11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Can't even remember how long ago I'd saved this recipe to make, forgot about it and found it today and decided to make it for breakfast. Was DH happy I did!! It's so light and fluffy and really looked pretty. I used onions, bacon, fresh tomatoes, spinach and swiss cheese that I sauted in the bacon grease. Then followed the very clear directions, YUM!! It diffently is not the same texture as most frittatas but a lovely change that we very much enjoyed, and a plus is it's fast and easy to put together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 March 10, 2011

I made this tonight as directed, it was more like a baked omlette, it was VERY fluffy, perhaps like a souffle frittata. I was really wanting a frittata, it was lovely - just not what I was wanting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom February 28, 2009

This recipe is just fabulous! I made it as written but in future I'll adjust the veggies to suit my family's taste. It's a wonderful base frittata recipe. Made for ZWT Frittata Challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 02, 2008

This is very nice and cooked up just right. I divided it into quarters and topped it as each family member wanted. I think next time, my preference would be to whip just half the egg whites to give some volume and lightness, but reduce the egg white taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. May 26, 2008

This made a nice change from our usual frittata. I used chopped bacon, spring onions, edam cheese and cherry tomatoes. I will make again. A 'keeper' for me :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T July 18, 2007

I am such a novice cook...and I had no trouble with this recipe at all. It was great with spinach, feta and tomatoes. Also added fresh basil and garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef kittiekitsch January 22, 2007

This was great, very light and fluffy. I had it with leeks and baby pear tomatoes. I love frittatas such a great meal. I think zuchinni would be great in this too! Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria July 10, 2006

A delightfully different frittata and it scaled nicely for DH and me. I used a combination of red onions and scallions. The cheese was crumbled feta and after baking, I garnished with freshly snipped chives.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 02, 2006

11/15/04 review: In a effort to lighten this a bit further, I used spray to sautee the vegetables and just three yolks. Also used half mushrooms and half onions with reduced fat cheddar cheese. The results were wonderful. I don't think I'll ever make a frittata without whipping the whites separately ever again. I could also see using a wide array of vegetables including zucchini and spinach. Update: Just made this again with leeks and a combination of part skim mozzarella and reduced fat feta cheese. Couldn't imagine this being better than the last time but it was. Thanks again PanNan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni September 04, 2005

This is a nice frittata. I halved it because my pan was pretty small. Actually, not having a skillet that will go in the oven, I used a sauce pan. My only problem was that it sunk in the middle but I think that was operator error! We did find that the amount of onions was a bit too much for our taste, and I think the cheese was a little more then we like as well. (I used a lovely low fat cheddar.) That said, it was light and fluffy and a nice dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit December 26, 2004
Fluffy Golden Frittata