8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this focaccia bread a few times now, first as written, then modifying it each time. Instead of putting the toppings on the top of the bread, I work them into the bread now. I've made it with sundried tomatoes and asiago cheese, herbs and cheddar cheese... the possibilities are endless. Thank you for posting this recipe - it's definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissChief June 12, 2010

We enjoyed this recipe-allot! In fact I'm back today making your Focaccia Recipe. I used 3 cups flour, topped with olive oil, crushed garlic, Italian herbs and grated Asiago Cheese. I served with basil pesto, garlic and olive oil, as well as some Aged Balsamic Vinegar. Great dipping bread, cant wait to make some tomato and basil sandwiches with it too! Thanks for posting! Di;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 25, 2009

Like the reviewer under me said this was quiet tasty but just a bit too doughy for my taste. Maybe a bit less flour or prehaps a longer baking time is needed? But the topping for it was delish! I dident have any fresh rosemary on hand so I subbed some fresh thyme and provolone cheese. Very nice just a bit less flour. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StickyBunz November 08, 2008

I give this recipe 4 stars because while it was tasty, it was a little too doughy. It just wasn't the right Foccacia texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robynvs June 02, 2008

This recipe was FABULOUS. An absolute hit with everyone I'd made it for - I changed it up quite a bit, but the basic foccacia recipe is what got me started and it was wonderful - I actually made 2 recipes at the same time, just to ensure that hopefully ONE turned out ok, and this beat the other one hands down - and the other one was a Jamie Oliver recipe! If you're looking for a foccacia recipe then USE THIS ONE. it turns out lovely. Oh and I didn't have a mixer to knead the dough or anything so I just did it by hand for at least ten minutes. :Thankyou for sharing this recipe with us!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dea A May 13, 2008

First time making Foccacia! Easier than I thought! THX for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks March 10, 2008

i had been surfing the net looking for a foccacia bread recipe, when i saw this here in recipezaar, i was not hesitant to try it and the result is fabulous, the dough of the bread is so soft inside and crunchy outside. specially when i added fresh basil on the toppings the house smells so great with it. My family and i was so addicted that i bake this often. the rate of this recipe is more than 5 stars. thanks spatchcock for sharing this recipe here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef jo ann January 29, 2007

T his was great! I brushed it with a garlic flavored olive oil, then topped it with about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese and about 1 teaspoon each oregano and marjoram. At the end of the baking time, I sprinkled on some grated mozerella cheese, turned off the oven, and left the bread in until ready to serve. I served it with Dave's Roasted Eggplant Soup. There were 4 of us and we ate the whole thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews February 03, 2005
Focaccia Bread