17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I gave this recipe 0 stars because I think it is posted incorrectly. When I read this I thought WOW that is alot of chocolate so I printed it, then pulled it up again on the site to make sure I was reading it right. 12 ounces of unsweetened chocolate and 6 T of cocoa. HMMMMM. Well I had my doubts but I proceeded and it turned out like bitter dirt. It was a very expensive mistake. I am pretty sure it is supposed to be 2 ounces of unsweetened chocolate. I may try it again with only 2 and come back with a different review but if you make this as is, it is not good. I threw it directly into the trash. Just wish I could get a refund. 8 eggs and all of that chocolate was not cheap.
OK, I went back and tried this recipe again using only 2 ounces of unsweetened chocolate and I substituted margarine in place of butter just in case it turned out bad again. This time it was very different. It is a very good recipe. I really enjoyed these brownies. well as much as you can enjoy something with no sugar or flour. It is definately a keeper. I HIGHLY recommend using only 2 ounces of the unsweetened chocolate though. Someone really should correct the amount of chocolate. It is very expensive to make and throw away as it it listed.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cj2 Johnson March 02, 2011

I followed this recipe to a "T" and they turned out nothing like the photo. :/ They were flat and greasy. They tasted okay, but I'm wondering if perhaps the next time I make them I should add some baking powder. They just didn't rise at all. Once I remake them, I will rereview them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsR.Ward January 17, 2013

Tasted & felt like dirt. One nibble & the whole batch went into the trash.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh December 27, 2010

I'm so sorry to give this a bad review. I was very hopeful for this recipe as my daughter is on a sugar & dairy free diet. The only thing I did different was use margarine instead of butter. I also cut the recipe in half & only cooked for 30 minutes in an 8 X 8. They came out very dry & broke in pieces when I tried to cut them. The flavour is good, perhaps I can crumble them over yogurt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie in calgary January 17, 2009

I made this today and overall, I thought it turned out pretty good! It was slightly bitter tasting...and I'm not a good enough baker to know what could be added to it to offset that??? I will research that and remake it another day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christilovett October 11, 2013

I followed this recipe exactly how it said. The same size baking pan and the exact time. It came out really really nasty. It was the worst dessert I have ever made. It did indeed feel and taste like dirt in your mouth. It didn't however look that bad BUT it didn't at all look like the picture by any means. SAVE YOURSELF THE TIME AND MONEY AND DO NOT MAKE THIS.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer.rodda September 11, 2013

I haven't had sugar, bread, pasta, etc. for over a month..so these hit the spot! Amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except for the cook time. Mine were perfect right around 30 minutes. They came out looking just like real brownies! Amazing recipe (:

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahcwomack November 04, 2012

Amazing recipe. Can't believe there is such a thing as an almost no carb brownie! Yum. Made it and am now eating it. Chocolatey and dense yet melts in your mouth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jezzikah October 11, 2012

I followed the ingredients exactly, however I only cooked them for about 30 mins instead of 50. They turned out really well- not eggy or cakey like other sugar free brownies. Very rich & moist. DH thought they needed more sweetener... 2nd batch had peanut butter swirled into it & that was just enough for him to ask for seconds =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princessmitzoue February 08, 2009

This is great. I made it for someone on Atkins. The whole pan was gone shortly after it was baked. It had a slight eggy taste but I don't know if using less eggs would work. I haven't tried it yet. This would work really well for Passover.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarefootandpregnantintheKitchen January 26, 2009
Flourless Brownies (Sugar-Free, Low Carb)