Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortillas Diaz Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortillas Diaz

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2010

      This recipe never lets me down and is a crowd favorite. I grew up with Grandmas tortillas which were made with lard and I've tried just about every recipe (with lard) on this site and they crack when folded and are dry the next day. Not this one though, tortillas are pliable even the next day. I can roll them out thick or thin. This is the only tortilla recipe I use and I highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      okay. i made this recipe once before, and i was really happy with it. one of the reasons i picked it was because it didn't have lard or shortening in it. today i tried to make it healthier, so... i did 2 cups white, 2 cups whole wheat. i had to add quite a bit more water to it than recommended, and they were SO tough to roll out. they took longer to cook, and they definitely weren't as nice to use once we were ready for dinner. oh yea... i forgot the cloth in the bowl after they were cooked. do not attempt to change this recipe, use as is... and you will be happy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I LOVE this recipe. Over time I've made some MINOR changes. I use white whole wheat flour. Only 1 tsp of baking powder. I also let the dough rest for at least an hour. Then roll the dough into balls and let the balls sit for a bit. It really makes the rolling out easier and the tortillas end up perfect. My kids (3,5,7) and my husband (who pulls out his, "I lived in Mexico, i know how mexican food is supposed to taste" card anytime I try new mexican food) gobble them up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This was our first time making tortillas. These are very easy to make and have an authentic flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Wow! These were so good. Like 500 times better than the ones in the store. I never knew that tortillas could actually taste like anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      What a great recipe!! The detailed directions make it easy for even a novice tortilla maker like myself to create fresh, delicious tortillas! The only changes I made were to use whole wheat pastry flour, sodium-free baking powder, half the amount of water, and to replace 1 tablespoon of flour (per tortilla) with cornmeal (for tortillas similar to the organic whole wheat-corn tortillas at Trader Joes). To be able to make tortillas instead of having to buy them is empowering! I'll be using this recipe often! Thanks for sharing it, Julia Rodriguez!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Thanks for the recipe. I found these tasty and easy to make. I used my non-stick pancake griddle (the kind that uses no-oil) to cook them and they turned out geat. I think when I make them again and try to roll them a bit thinner- too thick for my sis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Good tortillas! Is there some secret to keeping them soft for longer than a day?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Wow. So good and very easy. I found that the way to make them thinner is by using just a sprinkle of flour on both sides while rolling. Just a dust...don't use too much flour. Keeper recipe. Thank you for posting it. No more buying those stale flour tortillas that are super expensive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      These were a hit! They have a good texture- perfect for breakfast tacos, fajitas or burritos. Thanks for this easy and delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      these were quick and easy to make (at one tenth of the imported tortillas cost) made them twice in the last week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      Made it with coconut oil. Very easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      My family loves tortillas and this recipe was great. I tweaked it a bit. Another reviewer left a comment about wheat flour, but I really enjoy the heartiness. I make these with half wheat and half white flour. With the wheat flour, I find I need to increase salt to 2 or 2.5 teaspoons of salt. I also omit the baking soda (I love them flat). Wheat tend to need a bit more water, but it wasn't too bad. Great at high altitude as well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      I made tortillas using this recipe. I mixed everything up in the bread machine, and it worked well. The amount of water given in the recipe seems correct when intensively kneaded as in a machine. The texture of the dough was soft, elastic, and not at all sticky. However, when it comes to using a rolling pin, I am a complete loser. I could not get the tortillas to be round! I am hoping that practice will improve performance. I will try this recipe again sometime, but do not want to assign stars at this point. Thank you for posting this interesting recipe. I used the tortillas for enchiladas, and they seemed very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Super easy and super delicious. My kids never agree on anything, but after having these they all voted that we have them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      These were really good. I made a half recipe, which made 8 small tortillas. I cooked them in a regular pan stainless steel pan and they came out great. Next time i'm going to try to roll them out thinner though. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Really good and easy - except for the rolling part but that is all me. I did get better toward the end. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I did half of the recipe and still ended with a good amount of tortillas.These did take a bit of work to extend but were good.Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      These came out great, and I used them for some fajitas we were having. They were easy to make and came out just the way I had hoped! This is my recipe for tortillas from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This recipe was not quite what I was looking for. The flavor was great and they were very soft, but they were too thick. I rolled them out very thin, but they would puff up as I was cooking them from the baking powder. They were thicker than a tortilla, but thinner than Indian fry bread. I live in Arizona and can get great tortillas just about anywhere. Maybe next time I will leave out the baking powder. To see the actual thickness, check out the colorful picture by Sue L. Mine turned out just like that. 3 stars for taste and ease of preparation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortillas Diaz

    Serving Size: 1 (920 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    18%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 383.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes