12 Reviews

These are quite possibly the best cookies I've ever eaten. Simply amazing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nurseferatu April 19, 2010

I was in the mood for cookies, but I was out of flour. This recipe really came in handy! The cookies have a rich, fudgy, kind of brownie-like texture and are great. (And I didn't even add the solid chocolate pieces to the dough.) I've got three recommendations for my fellow bakers, though. 1. When you beat the eggs after adding the sugar, keep in mind that "soft marshmallow creme" means that the batter will still be a little bit runny, but it'll be okay. (I kept waiting for it to firm up more.) 2. Do grease your pans as the recipe indicates! I rarely grease cookie pans, and my cookies almost always turn out fine, but as these are a little lower in fat than most cookies, they will stick to the pan if it isn't lightly lubricated. 3. If you plan on making the recipe in batches, be aware that the dough dries out very quickly. I only used one pan for the first batch, so I still had some dough leftover. By the time I got to use the pan again, the dough was starting to dry out. If it dries out too much, I would probably cover the dough with a damp paper towel and stick it in the microwave for a couple of seconds (it seems to work for other foods that have lost some of their moisture). I think this recipe could even be made low-carb without too much fuss. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohevshalomel January 20, 2013

These are the BEST cookies I have EVER made!!! If you love dark chocolate, you have to try these. Promise you won't be disappointed. I've made them 3 times already since finding this recipe just a couple weeks ago. I always roll mine in powdered sugar before baking which I would highly recommend. YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anybobnmb2 December 01, 2014

These cookies were amazing. Instead of buttering the cookie sheet, I used parchment paper, which always works good for meringue cookies and macarons. I also sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top after they finished cooking. I will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda T. October 17, 2013

5 stars isn't even good enough for these cookies -- they are the best I have ever had. I created an account solely so I could review them! I used Ghiradelli 60% cacao chocolate chips. Make these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awicker June 24, 2011

This looks wonderful and I am going to make these tonight BUT they are listed as a Passover cookie. For Passover you must use potato starch, not cornstarch. Corn products are not allowed during Passover.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foxdiachik March 31, 2015

If you are going to make this recipe for Passover, you must substitute potato starch for corn starch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol1950 March 31, 2015

For me these were just a horrible waste of ingredients. Although the recipe says you can use granulated sugar, I don't think that's true. I used it because that it what is typically used in a meringue, not powdered sugar. I think you might be able to get away with granulated sugar for the meringue part, but you need powdered sugar for the other cup. Otherwise, the cookies just turn into a molten mess of chocolatey sugar and they all have to be thrown out. The cookies look great in the picture and I wish I was rich enough to waste that many ingredients in a second attempt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ce.cherry December 23, 2014

These turned out excellent! I chose this recipe to send to my mom who can't tolerate gluten and I know she's going to love them as well as anyone else who's lucky enough to get one. Thanks for posting the keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 15, 2014

The worst cookie I have ever made. And that is saying something as it's the first time I ever met a cookie I didn't like. They stuck to my cookie sheets & would not come off. I had to put the whole sheet, cookies & all in the freezer just to get them to pop off. Then I had to soak the cookie sheets for a while to get the bottoms of the cookies off. I did one thing different - I used fresh duck eggs. This is also the first time I ever threw out cookies for growing moldy because no one ate them. It was a complete waste of good ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyMarine October 20, 2014
Flourless Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies