30 Reviews

I made these cookies (as written) and everyone at work loved them. They were referred to as the "best cookies ever" and everyone wanted the recipe. I suspect that the people who downrated this recipe had problems simply because of the splenda, not because of the recipe. The recipe is GREAT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Filititi December 05, 2003

I made the recipe exactly as described only I substitued Splenda for the sugar. The cookies looked great when finished but I wasn't happy when I tasted them. They were definitely dry, like a tea cookie. And it wasn't because I baked them too long, if anything I under-cooked them. Also, I am extra sensitive to artificial sweetener taste and I could definitely taste the Splenda. These must be better with real sugar. However, the recipe is extremely easy and takes only minutes so give it a try and see if you can do better than me. The recipe made exactly 12 cookies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jimmy October 20, 2003

I'm on Atkin's and couldn't wait to try these! (no flour allowed on Atkins!) I subbed "Splenda" for the sugar. They tasted great! One problem was they were a little dry. Could be the Splenda or I cooked them a little to long. (With Splenda you have to shorten the cooking time. My son liked them also!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Verelucky October 13, 2003

Thanksgiving is always a challenge as a diabetic. Thanks for giving me a sweet treat that tastes great. I will be making these cookies often. I would not qualify this as a complaint only as an informational statement however this recipe barely yield a dozen cookies. It would be impossible to get 72 cookies out of this quantity.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolynB November 24, 2007

Yum Yum Yummy cookies. The kids and my husband loved them. Fast and easy to make. We added chocolate chips to the second batch we made they were great also. GREAT cookies!! THANKS

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
notyep February 01, 2004

these are so good. I ommitted the baking powder and substituted splenda for sugar. I also took them out at 9 minutes. Definitely a keeper. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolyn lynch January 20, 2004

I got a very similar recipe from a lady at our church.. only we found that the baking soda isn't really necessary. (I've made these cookies dozens.. ha.. dozens... of times without it and they're FABULOUS!) They always get rave reviews, especially if you can make them on the soft side. One word.. got milk? Mmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlliRae December 06, 2003

Wow, I would have never thought these cookies would have tasted so good with out the FLOUR!!! Loved them & very easy to make !!Thanks for a great low-carb dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzi777 October 11, 2003

They were very crumbly, but they were quite tasty, and the fact that they are gluten free and sugar free made them even better. I'm hypoglygemic and carb sensitive. After baking I pressed three chocolate chips into the top of each one while they were still warm. I love chocolate, but I don't tolerate it well, and that gave them a little chocolate kick without affecting me. Although they are crumbly, they stayed in one piece. I plan to use the fact that they are crumbly by using them on top of sugar free ice cream, in chocolate pudding parfaits with sugar free choc pudding, whipped cream, and cookie crumbles, on top of yogurt, etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondem777 March 14, 2011

I actually tried this recipe without adding any sugar - that's right, I used just 1 egg and 1 cup peanut butter. And it turned out OK, just very crumbly and fell apart quite easily. I will definitely try it with splenda or brown sugar next time which I think will give it a better, firmer texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Happy June 08, 2010
Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies