47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

these were quick and easy to make (at one tenth of the imported tortillas cost) made them twice in the last week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kangningchang April 18, 2009

Made it with coconut oil. Very easy and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BajOne April 18, 2014

My family loves tortillas and this recipe was great. I tweaked it a bit. Another reviewer left a comment about wheat flour, but I really enjoy the heartiness. I make these with half wheat and half white flour. With the wheat flour, I find I need to increase salt to 2 or 2.5 teaspoons of salt. I also omit the baking soda (I love them flat). Wheat tend to need a bit more water, but it wasn't too bad. Great at high altitude as well. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vermillion05 July 30, 2013

I made tortillas using this recipe. I mixed everything up in the bread machine, and it worked well. The amount of water given in the recipe seems correct when intensively kneaded as in a machine. The texture of the dough was soft, elastic, and not at all sticky. However, when it comes to using a rolling pin, I am a complete loser. I could not get the tortillas to be round! I am hoping that practice will improve performance. I will try this recipe again sometime, but do not want to assign stars at this point. Thank you for posting this interesting recipe. I used the tortillas for enchiladas, and they seemed very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao June 10, 2013

Super easy and super delicious. My kids never agree on anything, but after having these they all voted that we have them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdavis81 May 29, 2013

These were really good. I made a half recipe, which made 8 small tortillas. I cooked them in a regular pan stainless steel pan and they came out great. Next time i'm going to try to roll them out thinner though. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cupcake-Princess March 22, 2012

Really good and easy - except for the rolling part but that is all me. I did get better toward the end. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 02, 2012

I did half of the recipe and still ended with a good amount of tortillas.These did take a bit of work to extend but were good.Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms November 16, 2010

These came out great, and I used them for some fajitas we were having. They were easy to make and came out just the way I had hoped! This is my recipe for tortillas from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittanywigginnh April 01, 2009

This recipe was not quite what I was looking for. The flavor was great and they were very soft, but they were too thick. I rolled them out very thin, but they would puff up as I was cooking them from the baking powder. They were thicker than a tortilla, but thinner than Indian fry bread. I live in Arizona and can get great tortillas just about anywhere. Maybe next time I will leave out the baking powder. To see the actual thickness, check out the colorful picture by Sue L. Mine turned out just like that. 3 stars for taste and ease of preparation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linzjen April 01, 2009
Flour Tortillas Diaz