Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fool's Salt - Sel Fou - French Style Seasoning Salt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fool's Salt - Sel Fou - French Style Seasoning Salt

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2009

      Five stars for sure! I was unable to find dried horseradish, so I substituted dry mustard powder as suggested by a previous reviewer. I find I'm using this seasoning salt for almost everything. Thank-you Tarty! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Coming from a heavy salt using family, I personally never used it. But I gave this a try. Half the fun was grinding the organic sea salt in the mortar & pestle, getting it nice and fine. Subbed out the horseradish as I had none, for a bit of dry English Mustard. This is so darned good! Just a pinch I used but it really enhanced the cooking. Instantly a favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Where have you been all my life. This has got to be the most fantastic seasoning mix around. (Used dried mustard) I've been using is constantly in pretty much everything. It sits next to the stove, to make it very handy. I think the BEST is using it in fried onions. It makes eating them kinda heavenly sinful. :) Thanks FT...my adventure continues. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #38

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      I made this as my contribution for a bake sale, and everyone has been asking what is in it - big hit! 50g of fine sea salt is 3 tbl for those who have not yet bought a digital scale. Thanks for posting, FT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Thanks a ton for posting! Used this fool's salt on some thin sliced russet potatoes and sliced onions lightly coated with garlic olive oil and put in oven on 350 for 50 min or so. sooo yummy! also used the other night on some plain white fish with a little olive oil and some white wine. wonderful taste and not salty at all!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      This is so yummy! Like most everyone else, I had to sub dried mustard for horseradish powder, but I absolutely love it and sprinkle it on just about everything. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Merci merci French tart! This is delicious. I used it for the first time last night and finally made something that I felt was appropriately seasoned! Thank you so much. (I also used dried mustard instead of horseradish) **EDIT** I always have a jar of this - it is AMAZING. I've made it once with mustard and once with horseradish, and I actually like the mustard better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I dunno...I think this is something that is going to have to grow on me. I admit I have used ANY seasoned salt only a couple of times a year and this certainly has more flavor and MUCH more interesting flavor than L...ry's! I shall have to use more and contemplate...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Excellent but what else would we expect from French Tart. Used on French Fries today can't wait to try in soup. Thanks FT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      This is wonderful (I mean wonderful) stuff. I did use dry mustard but kept everything the same. I have used in on vegetables, in some soups and the other night on chicken. Definately a keeper! Thank you for posting and this is going into my Favorites of 214. Made for Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Sorry - the new format threw me! I give it 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      liked this used dry mustard like freya thanks for hint

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      I love this! Something new and wonderful to add to my herb and spice collection. The moment I mixed this up I knew it was just the thing I was looking for, I will be using it often. Thanks for posting it! ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fool's Salt - Sel Fou - French Style Seasoning Salt

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    15%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19393.7 mg
    808%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground horseradish

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites