12 Reviews

I gave this recipe 3 stars. I'm not rating this for myself as I haven't tried this recipe but my niece made a recpe very close to this in her cooking class. She didn't like it much. I plan to try the recipe and see why. The measurements she got is slightly different. It calls for just the 1/4 cup all-purpose flour, 1 c milk, 1 pinch salt, 3 eggs, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tbl white sugar, 12 slices thick bread and 1 c 10x confectionary sugar-for dusting. The directions are exactly the same for sprinkling toast with 10x confectionary sugar or maple syrup. Thanks for posting hope to try this again! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut November 22, 2009

Ooolala! This recipe made very good French toast; I made a very small batch and ate it with sliced strawberries and sugar. My only beef is the amount of cinnamon; I personally think a whole teaspoon is a little bit much. Other than that, wonderful! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cannonmonkey July 12, 2008

This resembles what we call "Fresno French Toast" and we've enjoyed that for years. Flour, cinnamon, and vanilla in the batter takes the old standby off the beaten path. Delicious and easy enough to do all the time. Two small cautions: Be sure to follow step 1 or the flour will clump, and don't get the grill too hot or the toast will get too dark before cooking through. Made for PAC, April 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn April 05, 2008

Made for Beverage Tag January, 2008. I had never heard of putting flour in french toast batter before, but this recipe makes wonderful french toast. It is very light and fluffy. Thanks for another great recipe, Chef~V.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 09, 2008

These were fantastic! I liked them because they weren't eggy tasting which I've found I don't like. Instead I had a nice light, flavorful french toast that was really delightful. Thanks for sharing a recipe I know I'll use more often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RHIANNA T. September 09, 2007

We enjoyed this for breakfast this morning. I halved the recipe but used 3 eggs and the kids decided on sprinkling a bit more cinnamon sugar over theirs once cooked. I'm not usually a fan of sweet french toast but really enjoyed these. Reviewed for ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie June 15, 2007

I made these for my stepson because he had never had French toast! He went nuts and wants them for breakfast every weekend. He wants me to tell you he loves you. Gotta warn you though, he's jail bait.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber June 11, 2007

I just made this for breakfast & I wish there was more! Next time I'll add a bit more vanilla - a touch just isn't enough for me. I cooked a sliced buerre bosc pear in a little butter, honey and brown sugar while the toast cooked and they went together beautifully. thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westivan June 05, 2007

This was really yummy. Cinnamony with just a hint of vanilla. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle May 03, 2007

One thing nice about a loaf of unsliced breat ~ You can slice it as thick as you like, & that's what I did in this recipe! The recipe came together very nicely, & when I served it with my own apple cider syrup, OUTSTANDING! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 14, 2007
Fluffy French Toast