Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foolproof Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foolproof Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2007

      This is a great recipe for a basic dinner roll...distinctive yeast flavor, and it really is foolproof...and trust me, I am a beginner using yeast, so I HAD TO HAVE foolproof. I chose this recipe for 3 reasons, first, the title, second, there was no egg in the recipe, and third, I had a packet of rapid rise yeast and I thought with only one rising that this had to be the type of recipe to use it for. I only added a couple of tablespoons extra flour, and it was basically on the top and bottom of the mixture to be able to knead it instead of stirring it in. I actually just formed a rectangle with my hands instead of rolling, and cut into 8 equal portions. I put them in a greased 8 inch cake pan, and baked them at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. They were a light brown (which is what we prefer) but completely done. And they rose BEAUTIFULLY. Thanks for posting a yeast roll recipe that even a beginner can make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This was my 1st attempt at roll making; I wanted to make homemade rolls for Christmas dinner. But this was my trial run to see how it worked :-). I thought the dough was really easy to work with & I only used a few tsp of sugar--used butter, too! I think I rolled the dough out too thin, though--they came out flatter than I wanted. I thought the texture was great but my husband said they were more like the texture/size of biscuits. Hmmm...I think the recipe certainly lives up to the name, though--and will keep working with this I think!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Good rolls. I liked the slight sweetness. However, they didn't need near the amount of time to cook that was mentioned. I only cooked mine for 15 minutes, and they were slightly burnt on the bottom. However, I made them on the slightly smaller size, probably because I have such small hands.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I have been experimenting with this recipe for a while because I am a beginner at bread-making. Tonight was the third time I have used this recipe, and it finally came out almost perfect! (it has been good before, but like I said, I am still getting the hang of bread-making.) I used oil and baked them at 350 for a little less than 20 minutes. I also flattened them slightly after the rising time to tighten the air bubbles in them. I do believe this is my best attempt at bread-making yet! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Just fantastic! So quick and easy. I only used 2 teaspoons of sugar. I whipped this up in minutes! I wonder if the results will be the same with wholemeal flour? Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      These were a cinch to make and went well with our stew. The kids actually thought they were a bit sweet (which is hard to believe since they can eat candy all day and not complain) so next time I will cut the sugar a bit. Thanks for a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This is truly an easy recipe. I made the recipe exactly as provided and chose to use the oil instead of shortening or butter. Next time, I will use real butter and it will give it an even richer taste and the butter will balance out the sweetness of the roll. I noticed in some of the comments that others had to add flour. I made sure that the flour was firmly packed in my measuring cup. When I kneaded the dough, I worked in about 1/4 cup of flour to take away any stickiness. The rolls were very good and I will make them again. Regretfully, I only got to eat one roll. The aroma was too overwhelming for my labrador retriever and he ate the rest! He liked this recipe also. We ended up without any dinner rolls for Thanksgiving. I will make some for Christmas after I put the dog in the back yard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      i used this roll recipe to make a cinn. bun roll up it worked excelent i also need to use about 1 1/2 c. more flour but it turned out great any way thanks for the easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      I made these in the food processor, using veg. oil (no extra flour was needed - used King Arthur flour). It was fun NOT having to wait for another rising. I must admit I only had time for a 20 min. rise and I don't know if that made a difference. Mine were chewy with a sweet flavor. My daughter (who loves rolls) said they were really good. Thanks for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      I work cooking for over 30 people a night, with student volunteers (many of whome have never cooked) helping me. One of the boys seemed to determined to prove that these were actually NOT foolproof, but they still turned out great. A wonderful tasting recipe perfect for people who have never made bread before. Thanks! (It took over 2 cups of flour for us as well, and we used half white and half whole wheat)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      I didn't bother rolling these out and cutting them. I just patted them out in flat circles and they turned out perfectly. Dough is very easy to work with and makes it a snap to have fresh hot rolls for dinner. Loved the recipe, thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      These were great! I needed more than 2 cups of flour but they turned out great. I will make these a lot. I love how quick they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foolproof Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    26%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 195.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes