17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Your are sooooo right about the "easy" part! And tastes just as fabulous, if not better, than more complicated recipes. This always gets raves when I serve it, with a nice blob of whipped cream and a few raspberries on top. As a recent dinner guest said, "Restaurant-worthy!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante December 07, 2012

This was awesome!!! I melted the chocolate in a saucepan with the butter then added it all to the mixing bowl on my Kitchenaid and mixed - made it super simple

MY CHANGES (recipes are always just a guide to me)
1. Chocolate substitute - I used german chocolate (thought it would taste like German Chocolate Cake but the cocoa makes it fudge like not light like GCC, however it was very delicious)
2. Made half the recipe
3. Put into individual ramekins
4. Baked for about 20 minutes

Some of my discoveries:
they will come out very puffy like a souffle then will fall. It is easy to tip over upside down onto a plate once they fall - I just let them cool in the ramekin ate half of one warm - if you served them right away it would be like a molten lava cake - probably not as fudgey if cooked a little longer but I LOVE molten cakes - they freeze really well - just thaw and eat or reheat in the oven for a few minutes

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digboo September 15, 2012

I was having a serious chocolate craving and decided a flourless chocolate cake would be the way to go. I choose this recipe cause the steps were simple (no separating the egg and beating the whites, etc.) I cut this recipe down to about 2 servings and baked it in a 6" tart dish (all lined and greased as directed) It only took 25 minutes to bake and the end result was a small and short cake. I placed it in the fridge after cooling and oh my gosh, it is so chocolaty, dense, rich and chewy. I only ate a small piece and still have leftovers. I can't wait to indulge again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. June 18, 2010

This was so easy and so good! A chocolate fix and then some! I used semi sweet chocolate (what I had) and still used the full amount of sugar and did not think it was too sweet--though this is definitely based on preference. (I also added 1/2 tsp baking powder to try and help a little with a more cake-like texture.) This recipe is definitely a keeper, even if you don't need something that is gluten free! I served it topped with Cool Whip and a sprinkle of mini chocolate chips and I think I would serve it that way again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie February 23, 2014

Lovely quick cake recipe, next time I will add a tiny bit more sugar. great with a dollop of ice cream

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supertellp November 28, 2013

Excellent cake, really chocolatey and so easy to make. I made a slight change....I drizzled a little rum over the cake while it was still warm and decorated it with mixed berries, served with whipped cream. Yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alice's Kitchen February 28, 2013

My daughter's future mother-in-law was coming for dinner and she can not have gluten. I made this cake--wow. I served it plain with washed raspberries and vanilla icecream on the side. Stupendous! I followed the directions and waited for the toothpick to come out with a crumb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. June 13, 2012

I made this over the Christmas holiday especially for my son-in-law. He is gluten intolerant. It was awesome! I substituted 1/2 the bittersweet chocolate with semi-sweet because I wanted it to be a little sweeter. We served it with good vanilla ice cream. My son-in-law was thrilled. He said it tasted like a really expensive ice cream sandwich. Gluten free recipes are hit or miss and this one was a real hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen December 30, 2010

This is more chocolatey than chocolate! serious chocolate rush, goes straight to your head, you really only need a small piece and I reccomend serving it with plenty of cream. I was surprised how cakey it turned out considering there was no flour in there. I filled and covered mine with ganache and made a half recipe which was enough to fill 2 7inch round cake pans. The only think I did differently was add a tsp of baking powder and I was impressed that the cake didn't sink after cooling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robd16 January 17, 2010

This is what I was looking for. Easy to make and it didn't sink after baking, which I liked. Great served cold with raspberry sauce. I'll top it with a ganache next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef February 18, 2009
Flourless Chocolate Cake