Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foolproof Pie Dough (With Vodka!?) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foolproof Pie Dough (With Vodka!?)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2011

      I have used a lot of different pie crust recipes and this one is the easiest and the best. A few hints will help! First, I did not transfer to a bowl but just added the cold liquids gradually while pulsing the food processor. Then plop the dough onto 2 pieces of plastic wrap and use the wrap to gather up the dough and form it into disks and wrap up. (The dough will seem to be impossibly wet!!) I recommend chilling at least 2 hours or freezing for a half hour. You really can use a good bit of flour when rolling out; do it between sheets of wax paper or just use the plastic wrap the disk was wrapped in on the counter. Brush off excess flour from the dough surface. Chill 15 minutes after rolling out and then chill another 40 minutes in the pie plate. For a baked crust, bake at 400 degrees on lowest oven rack wiith pie weights for 15 minutes then unweighted another 5 to 10 minutes until golden brown, shielding the edges if necessary.
      (I keep my pie weights in a large cooking bag (made for cooking a turkey). Just plop the whole thing in the crust, remove and cool and wipe the bag off if necessary before storing it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Wow, I am no longer ashamed of my pie crusts! Easy to roll out and very tender and flaky. That said, there is an outrageous amount of fat in this recipe. I think I will just adopt the vodka idea for my regular recipe that calls for 12 Tbsp total for a double crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I used to be very intimidated with pie crust, because my DH grew up on pies. The dough rolled out quite easily and you didn't smell the vodka. I think you might be able to stretch the dough out for 3 small pie crusts. I left out the egg wash at the end and after the pie was finished cooking, I sprinkled the top with white sugar. That was a trick that I learned from the dear MIL!! I found this recipe in the Cooks Illustrated, so I am glad that it was already posted!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Wow it really does work! It was so easy to roll and you couldn't smell or taste the vodka. I used it for Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie for Thanksgiving and it was great. I did see this in Cook's Illustrated, but I'm grateful to you SusieQusie for posting it as I always know where Recipezaar is but don't always know where my magazines are! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Pastry making terrifies me mostly because I am so terrible at it. The pie crusts almost always turned out heavy and all patched up due to their being torn during the rolling out part. This gem of a recipe is a fabulous find. My crusts were so easy to roll out, and they were light and flaky. I cannot thank you enough for this one. Love, love the recipe. Thank you for sharing. Oh... since I used this to make a savoury pie, I only used 1 tsp of sugar, and that was enough for our taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      I made a half recipe so that I had one 9" pie crust. I was looking for a recipe that uses both butter (for flavor) and shortening (for flakiness).I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I am a complete pastry loser but this one worked! I found it a little sticky but basically easy to work with. I still hate making pie crusts but when I do this will be the recipe I will use in future!
      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I've made this pie crust twice now. Both times for a chicken pot pie,(#10744), for pot lucks. It was great and I got compliments on the flakey crust. I made it exactly as noted in the recipe. Great results both times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      My, oh my, but this was the easiest pie crust to make and it made such a light tasty crust. I do love pie of almost any type. This will be my go to recipe for any pie I work with in the future. It's a gem of a crust!!!! No more searching for pie crust recipes for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foolproof Pie Dough (With Vodka!?)

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.4
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    62%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 294.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes