Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foolproof, One Bowl Banana Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foolproof, One Bowl Banana Cake

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2011

      How easy!!! I made muffins instead so they would be easy on the go. I followed the recipe ingredients but I only had 2 medium bananas that had been in my freezer for a month or so. I also only had butter. The recipe doesn't say to melt or soften so I went with softening it. Worked great!!! I baked them at the same temp for 25 minutes. I will definitely keep this recipe at arms length. Thank you for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      I made this cake the other day and found it to be extremely good. I made it just as written. It needs no icing, and is one of those snacks that you can eat on the run anytime of day. Hubby loved it. Thanks for an easy and quick recipe Sarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      What a great recipe to use when you have some overripe bananas but not a lot of time to prepare a recipe. I made the recipe using one-half regular flour and one-half whole wheat flour, and cooked the batter in muffin tins. The muffins came out moist and delicious, and were an instant hit with my son. I froze half of them, but I don't know how long they will last in the freezer -- they are that good! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Yummy! I only had two bananas, so this was perfect. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9" round pan for 25 minutes. I also used oil instead of margarine. I didn't even need to get out the mixer. I just whsked it together by hand. It came out very moist and with a good banana flavor. I'm glad I didn't add any spices.

      I think it would make a great layer cake, with either a cream cheese or lemon icing. Maybe filled with pineapple preserves. Or any number of tropical variations.

      I've added this to my cookbooks. Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      This is an amazingly moist and tender cake that is also dairy-free - very important in my house! I love this cake and so does my toddler; it's one of the few foods he's guaranteed not to turn down. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Tasty and oh so easy! I made it gluten free by using 1.5 cups white rice flour and .5 cups tapioca flour and 3 tsp xanthan gum. I also added an extra banana or two, used oil in place of margerine, and maple syrup in place of sugar, but had to bake longer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Lovely! I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 pan, and instead of butter, I substituted half apple sauce and half low-fat butter substitute made of rice, and it's delightful. Very moist and bananasome. Next time I might add cinnamon, and there will most certainly be a next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      This...is...PERFECT. I always keep a list of the basic "usual suspects" on-hand around the house, in case I get in the mood to bake something. The one drawback is that I HATE to have to go last-minute shop for things I don't have in the fridge or on the shelf, because if I don't have them, I'm not going to do it, then. This is the 'BOMB' of one-bowl banana cake recipes, because it doesn't require yogurt or sour-cream, yet still comes out as good as if you'd actually used those ingredients. No pre-shopping necessary. If I have butter and overripe bananas? BAM - to quote Emeril. It's as good as done! And the cake being great for snacks doesn't hurt, either...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Very easy to make (as the recipe states, just one bowl!). Came out really moist and browned nicely after 35 minutes in our oven. Will be making this again! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      I had some ripe bananas so made this. I followed the recipe exactly as written and we loved it. It was easy to make. Mine took 40 minutes to cook. This had a great banana taste to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Great recipe! Really moist cake and lots flavor. I couldn't bring myself to use a stick of butter, so I used 6 T. and 2 T. of Greek yogurt, may even try and go 50/50 next time, also used 1 cup of sugar and 2 T. of honey. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Oh my gosh - DELICIOUS. My banana cakes never turned out until this recipie. My six year old helped me make it. This is the best banana cake recipie ever AND the kids didn't even want to wait until it was iced! perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I'm in love! So easy to make and delicious. I added all spice, cinnamon, butter instead of margarine, and almond extract. Mixed in a little whole wheat flour with the white but used exactly 2 cups total, and finally included walnuts. It turned out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      I made half the recipe, used 2 large bananas. A little less than half a cup of sugar, applesauce instead of margarine %u2013 a little more than ? c., white ww flour, a full tsp vanilla, no margarine nor oil. I added some (1 tab arnd) creamer/milk, and sugar free choc chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This was such an easy recipe to make! I made it with my 9 year old who loves to be in the kitchen with me. I changed a few things, but it still was fabulous. From an old one bowl (wacky cake) chocolate cake recipe I got the idea to substitute 2 tbsp vinegar for the 2 eggs and whole wheat flour for the regular flour. I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for margarine, therefore less sugar (1 cup only), 1/4 c plain greek yogurt, 1/2 c ground flax seed, 6 bananas instead of 5, and 1/2 mix of pecans & walnuts. Delish! Light fluffy. Froze as recommended in single servings and pulled out as needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      This is exactly what I was looking for! The cake was moist, fluffy, and tasty! Simple recipe with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This was so easy, quick and tasty. I only had 3 small bananas so I halved the recipe and baked in a 8x8 square pan. I baked for 25 minutes and it worked quite well. Next time I will make sure I have more bananas and make the full size. I will definitely be making this often. I might even through in some nuts or mini chocolate chips next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Yum! Frosted with caramel forsting for a yummy treat. Great way to use up those brown bananas. Next time I'll check at 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This was so easy and so delicious. I added cinnamon to the cake and topped it with streusel (Useful Streusel #257272). It came out like a coffee cake since the cake itself was not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Man, is this ever a great recipe!! Throw everything in one bowl, mix and bake...and it was delicious! Who could ask for more? I added cinnamon to mine and it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foolproof, One Bowl Banana Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.1
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    30%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 277.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    92%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites