200 Reviews

alright. nj "newbie" here. known for my devotion for peanut butter, could not keep this recipe in my cookbook for too long without giving it a try. first - that silly cross pattern with the fork tip: continually rinse off your fork with warm water ever 2 cookies or so, or it will stick and lose that wonderful pattern in a mush of pulled up dough second - i made my cookies enormous (i only rolled 18). tip: trust me, the WILL expand. they don't look like it, but they do. make real spoonfuls, not shovelfuls. third - if you are crazy and want enormous cookies, reduce the oven to 300. tip: plan an activity to do, these will take longer to cook. the smell of peanut butter will taunt you. if you don't keep yourself busy you will be glaring at the oven for 15+ minutes trying to cook them faster with your soul, and it didn't work for me. fourth - good news! tip: the cookies will harden when out of the oven, so you can be slightly impatient and take them out a little early to maintain a soft chewy cookie! yay! (maybe the soul glare worked?) fifth - additions i agree with other reviews, these cookies would rock even more with other goodies in them like peanut butter chips or oatmeal - i'm going to try that next!

65 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brave Noodle (njg) April 03, 2002

these are yummy! crispy light and different. i used chunky reduced fat peanut butter and with the advice of my grandma, added 1/2 cup of oatmeal. i made the cookies much bigger and ended up with a little over 2 dozen.

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
henrysmommy February 24, 2002

These are the easiest cookies I have ever made! I made them for my Mom, and since she is on a restricted sugar diet...I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of a full cup. They came out great!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kibbie February 25, 2002

I just HAD to try these after reading all of the reviews. I will admit, I was a bit skeptical about this recipe, but they were great! Sooo easy, and they have such a nice light texture. I only got about 30 cookies from this recipe. This is a keeper for sure!! Thanks! ~Manda

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda May 14, 2002

OMG--Thanks Bev!----- I had left over almond butter from my xmas baking and was looking for an easy way to use it. This was the ticket. I had to add a couple tablespoons of almond oil to get it to the consistancy of smooth peanut butter ( suppose melted butter might have tasted better). They are FANTASTIC. I put a whole almond in the center of some of the cookies for a really nice treat. There's a monster living under my kitchen cabinets that eats 10-20% of my cookie dough every time I make cookies -- I never get the right quantity!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G June 05, 2002

FORGET ABOUT THE KIDS!!!!! I made these for my son who has a gluten tolerance problem so I used gluten free cornflour to dip my fork into to make a pattern on the cookies. I am ashamed to say that my son only got a couple of these cookies to eat. Great recipe. I have passed this recipe onto the coeliac society of Queensland with your name attached. Thank you. :-)

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo May 19, 2002

Made these cookies in about 20 minutes mixing, baking and cleaning the mess oh what mess! This is a keeper. I dipped my fork in milk and the kids spinkled colored sugar on them Fun for the kids!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kym in Ohio May 28, 2002

So easy and quick. I normally don't make peanut butter cookies that often, but with this recipe now I can.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 March 01, 2002

This is the easiest PB cookie recipe I've come across, and sooo good! I followed advice of other Chef's and added some quick oats to the mixture. I dipped a wet fork in white sugar after each cookie. I love that the ingredients were so basic, had it all in my cupboard...great for a quick fix. Thanks for posting :-)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J e l i s a June 24, 2002

njg: dip the teaspoon in some flour to keep the dough from sticking to it. It works for me anyway. I hope that helps. -ted

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tedski May 16, 2002
Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies