10 Reviews

Perfect fluffy dumplings. I suspect the person who had problems was using old baking powder. Look at the expiration date. If it is getting close to the expiration, dispose of and get new. Sifting the dry ingredients also helps make sure they are light. The baking powder needs to be mixed in well with flour which needs to be light and not packed at all. The biggest problem I see in baking with baking powder is old powder or powder that has been left exposed. The older it gets, the less it works.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neil.dominy January 19, 2014

These were light and fluffy. My wife also loved them. I have no idea why anyone buys Bisquick. They mix up in just minutes and you can control the amount of salt. As stated, you can also add shredded cheese, chili powder, parsley, or ??? I don't think I have every run into anyone who DID NOT like dumplings. Jim in So Calif.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim April 04, 2009

This is THE dumpling 'recipe' Mom always made! She didn't use a precise, measured recipe, per se, and just mixed them up by 'sight' and 'feel', but these taste like and have the same texture as Mom's! Even when Mom would tell me how to make dumplings, I just could not get it right. Her 'handful' of flour, etc. was always different than mine. Mine would turn out rather flat and tasteless, not light and 'spongy-textured' like these. Sadly, Mom passed away 3 years ago and I thought her dumplings went with her. 'Thank you' and '5 Stars' is not enough here...so 'Thanks a million' and 'umpteen stars' for helping me re-create my own wonderful memories for my grandson! He loves these, too! By the way, I boiled an entire, cut-up chicken with celery, onion, carrot and a few seasonings, then picked the bones clean and added the meat back to the broth. I stirred-up these wonderful dumplings and plopped them atop the bubbling stewed chicken and put a tight-fitting lid on for 15 minutes. I told my family that the person taking the lid off before that time would be sitting in a room eating bread and crackers for supper, so no one dared to touch that lid!! Boy, were they glad they didn't! We ALL loved this! Made it last week and we're having it, again, tonight, by request!!! Thanks so much!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ziggy54 February 02, 2009

Very fluffy! Nice quick and easy recipe. I never seem to have Bisquick on hand when I need it. The ingredients here are always available and I like the texture better. This is a great way to add a appeal to a reheated leftover soup. Thanks Dancer^!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grease December 17, 2006

My family absolutely loved these dumplings! They were amazing, quick, and easy. Thanks so much

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacnvegas July 10, 2012

In the words of my 4 year old. "these dumplings were amazing" . They were very simple to make. My idea of making dumplings before would be go give my mom a call and get her to do it. This recipe was great and taste just like the ones mom make. the kids devoured them. My 7 year old proclaimed that they were the best chicken and dumplings he ever had(even bettre than Grandma's) Thanks for the great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Fair January 06, 2010

Perfect. I also agree with neil.dominy. If your recipe isn't rising, chances are your baking powder is old or not sealed properly. I started making my own (2 tsp. Cream of Tartar+ 1 tsp. Baking Soda-don't made ahead of time) and I will NEVER go back. Makes a world of difference even when using the freshest baking powder. As for these dumplings... they are perfect as is... and the recipe makes the perfect amount. I added parsley to mine. Entire family loved them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vsdutcher October 18, 2015

Who knew adding an egg could make dumplings so great!? I followed the recipe as written & they came out great. Now I have a basic recipe I can work with, whereas for the past 20 years I've just been trying to make a dumpling that even resembled my Moms. These were definitely a great start!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zuponi August 24, 2015

Very nice dumplings. Followed recipe as directed but added about half a cup of grated cheese for flavour. We've always made them with butter in the past but these were great and we'll make them again for sure :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy K. April 11, 2016

Disappointed. No fluff. No rise....used cake flour and parsley but this should have had no adverse effect. Wasted time and ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottsimmons February 10, 2013
Fluffy Dumplings