Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flubber Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flubber

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2009

      This stuff is fun, but borax is toxic (as little as a spoonful can be lethal to a small child or pet) so please be careful using this with children!!!!! See the MSDS on boric acid (which borax converts to in the body) here: http://www.jtbaker.com/msds/englishhtml/b3696.htm. 20 Mule Team's MSDS is here (PDF form): http://www2.prosarcorp.com/msds_frame.asp?site_id=196&msds_id=685&lang=en where they say you should use gloves when handling it, don't use it on skin that is not intact (the effect of using it on broken skin is similar to eating it) and warn of effects on unborn children and male reproductive organs if it's accidentally ingested, plus lots more health warnings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      This stuff is great and awesome for 2 . So much fun!

      @poette-This makes over 2lbs of Flubber, a child would literally have to eat the entire 2lbs to get even get close to the toxic level It's probably way safer then the levels of toxins they 'allow' in most plastic children's toys and clothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Thanks so much. Both of my kids loved it (10 & 3) We used neon food coloring and made one batch bright green and one turquoise. So cute. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This is so much fun. DH had as much fun as the kids! Thanks for such a neat idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I used to make this when my triplet daughters were young. They had a blast with it! I think they'd still play with it if I made it now (they're 17!). It is also a great demonstration of a physical reaction when you combine the 2 mixtures. It's educational too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      There is a version of this that uses laundry starch instead of borax. Don't even bother to attempt that version, its a huge mess...on the other hand, this version with borax is far far superior and creates a more solid polymer. We mixed the water with the food coloring and then mixed in the glue. In the group that we invited to join us, there were a few kids with sensory sensitivities, so we put each mini "batch" into a zipper bag and the kids had at it. It came together almost instantly. Interestingly, once the mixture came together all the kids wanted to have their fingers in the stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      It was easy to make and didn't make a mess. My kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      My kids LOVE Flubber!!! This year I was asked to bring a craft for my son's 2nd grade class for their Halloween party. They LOVED this stuff!!! I use this recipe, but with one change. For Mixture #2, I use 1 1/3 cups warm water and 4 tsp Borax (instead of only 2 tsp Borax.) THEN, I simply pour Mixture #1 (glue mixture) into the bowl containing the Borax water (mixture #2). Instantly the Flubber is formed. Simply lift the Flubber out of the bowl. NO KNEADING OR MIXING NECESSARY. Also, the recipe can easily and successfully be halved, but one only needs to halve Mixture #1 (the glue mixture.) No need to halve Mixture #2. It works beautifully!!! ~Jeff's Girl Way Out West

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      This turned out perfect!! I have my green flubber in a zip lock bag and it one week later and it still looks good. I got the glue at walmart for $0.20 a bottle, I bought 9 bottles and the mule team borax its a huge box and it was only $2.47-i had the food coloring. I raced home to become a evil scientist...lol mixing my concoction in my kitchen, I mean lab took all but 5 min and viola slime its great...i am well past my twenties but I remember when my son was small we would by this stuff at toy's r us and now I can make it. My son is now grown with his own place now and when he stopped over the other day I said lqqk what I made he busted out laughing he said oh I remember that stuff...so we made another batch this time red..we had alot of fun even though were both adults..brought back the kid in both of us..thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Success! It was an easy recipe and instructions to follow. Although, while making it, I thought I had messed up....it slowly started to come together and absorb all the liquid. My 9 yo daughter is one happy camper playing with her flubber! I plan on sharing this with my friends who have kids. Also - VERY cheap to make right now (in August) with all the school supply sales on glue....stock up moms!!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Kid-Friendly Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flubber

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes