor was creamy and pleasing. I used one can of low fat soup and one regular can of soup, and it turned out very well. I used chicken breasts with bones, so I cooked the rice for 30 minutes before adding the chicken and remaining sauce. I cooked the chicken breast for 40 minutes, and the meat turned out moist. I will make this dish again. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      This was made on a day that I really didn't want to make dinner. It was a snap to make. About 10 minutes in the kitchen and dinner was on the table in two hours without slaving over the stove. It was nice to have the meat and the side-dish together, so there wasn't alot of mess to clean up after. I've made this in the past and lost the recipe. I'm very greatful to have an old favorite back in my recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      So easy to fix and the rice was the best I have ever ate. I followed the directions and it turned out great. I would not change a thing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      This is delicious! Recipe was very popular in the early 70's as "No Peek Chicken with Rice"
      I washed my rice first since I use Calrose Rice which has talcum on it. I mix the rice with
      some of the soup and water mixture. I have used chicken pieces and chicken that has not been deboned and it all is delicious. I have used barley which has been precooked in boiling water for ten minutes, then drained when my husband could not have rice. I just added the barley to the pan on the bottom and followed the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      A cooking conversation with a dear childhood friend of mine had us both talking about "...remember that chicken dish we both grew up on?" Neither of us could remember either the name or how it was prepared; we only remembered how we made it as tweens (before there was even that word!) and how good it tasted. Finally, a friend of a friend gave me the name of the recipe, I came to f.com to do a search and THIS recipe had 100% of all the ingredients that I remember using. My family loves! rice, so I simply tripled the rice (using Minute Rice Brown Rice) and tripled the soup/water ratio. For the four of us, there was the perfect amount of chicken to rice. Despite the name "forgotten", I won't be forgetting this recipe in years to come; my family requested this to be on a monthly meal for us. Thanks, Kim D., for posting this classicly yummy dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I should have listened to the experienced cook in my ahead when I questioned the little amount of fluid and cooking temp..The rice wasnt cooked done and the sauce , well, wasnt. <br/><br/>My common sense told me his recipe should be cooked at a lower temp (like 250-300) and be covered with foil for the recommented 1-2 hr cooking time.. But, all the reviews raved with the recipe as is. Uncovered and at 350 degrees for 1.5-2 hours. I took it out after and hour and it was beyond repair. I used long grain rice as the recipe didnt specify otherwise and one of the reviewers stated they used long grain. So I thought I was in the clear...NOPE...<br/><br/>The only reason it didnt get one star rating is because the flavor was good. Ok for me but I could NEVER serve to family / guests. Lesson learned -always follow your gut when making something- NEXT time I will cover with foil until the last 10 min and cook at 250-300 for 1.5 -2 hours<br/><br/>Next time I do this it will be GREAT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      The chicken was good but I couldn't get myself to eat the rice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

    • on February 12, 2008

      I made this for a dinner with my father in law, aunt/uncle and they all loved this. The mixing of the soup/rice and letting set first ensured that my rice was perfectly moist. I followed the baking directions of Michelle's Forgotten Chicken at 200 degrees for 4 hours and it worked great. I did brown my chicken pieces first in a cast iron skillet (bit of short) first. I served with broccoli, carrots, crescent rolls, and a wonderful cherry parfait (by Nicole Brumnet). Thanks Kim! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      i learned to make this recipe in 1978 in nursing school from Mrs. Perkins who was the nutritional instructor. her DH was a VP for Campbell's and she was as exciting as a can of cream of celery soup. the recipe is easy and delicious and one that my whole family loves. I use split breasts, too, and cream of mushroom soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      I used split breasts, River white rice and Campbell's healthy request cream of chicken soup. I also only use about 3/4's of the onion soup mix. My family loved this recipe. My husband's comment was that it "smelled like a chicken pot pie" while cooking. I love the recipe because I pop it in the oven & can do something else while it cooks. I have used boneless chicken in the past and just lessen the cooking time. I have a grilfriend who puts julienned carrots, sliced onions and mushroms in and the her whole meal is in one pan. I hope you enjoy & experiment. Thanks for sharing Kim D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      This deserves a 5 stars based on the simplicity alone. ;-) I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cut the recipe in half since just two of us were eating. Turned out great! I cut the cooking time by 15 minutes and the chicken was tasty and moist. It's a great mid-week recipe when your short and time and energy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This is the best forgotten chicken recipe! We always had made this with cream of mushroom soup, but this is TONS better. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This turned out well. I actually *really* liked the rice. The sauce added a great sticky rich texture and flavor to it. This is good comfort food. Ironically, I sought this recipe out to use up my 1/2 pkt. of onion soup mix, but I am not sure how much it added to the overall dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      My family loves this dish. It is fast to put together and does not require a lot of attention. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It is for all who have more to do than just watch food cook. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      This was very easy to make. I thought it was a little too "soupy" (pardon the pun). Next time I will cut back on the soup and see what happens. I thought it good but the rest of the family didn't care for the rice. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts. They came out nice and tender and juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Forgotten Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (349 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 546.7
     
    Calories from Fat 262
    47%
    Total Fat 29.1 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 123.1 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1059.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes