Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Forget Applesauce, Serve Apples! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Forget Applesauce, Serve Apples!

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2002

      Thank you Lennie! You are so wonderful for giving this recipe back to me? I have been looking for this recipe for a long while. (My mom used to make these). She died before I even thought about what a comfort these were to me and to my thirteen siblings. I did add the cinnamon, plus some sugar, to make it a dessert which is how I remembered it. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      Thanks for this recipe, Lennie! Applesauce doesn't hold a candle to this recipe. These are excellent served with pork chops. It's the perfect combination of "salty and sweet". I highly recommend this...if you've never had it, give it a try! You will LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      Wow! D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S! I think that apples prepared in this way are -ADDICTIVE!! I enjoyed just a tiny slice of one on its own as soon as it was off the stove and now I better hide it for the others or I'll be heading to the refrigerator to get more apples and make more:) I'd love to have this with vanilla ice-cream, these apples on top of the ice-cream scoop, yum!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      I didn't really like this...i think i will stick to a normal apple sauce. The dish was a little too sour for my liking, and it took away the flavour of my pork roast a little.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      A delicious side dish served with Crispy Crumbed Pork Chops, Microwave Mashed Potatoes, and broccoli and carrots. Even better than applesauce. Think this recipe would be good as a dessert with cinnamon added and buttered breadcrumbs on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Oh Lennie, what a nice change this recipe is, I agree the honey makes the difference. Now that apples are ripe and on the trees this was the perfect sweet addition to our table. Love it and will be using it a lot instead of Applesauce. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Ahhhhhhhhhh. The honey makes all the difference. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      We had several apples trees in our backyard when I was growing up. My mother made the best fried apples. However, the honey in this recipe rivals any that she prepared. LOL I used tart Granny Smith apples and left the skin on. Mmmm. These were part of a simple breakfast served with Bacon Muffins #102074 and a large glass of milk. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      These were so good, all three bites I got!! My hubby, who I didn't think would like them, ate all the rest. He really, really liked them. He thinks it would make good pie filling. My 2 yr old son, did not like them, but he is a picky-butt, so I'm not too worried. They were really easy to make too. I used Braeburn apples, but they weren't very crisp. Next time I will use a very crisp apple, so it will be easier to slice. Thanks, a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Forget Applesauce, Serve Apples!

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.2
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    34%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 21.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites