Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortillas Diaz Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortillas Diaz

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2009

      First time I have made Tortilla's I thought that they came out well. They are actually better a day after they have been made. They seem to soften a bit more. I will do this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      This was my first time making tortillas. The recipe was simple & turned out really well for me. I used my food processor fitted with the dough blade to mix the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Delicious! I've been making tortillas for about a year now, and this was by-far the BEST recipe I have found! I used about 1 1/4 cups of water and let my kitchen aid do the "work" for me in mixing and kneading. I was able to get about 24 six-inch tortillas out of this. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      These came out very good, although a little tough. I only used about 1 1/4 cups water before it got too sticky. This is a great alternative to shortening though! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I always steered clear of homemade tortillas because I heard they were too difficult (and let's be honest...didn't want to be compared to husband's family's!) But these were easy and very good! I found that the thicker they are the softer they stay. This also made about 24 tortillas...I obviously made them too small...but we ate them all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I found this very easy to make. I couldn't get them to be quite a thin as pictured and as what is bought in the store, but they are of sure healthier either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Most excellent, great as burrito shell, alone with butter, didn't get hard when cold...easy to make! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

    • on May 14, 2008

      Made it for the first time - GREAT recipe! I do not live in the US now, and tortillas here are so expensive, it is ridiculous... This was not only cheaper but way tastier. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      SUPERB RECIPE!!! After buying tasteless and stale tortillas week after week, I decided it was time to learn to make my own. I invested in a tortilla press and decided to try this recipe first as I didn't want tortillas made with shortening or lard. I wanted to make it as easy as possible, so I made the dough in my bread machine using the dough setting just to see if it would work. Well, it turned out just perfect and it couldn't have been easier - the ratios were exactly right as written. When the bread machine finished its thing, I made the rest an activity with my 4yo. I broke off the pieces and he put them in the tortilla press and then I rolled them out just a little bit more to make them nice and thin. I did find that I needed to add the slightest amount of oil in my non-stick pan to get them to bubble up and brown a little (also to save my non-stick pan). But this could be my pan and/or stove as it tends to run at one setting - hot. These turned out absolutely wonderful and were so delicious. We had lots of fun making them too. I was planning on making enchiladas with them, but they were so soft and pliable that I didn't want to bake them and lose that - so I ended up making soft tacos instead - they were the best we ever had. This made 17 tortillas for me and the whole family ate all but 1 which I rolled up for hubby to take as a b'fast burrito in the morning. FANTASTIC!!! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was my first time ever making tortillas. Holy Cow they are awesome. My 11 year old son actually said they taste like cake they were so wonderful. I will be making these ALOT. Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      My husband and I thought these were excellent. I made a chorizo and black bean filling and we loved them! Thanks for sharing this tortilla recipe because I know it would not have been half as good without the homemade tortilla. I didn't know how easy and delicious it is to make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      LOVED them!!! Will definitely make again! MMM...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. This has nearly become a staple at our house. Anytime I buy tortillas the kids just groan. I have to smack off little hands the entire time I'm cooking these- or they would all be gone before dinner. They are fun and easy to make. The kids love to help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      What a wonderful recipe! I have made tortillas in the past, but this recipe was easier. The tip that you gave was a very good one. My past tortillas did have shortening in them and you can not tell any difference in these and those. I was very pleased with the turn out of these tortillas. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Well....I started making tacos for the family and realized I ran out of the packaged tortillas and decided to see If my favorite recipe website had a tortilla recipe. I chose this one because I had no shortening on hand. Let me first say it was easy and they tasted great!!!! I will never go back to packaged tortillas. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      I reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon and replaced 1 cup white flour with 1 cup whole wheat flour. Very easy and very tasty! The directions, especially #11 were quite helpful. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Hi Julia, Thank you for posting this recipe. I have just tried them now and turned out very good and delicious. My husband and I just loved them. perfect texture and perfect shewiness. The first ones came out a little thick, but the last ones were just the right thickeness. Thank again. Theses were my first experience in making fresh flour tortillas. Fouzia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      I've tried a lot of tortilla recipes and this is the best one by far, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      They turned out perfectly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortillas Diaz

    Serving Size: 1 (920 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    18%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 383.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites