Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fooll Mudammes (Fava Bean Egyptian Breakfast)(فول مدمس) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fooll Mudammes (Fava Bean Egyptian Breakfast)(فول مدمس)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2010

      Served with pita bread, feta, and cucumbers. Thanks! This has earned a spot in the breakfast menu rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This was really excellent- reminded me of Middle Eastern refried beans! I found 1/4 cup of tomato sauce was sufficient for flavor. Ate it with Trader Joe's Garlic Naan bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Delicious! This was my first try with fava beans. The beans have a smoky flavor that adds depth to the simple recipe. I added garlic to the onion and cooked these longer than suggested; otherwise I stuck to the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      OMG this was really really yummy! I love it and so did my husband. I had to stop myself eating the whole lot before he got home. We just had it with a bit of toast although it was good enough to just eat like that. I added 4 small garlic cloves and sauteed them together with 1tbsp olive oil and then added fava beans I soaked overnight, peeled and boiled. It made me feel like I was eating mashed potatoes but so much yummier. This would make an awesome side dish. Update: it also tastes good with other beans such as chickpeas in a pinch

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Wonderfu!! I saw the Egypt episode of Anthony Bourdaine's "No Reservations" and it showed him having this dish for breakfast. It looked like a perfect, delicious breakfast to me... and it is!!! I used half of the salt, a can of Goya pink beans (I always have those on hand) and an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce (I preferred the consistency with extra sauce). On the show, it showed this dish topped with a coarsely chopped, boiled egg. I did that and I loved it!! I ate it with whole wheat naan bread. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      We've just eaten this for breakfast - and it was a resounding success! Used freshly picked beans and left out the salt. Really delicious! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Very easy to make and nutritious also! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      That's the way I rember having breakfast, when I was little in Alexandria Egypt,where I was born, my mom used to have it ready before going to school..DELICIOUS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      I made this for dinner with your arabian bread recipe and my family enjoyed it. I'ts very tasty and filling...hmmm...delicious! Thank you kindly for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      excellent recipe. due to allergies we used white kidney beans instad of the fava beans. worked well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      I made this for breakfast this morning. Wonderful blend of flavours. So easy and quick to prepare. I served it on toasted homemade white bread because I didn't have any pita. Absolutely fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      Fabulous. I lived in Egypt for a while when I was a translator in the army and it's so hard to find good authentic mid-eastern recipes. Thank you and keep it up. I eat mine on toasted french loaf slices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fooll Mudammes (Fava Bean Egyptian Breakfast)(فول مدمس)

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.3
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    43%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 378.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes