83 Reviews

This was perfect. I was looking for fluffy frosting to make a coconut cake like my mom used to make. I was a little afraid since I have never made a fluffy frosting from scratch but this turned out with no problems. I did take suggestions and beat the egg whites for a few seconds before adding syrup. Will definitely be a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rottnx3 May 06, 2012

I have been looking for a frosting recipe that was different from the typical buttercreme type. I liked this one quite a bit. Just make sure you use white granulated sugar. I used organic, unbleached white sugar and it tasted too much like molasses. I used my KitchenAid mixer on the 8 speed to beat the frosting, and it didn't take terribly long. Mine took longer than the 7 minutes because I made a double batch. Also tinted it while beating it and it worked out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara M. March 08, 2012

I gave this 5 stars for a wonderful not-too-sweet marshmallow taste and a silky smooth texture similar to that of lightly warmed marshmallow fluff. I do agree with catatins, however, and believe the sugar syrup mixture should be cooled a bit and the egg whites pre-whipped, as it took me a good 30 minutes to get the frosting thick enough to frost a cake, and is actually still a bit too "slippery." I will definitely make this recipe again with the slight modification again. Even without this modification, it is still pretty awesome. I like the suggestion of a previous reviewer also...use it as fruit dip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckarbousky May 14, 2011

This frosting is AMAZING!!! I was looking for a simple recipe that didn't take tons and tons of sugar. Not only does it make a ton of frosting (only used 1/2 of it) but it taste great. I am not a huge frosting fan as most of the time they are way too sweet and over power the cake. This frosting adds to the flavor of the cake and my whole family loved it. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterMama April 23, 2011

I loved this frosting! It was really easy to make and tastes so light even though it's sweet. I used some coconut extract instead of vanilla extract because I was using this recipe to top my white cupcakes with a sprinkle of macadamia nuts on top. It was fantastic. This frosting holds up really well too! I am about to make this recipe again to top a tres leches cake for a friend :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the_cookie_lady April 03, 2011

Fantastic frosting! Like others, I beat the egg whites a little before I added the syrup. I also used my kitchen aid stand mixer which I think beats the frosting better than any hand mixer could which makes it set up really well. If you leave it uncovered, the frosting will get kind of gross, so make sure you cover it! It has been 6 days since I made the frosting and the leftovers are still good in the fridge. Fantastic frosting to dip strawberries in!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendylynn50 March 14, 2011

This makes A LOT of frosting! I frosted 22 cupcakes, and only used about half of the frosting! The other half is currently in the freezer, testing how well this stuff freezes. I beat the egg whites for about a minute before adding in the syrup, based on other reviews, then I think I ended up mixing for closer to ten mins of more with my hand mixer. I also used about a teaspoon each of vanilla and almond, plus a couple drops of red food coloring to make pink frosting. The frosting was delicious, but unfortunately, the cupcakes (cherry chip) completely overpowered the taste of the frosting. Fiance said that it was good, but not what he was expecting. He was probably expecting a more firm and super sweet frosting. I will probably try this again, but with a milder cake. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 February 20, 2011

Very good and it turn out perfect. I slowly poured syrup into egg whites using my kitchen-aid, set my timer for 7 minutes and finished watching the news, when I came back I had a bowl full of beautiful white frosting. It taste just like marshmallow cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 February 02, 2011

Yum! I used this frosting to top this cake (http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/lemonade-party-cake/885e15c0-231d-41aa-8b3f-d30a3112c400), it was so good! It didn't overpower the cake, it just added a delicious fluffy sweetness on top. The best part was, it was a snap to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racheldwarrick_11791360 June 10, 2010

WOW!! My family, even my picky eater daughter LOVED this recipe. I used my kitchen aid mixer. I started out a little slow but within 2 minutes I had it going on high. I set a timer for 7 minutes. After about 4 minutes it looked firm enough to frost a cake with but I decided to go the full 7. It was WELL worth it. It turned out very fluffy and thick! Make sure you go the full 7, it makes it so easy to spread and it's fluffy and pretty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex May 08, 2010
Fluffy White Frosting