Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Foil Baked Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Foil Baked Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2011

      This tasted good but the cooking method did not work for me. I had small asparagus so I tested it at 20 minutes and it wasn't done. I then tested it at 30 minutes and they were still very crunchy. I then test again at 45 minutes and they still were not done. I ended up putting them in a steamer bag and finishing them in the microwave so we could have them with dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This was good...but the cooking time caused the dish to be not great, in my opinion. I cooked it for 30, the middle ground for the recipe, and the asparagus were pure sog. I will try this recipe again, add garlic and crushed red peppers, and cut the cooking time down to 15-20 minutes. This would be the preferred cooking time if you want any kind of firmness to your asparagus. While mine tasted good...they were pure mush. Will try this again, altering the cooking time, and re-post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Oh my, what screams Spring more than fresh asparagus. I made this to go with our Easter brunch and it was so simple and easy. I made as directed and then just popped it in the oven at the same time my rolls were baking and they were done and ready to go when dinner was on the table. Great flavor, but be sure and follow the timing as I went a little to long and they were a little over cooked - but that was my fault and the taste was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This is a great method. I kicked it up a notch and added minced garlic, greek seasoning and alittle Johnny's seasoning salt. Baked for 15 minutes at 200 than turned the oven up to 375 and baked 5 minutes more. I had some small shalks of Asparagus is why it didnt really take that long for it to bake. Turned out wonderful, will use this method more often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Loved this method for roasting asparagus...will use this often. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      We really enjoyed this, especially the easy prep & clean up. I used frozen asparagus spears, and baked them for 30 min. I might try 35-40 min. next time. Also, I might use olive oil instead of butter & see how that goes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Great way to make asparagus. I used butter and some garlic salt and laid the foil packet on the bottom of my oven floor and they got a little crispy, but then again I like my food a little crispy. Thanks for the easy and good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Baking Asparagus is the only way to go! I cut the butter back to 1 tbsp and only baked them for 20 minutes. I like them still crisp.Thanks Miss Dipsy for a reminder of how much I enjoy baked asparagus and done your way is perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      An excellent recipe that worked well on our BBQ tonight. Like Kooka I added a few different ingredients. Thanks for a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I prefer asparagus on the grill this way. In fact, even if I am not grilling meat I still turn on the bbq and cook the asparagus this way. It brings out the flavor so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      This was tasty. I added some fresh ground garlic, and some grated parmesan. It was a bit mushy for my taste, but DH loved it. I will definitely make it again, but with thicker asparagus that I used this time. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      OK, I went a bit wild with the improvisation thing on this recipe but I'm giving it 5 stars for starting me off with a great idea. I took a large sheet of silicone paper and laid it over a large sheet of foil. In the centre, I added 8 fat spears of asparagus. Then, over the asparagus, I arranged 25g sliced butter, 25g grated parmesan, the juice and finely grated rind of half a small lemon, a sprinkle of dried tarragon and freshly ground black pepper, 1 teaspoon minced garlic, 2 finely sliced green onions, and 8 cherry tomatoes, halved. Then I drizzled 1/3 cup of thick cream over the top. I wrapped the lot up in the silicone paper/foil package and placed it in the oven, preheated to 200C (fan forced) and cooked it for 20 minutes. When it was cooked, I lifted off the asparagus spears with a pair of tongs onto two plates, arranged the tomatoes over the top and poured the liquid into a jug and then over the asparagus. It made a delicious light supper for two and would be a wonderful entree. Some time I'll try doing the same thing on the barbecue (grill).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      You can also use this method on the grill. I always do extra for lunch the next day. Mine were thin so it only took about 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Outstanding. I used, by my standards, rather large asparagus, about 1" (2.5cm) diameter at the base. It took the recommended 25 minutes and produced a bright green al dente spear. I lined the aluminum foil with parchment paper before wrapping the asparagus; just prefer to keep food out of direct contact with the aluminum. Delicious and gorgeous method, Miss Dipsy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      Aa usual I overdid things. Put too much asparagus in the wrap and then overcooked it. Nevertheless it was quite good. But when I looked at what I had intended for salad tomorrow I realized it would not do for salad. No problem: the weather person had just dropped our temperature by quite a lot: windy, rainy and much cooler. Great! Perfect soup weather and I love soup. So tomorrow's dish will be asparagus soup! And it will be grand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Foil Baked Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.8
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    85%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 115.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes