Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foolproof Baby Back Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foolproof Baby Back Ribs

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2012

      This review is for the cooking method only as I make and use my own rub and sauce based on Jim's "Don't Spare the Spareribs" Ribs . I see absolutely no flaw with the rub and at some point I will try it and I will update the review when I do.

      I have used this method several times on a few different grills and always with great success.The cooking method works just fine but remember, the times are just a guideline. If your racks of ribs are on the lighter side check them earlier. A good indicator for ribs is when 1/4 of an inch of the bone ends are exposed they should be pretty much done and ready for finishing with sauce. In my opinion and based on experience, if they are "falling off the bone" they are overcooked, if the bone ends are not exposed by at least a quarter inch they are undercooked.

      Also remember that this method is for Baby Back Ribs. Spare Ribs (From the underside of the rib cage) are a much tougher cut with more connective tissue and will require long slow cooking to achieve the desired results. I have not tried this method for "Southern Style" ribs yet but I plan to

      I noticed one reviewer had a bad experience and they are probably correct in thinking the grill was too hot. I am wondering if maybe they either forgot to turn down the heat or didn't put the ribs on the upper rack of the grill. It is important to Know Your Grill!!!

      Bottom Line, This method has not let me down yet and it is the only method I use for grilling Baby Backs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      The rub is not to my taste and I will try one of the others that I have used in the past, but the cooking method works well. I'll probably use it again when I don't want to fire up the smoker and spend 5 hours cooking ribs.<br/><br/>These took 1:10 on my grill, plus another 10 minutes on slightly higher heat after brushing on sauce.<br/><br/>The recipe doesn't say anything about adding smoke, but you can do it pretty easily by putting wood chips in a foil pack if you don't have a metal tray for them. The smoke definitely add something (I like pecan, apple, hickory, oak, or a mixture of these).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

    • on September 24, 2012

      Delicious indeed! Followed the recipe and they were perfect.Good information given in the reviews. Will certainly make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Well, I learned two very interesting things with this recipe. 1) Aluminum has a melting temperature of 1220.58 Fahrenheit, and 2) apparently my grill can hit 1220.58 Fahrenheit. So, while these ribs were ridiculously delicious, I did have to modify the method of cooking by laying a baking sheet on the bottom level. I will definitely be using this rub every time I make ribs. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      I substituted Coriander for the cumin and kept the chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, salt & fresh ground pepper. I wrapped the rack of ribs in aluminum foil (tented and closed in the top middle) and cooked the ribs on the top rack as directed. After 1 hour of cooking I brushed on the BBQ sauce and resealed the ribs for another 15 min. Just fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Gave it 5 stars.Very good rub.Have made twice already.Used a gas grill with 3 burners.Turned off middle burner and placed ribs in the middle turn heat on low.Not the lowest setting for 1 hour and not opening lid.Added sauce and cut middle burner on for 5 minuts each side was cooked perfect.Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      We use this recipe every 4th of July. Thanks muchly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      I love the simplicity of this recipe. So easy and yet perfect. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I have completely cremated ribs before (I wasn't familiar with DSF's grill) so I was a little worried about leaving them alone but WOW!! This is the only way I will cook ribs from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Probably the BEST ribs I've ever made! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Awesome....they are wonderful and were done in an hour on my grill also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Great recipe! I used this as a guide as I had my own rub, but the cooking directions are perfect. I have always had trouble with tough ribs and these just fell off the bone. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Excellent! Tender and delicious, just the way my crew likes em! Another favorite for my files!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I was so tempted to open the lid to check on them but I resisted and I'm glad I did. The meat fell right off the bone. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      The ribs turned out great. They weren't exactly "fall off the bone" but I would make them again in a heartbeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      FABULOUS! After reading earlier reviews, I decided to check after 45 minutes. I brushed some sauce on then, closed the cover, and cooked for another 12 minutes. They turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing your method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      I am so glad I found this recipe again! I used it several months ago and was amazed at the results. Great ribs have always been an impossibility for me no matter what, so I was so pleased when the ribs came out perfect. Planning on using it Monday - thank you for this wonderful method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I did as was suggested and waited the full hour before checking on the ribs, but alas, they were overdone at that point! Dry and chewy! I did like the flavor however, so next time I will check them after about 45 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      We used regular pork ribs (not baby back), so I won't leave stars at this time...We followed recipe as it says, but it required longer cooking. (Common sense tells me since they were larger ribs I guess.) But they were sort of tough. We've never made ribs before and, overall, they were good, but we may try the oven method next time. The recipe was nice in its simplicity! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foolproof Baby Back Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 879.8
     
    Calories from Fat 509
    57%
    Total Fat 56.5 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 234.7 mg
    78%
    Sodium 863.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    66%
    Protein 66.0 g
    132%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites