Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foolproof Standing Prime Rib Roast (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foolproof Standing Prime Rib Roast (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      We just did a 12 pound roast and it came out perfect. I strongly recommend a leave in meat thermometer so that you don't have to worry about getting it exactly right. Also, don't forget that the meat continues to cook once you take it out. For a rare roast, the temp should read between 135-140 when it is removed from the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This Recipe ROCKS !! I had Never made a Prime Rib, But for my Thanksgiving I wanted to make something special. I was planning on making plain old Roast Beef. My boyfriends Parents bought us a prime rib for dinner, I told his mom I was going to make it in the Crockpot like I normally do with any other RoastBeef. When I told her that she gasped in Horror, so I googled it. All the comments about doing the Prime Rib in the crockpot said it was a very bad Idea. So then I googled Foolproof Prime Rib. This Recipe was the 1st one listed in the google search, I knew I had tried things from this site before and with all the positive review's I thought it couldn't be so bad. I did it with a 2.11kg Bone in Prime Rib Roast. For people like me that don't have a rack, I just piled up some raw onion, garlic, and potatoes so it wasn't on the bottom of the pan and followed the instructions. My only other change, was that I sprinkled / rubbed with the House Seasoning the night before and right before I put it into the oven. Every one Loved it. Honestly I think they were a little shocked I pulled it off. My Prime Rib roast turned out about Medium Well. That works for us because my parents won't eat beef anything pink (Yeah yeah I don't know whats wrong with them). But even being Medium Well. It was super tender. I was even asked for the recipe. I will defiantly be making Prime Rib again this way. Maybe for X-mas since they were so impressed I've been nominated for that dinner too. Thanks again for all the Review's and the people putting the effort in writing them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      If I could give it 100 stars I would!!!!!! I have used this recipe for the past several Christmas roasts as well as several other "less expensive" cuts and it turns out perfect EVERY time!!!! Size of the roast isn't an issue. My family LOVES this method and we look forward to it every time!! The only thing to plan ahead for is cooking other things. But....I just let the roast rest while we cook the stuffing and it works out just fine! Cover roast with foil and it stays plenty warm. Definitely recommended!!! I made a full recipe of the house seasoning 1 cup salt (I use table salt) 1/4 cup black pepper 1/4 cup garlic powder Then I keep it in an air tight container to use throughout the year. It is also great on steaks on the grill or oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I made this last night with a 6.5 rib roast in a gas oven. I cooked it an hour, left it in for 3 hours and then cooked it another 30 mins and it turned out medium rare. Perfectly cooked and melt in your mouth delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      A smash hit! We did a 7 pound roast. I used most of the rub. Waited the two hours, it was 118 degrees. So we did the second cook at 325 for 30 minutes. It came out rare and tender. Would be hard to fine a better way to do a rib roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Yes indeed, if I am able to pull this off, ANYBODY can cook this. I cook a 9+ lb roast and let it sit in the oven for 3 hours and cooked it for 35 min prior to serving and it came out perfect! So glad I came across this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      Fabulous! Mouth Watering!<br/><br/>Made this last week and it was restaurant quality, the meat came out perfect. Used a 4 lb boneless Prime Rib, only change which I recommend is substituting the garlic powder with 4 cloves minced garlic. Let the roast in the oven for 2 hours at which time it was 125 degrees, tented it and put back in the oven 45 min before dinner. The roast came out wonderful, medium rare as we like it.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      My suggestion for the recipe. Use 2-3 garlic cloves and cut into slices or pieces instead of garlic powder. Make slits in the meat and push the garlic in. Salt and pepper both sides. Follow the recipe exactly and it turns out perfectly. We used a 5.77lb roast.

      Sauce. While the roast is sitting 15 minutes, pour some kettle water in the bottom. While you cut the meat, put the sauce in a small pot and add 1 beef bullion to it and bring to a boil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This was one of the best meals I have ever made and it was my first time cooking a prime rib roast. I was so intimidated to cook this cut of beef but it was actually simple! We don't like our beef too rare so I cooked this to a final internal temperature of 150F and it was perfect for us. A fabulous recipe that will definitely be repeated, thanks Sharlene!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I have made this for my DH for years. He says it's the best prime rib.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I made this for my anniversary last year and it came out just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I had never made a standing rib roast before but you would never know it. This recipe came out perfect. My family loved it. I did make an au jus sauce to go with it and made it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I love this recipe, it's so easy and simple, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This recipe was totally awesome. But I can not stress enough to use a meat thermometer if you are using a roast of a different size. The flavor was awesome, normally I won't put really any kind of seasoning much on this type of roast, just a little salt and pepper, so this wasn't too overpowering for the sweetness of the meat. Loved the addition of the garlic powder, so simple, so easy, and taste is just out of this world good !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This recipe has never failed me. In fact we won't even go out for prime rib anymore because of this recipe. I highly recommend it and wouldn't use any other. Great post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      this is probably the very best prime rib recipe I have ever used. everyone loves it and I make it several times a year and especially at Christmas. If you have not tried it, please do you won't be disappointed. And one word of advice follow the very easy directions and DO NOT open the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I prepared this Christmas night. I used a 5 1/2 lb roast. It turned out perfect. It's impossible to prepair any other oven cooked foods. Helpful if you have a double oven. The only change I made, was the use of the seasioning mixture and sauce mixture from Standing Rib Roast. Thank you Flora. Simply superb. I had a guest who is very fussy. He said it was the best Standing Rib Roast he has ever had. Without a doubt, I will make this again. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Made this today for NY's Day 2013...EXCELLANT!!! However, I used Fiesta brand "Uncle Chris' Gourmet Steak Seaoning" instead of PD's. I used a 4 lb. boneless rib roast & roasted it for 1 hour...turned the oven off for 1 & a half hours & then turned the oven back on for 20 minutes...turned out to a PERFECT medium-rare!!! Will definately do it this way again!!! THANKS for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      I made my first ever standing rib roast for 8 people last night. I'm not sure how much it weighed, but it had 4 ribs...After reading the few negative reviews, I was a little nervous to try this recipe! The bottom line is, if you have a reliable oven and you follow the instructions exactly (NOT ever opening the oven door from start to finish)...you too will have success! My family thinks I'm a rockstar! There were two skeptics in my family who made me very paranoid...they said it was gonna be raw after only cooking 1 1/2 hours total, with the 3 hours in between spent in the oven while it was turned off. When we cut into it and saw how perfect it was, I cheered out loud! I made an au jus to go with it, 1C Good Red Cabernet Wine, 2C Beef Stock, right in the roasting pan on the stovetop, it was unbelievable. DON'T BE AFRAID TO TRY PAULA'S RECIPE! IT IS RESTAURANT QUALITY!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Im trying this for the first time today, infact its in the "set" period as I type. Tried to roast a prime rib 2 years ago and ended up with EPIC FAIL. It was an excellent roast beef but so not what I hoped and planned for. Love Paula, she has yet to let me down. My (and my Hubbins) fingers are crossed. Will update...Turned out perfect! I will never use a different recipe than this one. My Hubbins LOVED it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foolproof Standing Prime Rib Roast (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (5 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    36%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2326.0 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    standing rib roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites