Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fluffy White Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fluffy White Frosting

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2012

      PERFECTION! I got a hankering for some fluffy frosting like my grandma used to make but had no idea how to make it. I took a chance and tried this recipe - PERFECT!

      For those who have had a hard time getting the frosting to "fluff" properly, try these tips:
      Separate your eggs and allow the whites to come to room temperature before beating.

      Boil your sugar-water combination before you begin beating the whites.

      Use a stand mixer if possible, but if not, be prepared to continue beating the whites while you pour in the sugar syrup.

      You may want to transfer the syrup to a glass measuring cup to make it easier to pour it into the egg whites.

      Begin beating your egg whites and after about one minute, slowly --ever-so-slowly-- begin trickling the syrup into the whites (while continuing to beat them.)

      If you pour the syrup in too quickly, the whites will not be able to incorporate the syrup into the "fluff" properly and you will end up with soup.

      The one change I will make next time is to try almond extract instead of vanilla when frosting a white cake. I'll bet that would be a yummy combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I love marshmallow creme and was really looking forward to this frosting. However, even after whipping/beating it for almost 30 minutes, it never set up properly. I finally just gave up, iced the cake and then put it in the fridge. However, even though it didn't set up properly, it had a wonderful, marshmallow-y taste and had a beautiful white sheen. All in all, I think next time I woud beat egg whites first while letting the sugar mixture cool off and then beat them together. I'm wondering if the sugar mixture was too hot to set with the egg whites?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This was a really good 7 minute frosting.I wanted one made out of sugar instead of confectioners and this was it. I too used the recommendation of whipping up the egg whites first and it came out great. I forgot the vanilla at first but that was easy to fix. Tasted good but the texture was really creamy and I couldn't pipe it. Just smoothed it on a cake and formed little peaks. Gonna make again for angel food cake next weekend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Great frosting!! I followed the recomendations to whip the eggs first and it came out great! I do think the syrup should boil for a few minutes until more water is evaporated as my frosting was a bit runny when ready. It still held up and dried nicely. I colored it orange and added a couple drops of orange extract and spread over chocolate cake! YUMMY!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      This is by far the easiest and fastest 7 minute frosting I ever made. The only thing I changed was I used Almond flavoring and tinted it. Perfect!! Myrna 2

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      I made this fluffy frosting last night & it came out great! After I slowly boiled the sugar syrup, I set it aside to cool slightly. Then I whipped the egg whites until stiff & very slowly dripped the sugar mixture in. This part takes a while, but keeps the texture stiff. Definitely a keeper, and easy too. It helps if you have a kitchenaid type mixer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      Excellent icing! I used it for Cindy's Chocolate cake. It went very well together. Followed the recipe to the T. Will be posting a picture of the cake with icing soon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2014

    • on April 20, 2014

      Quick, easy and perfect! I added a few drops of almond flavoring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      This is the BEST frosting. Nice and firm. I don't get the reviews that say it's not firm enough. They are probably not following instructions. I found you must drizzle the sugar mixture SLOWLY down the side of the bowl of your stand mixer while it's beating the whites. And after about seven minutes, it gets firm and shiny. You have to use a stand mixer. I don't know how you could make this otherwise. Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      WONDERFUL I finally found the right recipe. It had the perfect marshmallow taste, and it keeps well. All the other recipes I tried, tasted great but soon afterward, started to weep. This one did not. This is the only one I will use from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Love this marshmallow-y goodness! Used it on an 8x8 Wacky Cake # 7058 and it was a hit. Had extra frosting, but we didn't let any go to waste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      This went together fast and easy, even with the cooking part. I did start beating the eggs a bit before I added the syrup, and it thickened up a lot, but never got super stiff. I piped it onto cupcakes to resemble soft serve ice cream, and it stayed (tentatively), but I was worried about it, and I don't know that I would pipe it again. It was also SUPER sticky. Very good (in smaller quantities), though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This recipe is similar to a recipe my grandmother and mother used. I have made it with adding marshmallows and without. Here is what I do. I put the water, sugar, and cream of tarter in a small saucepan and stir on medium heat until sugar is dissolved. I insert a candy thermometer and leave it alone until it reaches the soft ball stage. About 10 degrees away from the soft ball stage, I beat the egg whites until they form peaks. When the mixture is a the soft ball stage, I throw in 8 quatered marshmallows and remove it from the heat. With the mixer going at med to low, i slowly pour the hot mixture into the egg whites. Then I add the vanilla. It only needs to beat about 2 more minutes. The icing should form peaks. Stop beating so the icing doesn't get too stiff. I ice my white cake with the warm icing and add coconut. The marshmallows give it a good flavor and you have plenty of icing. I have made it without the marshmallows when I did not have them. The difference is that I have to beat icing longer once I pour the hot mixture into it for about 5 minutes or more to get standing peaks. The addition of marshmallows adds taste and doesn't require the additional beating. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      This recipe has the exact taste I was looking for. My grandmother used to make a cake with white fluffy icing and I never knew where she got it from or how she made it and this tastes exactly like it. I allowed the egg whites to come to room temp before mixing with the syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      I Love the SUPER SHINY Finish that this Marshmallowy Yummy Goodness adds to my Tasty Treats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      This was perfect. I was looking for fluffy frosting to make a coconut cake like my mom used to make. I was a little afraid since I have never made a fluffy frosting from scratch but this turned out with no problems. I did take suggestions and beat the egg whites for a few seconds before adding syrup. Will definitely be a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I have been looking for a frosting recipe that was different from the typical buttercreme type. I liked this one quite a bit. Just make sure you use white granulated sugar. I used organic, unbleached white sugar and it tasted too much like molasses. I used my KitchenAid mixer on the 8 speed to beat the frosting, and it didn't take terribly long. Mine took longer than the 7 minutes because I made a double batch. Also tinted it while beating it and it worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      I gave this 5 stars for a wonderful not-too-sweet marshmallow taste and a silky smooth texture similar to that of lightly warmed marshmallow fluff. I do agree with catatins, however, and believe the sugar syrup mixture should be cooled a bit and the egg whites pre-whipped, as it took me a good 30 minutes to get the frosting thick enough to frost a cake, and is actually still a bit too "slippery." I will definitely make this recipe again with the slight modification again. Even without this modification, it is still pretty awesome. I like the suggestion of a previous reviewer also...use it as fruit dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      This frosting is AMAZING!!! I was looking for a simple recipe that didn't take tons and tons of sugar. Not only does it make a ton of frosting (only used 1/2 of it) but it taste great. I am not a huge frosting fan as most of the time they are way too sweet and over power the cake. This frosting adds to the flavor of the cake and my whole family loved it. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fluffy White Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 822.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    20%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 269.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 201.4 g
    67%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 200.6 g
    802%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes