Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foolproof Sourdough Starter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foolproof Sourdough Starter

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2006

      Excellent sour dough starter!! During my lifetime, I have made a lot of starters and this one is by far the best. It made the best tasting bread. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      If you are having problems with this starter, then it is probably one of these things . . .<br/><br/>1. Not live yoghurt culture - MUST be live, plain yoghurt.<br/><br/>2. Bleached flour - the things used to bleach flour (bromine or iodine - both used to disinfect!) kill the bacteria.<br/><br/>3. Too cold? Keep that puppy warm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I am throwing in the towel on this; I have made the starter 4 times and it is not working out for me; it either does not develop or it goes mouldy before I get to the point of fermentation. I have tried different bowl and different temperatures. I picked the recipe because it read 'foolproof'. I have tried to make startes before without success; but I guess I have to admit that I am a real fool when it comes to starters. I will keep trying because it irritates me that I can't make it work. I bake quite a bit of bread and really should know how to get this done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This stuff is great and I made a double batch. Because I'm in freezing cold Michigan I set it on a heating pad set to 80 degrees and loosely wrapped in a kitchen towel. I made ~Nimz~ Rustic Country Sourdough Bread Rustic Country Sourdough Bread with it on the 7th day and it was fabulous! Thanks Paula for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      Sourdough does not need nor does it want, milk or yogurt. Some start a starter with pineapple juice or other sugars, like here with milk. The yeast in sourdough is NOT the brewers yeast you buy and active in warm water with sugar. Different specie or yeast. Sourdough specie of yeast eats flower. Hence you need NOTHING but water, real flower, and time. <br/><br/>One thing that pineapple juice, milk, and other ingredients can do, is make the starter unpleasant for other yeast and bacterium. So in fact it does nothing to encourage sourdough it might dis courage other Eukaryote (single cell, yeast) and bactirium, making that first 3 days not so nasty. <br/><br/>It could all do the opposite. Leave milk on the kitchen counter for 3 day...desirable??? Milk is also homogenized and pasteurized. If milk is used, it should be RAW milk. Non pasteurized, non homogenized. Leave homogenized milk for 3 days at room temperature, you have a nasty thing. leave raw milk on counter...you have cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      This is the best starter I've ever used !! Kept it in lower oven light on temp stayed between 81-84 .<br/>Made sourdough pancakes after 72 hr proof time really really good !! Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      THIS IS THE ONE! EASY! EASY! EASY! For years I have tried to make a sourdough starter and they always failed. Not only is this starter easy, it is VERY STABLE. I have yet to put her into the fridge. She is loving staying out on the countertop. I made a very successful Sourdough Bread Machine loaf. #47089 I highly recommend! Very easy. Nice suttle sour taste. I LOVE EASY! : ) I have fed my baby with milk and flour but think I might try feeding her with buttermilk and rye or wheat flour. We love the sour taste. I can hardly wait to make pancakes! THIS IS A KEEPER! Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

    • on November 27, 2007

      Absolutely fantastic - took about 5 days to really get going, but the bread I made last night was superb. Thanks for another keeper, Paula

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Paula this is some terrific stuff. I made this weeks ago, and am getting my third sour dough bread out of it. I used the starter in ~Nimz's~Rustic Country Sourdough Bread. Both recipes made the most outstanding bread I have ever had. This was so easy and quick to put together. We only heat by woodstove in the winter, so I sit the started about 3 feet from the woodstove. It keeps bubbling and improves more everytime. Thank you so much Paula, I hope this stays around for a long, long, time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      This is by far the best sourdough starter I have tried. The smell alone rates this a 10. I can't wait to make pancakes at the lake the first week of August. Last year they were good..this year they will be outstanding. The yogurt and the buttmilk gives it a whole different smell then a yeast sourdough does. This is the keeper from now on. Thanks so much. If it wasnt so hot here I would make a loaf of bread or biscuits and try it but I am not starting the stove. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      This was my first attempt at a sourdough starter and this recipe worked great. Truly a foolproof starter :D I baked my first loaf with it today and it turned out great. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      This didn't bubble and grow for me. And then it got mold spots. Maybe I'm just not a baker :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      It was the first time I ever made sourdough and I didn't really know what to expect, but it worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      Paula, I am going to make this one more time before i put a rating on the recipe. I've never done sourdough before. I followed directions. I began this on Sunday. Today is Friday and it smelled and looked ready to use. Unfortunately my bread didn't come out so great. (And the recipe I used basically called for me to use ALL my starter.....after working so hard lol) So, I'm going to start a new batch tonight, and maybe be more patient next time. I'll update the review probably by the end of next week or so, after I give it another go. And thanks to Nimrod for the review she posted. I will admit I was a little nervous about the other reviewers comments, so I was more comfortable after seeing Nimrod's comments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      This turned out great. I followed the directions to the letter and it produced a wonderful starter. I let it sit on the counter for 5 days before I fed it for the first time then, after feeding it and letting it sit for 9 hours on the counter, I used it to make Basic Sourdough Bread #34753 and it turned out great. Had a wonderful texture and flavor. Thanks so much Paula for a great recipe. Update-I have been using this starter since November 2005 and I'm still alive and kicking. Nothing unhealthy about the starter. Sorry to dispute your input frankly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foolproof Sourdough Starter

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.3
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    21%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 33.0 mg
    11%
    Sodium 117.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites