Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2011

      Great money saver! My kids did not believe me that I made my own tortillas. They looked just like the store bought and tasted just as good, if not better. Here's a little tip to use after rolling out the dough and shaping - use a small plate and a pizza cutter to trim the edges to make the tortilla a perfect circle. I was absolutely thrilled with this and I thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Wow, I was able to make a dozen tortillas for pennies verses over $2.00 a package at the store. these took no time at all and were a hundred times better tasting.DO NOT try to use a regular tortilla press for this. They are made for use with corn tortillas and will possibly break if you use them with this stiff of dough. I used my Kitchen Aid with the wire whisk to mix in the lard and changed to the dough hook for the water. I noticed the resting time takes longer when the house is a little cold. I have made several batches at a time since I noticed these freeze really well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Followed this absolute. Used lard, and it was the way to go. Easy as peezy to put together. Used my Kitchen Aid Mixer (processor gone) (first with my whip, then with the paddle attachment) until dough came together. Rolled out, let sit for about an hour. Was perfect, and used my hand to roll out, and finished with the roller. Not perfect circles, but who cares? It's rustic, and good. No need for perfection here, unless eating. Which it was. Loved it, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      I used Crisco and 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup unbleached flour, in place of white flour. They turned out perfectly and have more flavor and fiber than commercial white flour tortillas. Resting the dough made them easy to roll out. I cooked some on a greased griddle and some on an ungreased griddle. Both methods worked well, but the ungreased ones took a little longer to bubble. I'll be using this recipe often to add whole grains to our diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      So quick and easy! I wasn't able to find my usual recipe and thought I would give this one a try. My usual recipe calls for milk and I was out of so I was thrilled that your recipe called for water. I love that the dough can be mixed up so quick in the food processor and it was an easy dough to work with. I needed to add more flour to get the right consistency. I was able to get 14 tortillas and was able to roll them super thin with no problem. I cooked them on an iron skillet and I think they taste best when the bubble turn a little brown. Not too many things are better than homemade tortillas. Thanks so much for sharing this keeper recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      These are unbelievably wonderful! I have seriously made these at least 10 times over the last 3 weeks. I use the paddle in my Kitchen Aid to throw together. I do nothing special except let the dough rest and use an iron skillet. My family is hooked and they taste totally authentic, just like the ones that the Mexican Grocery store makes and sells for $2.50 a dozen. They taste best if eaten immediately, but if you need to refrigerate them, let them cool on paper towels before bagging them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Wowzer these are so good! No more store bought for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      These were so easy. I would suggest those who are using them in a skillet to make sure the iron skillet is larger than the circle size of the tortillas. These lasted exactly 20 minutes in a house of four after they were made lol I guess they taste good I didn't get a chance.. will next week when every one is at work and school.. lol thank for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Amazing! This was my first time making tortillas from scratch, and I was THRILLED at how these turned out. I used vegetable shortning, and rolled them by hand. Using a food processor for the dough is so incredibly easy as well. I cannot wait to make these again, because I am quite sure I won't be needing to buy flour tortillas ever again! I might try half whole wheat flour next time

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      These came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      We love this recipe and use it all the time! It's a bit of work, but the taste is worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Excellent recipe. Would definitely recommend!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I've made these probably a dozen times by now. I've never liked the taste of the storebought ones and now it won't be an issue again ^_^ thank you for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This was pretty easy to make but I just wish I had a tortilla press to avoid all that rolling! All I have is a small one-handed roller and it was a bit of a pain but worth it. I don't have a food processor yet so I used a pastry cutter to cut in the shortening with ease and then mixed in the water by hand. I'll definitely make these again - but I may buy a tortilla press! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Following the directions of other comments I used my kitchenaid to make these, and they were delicious! We used them for tacos & later heated the leftovers & ate them with butter & honey - delish!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      These are delicious! I cut the shortening in the old fashioned way with a pastry cutter. Was still super quick (less than five minutes). Tried rolling them out with my tortilla press, not the greatest idea ever. Will definitely use the rolling pin next time. But I will never buy tortillas again! Thanks kc! EDIT: Made another batch with the rolling pin. PER-FECT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      really easy! i used my kitchen aid, the whisk attachment to cut the crisco in, then the dough hook for adding the water. turned ou perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Who knew these were so easy to make? On a whim, made some tonight to serve with fish tacos. As another reviewer did, I had only butter flavor crisco, so used that and they turned out good. I certainly couldn't make pretty circles; may have to get a tortilla press! These really are quite easy to make and they cook up quickly. They are tastier than store bought and finally gave me a chance to use my tortilla warmer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Awesome and easy recipe! I had to improvise because i didn't have everything on hand, so I used butter flavor Crisco and I added correander to the flour. I only have a small food processor, so I had to break it up into three batches, but each batch came out wonderfully! I also don't have a rolling pin, so I pressed it out with my hands. they turned out wonderfully! The first one was a bit crunchy because I over cooked it, but my 3 year old and I just topped it with cheese and ate it like a cheesy cracker. The rest came out wonderfully as I followed the suggestion of someone else and flipped it a few times to cook it through and not over cook them! Thank you so much for the recipe! I won't be buying tortillas again! (though I may buy some regular crisco): UPDATE! I have started adding other spices to the flour and I have vetran chef friends raving about how my tortillas are the best they have ever had! You can even wrap them in aluminum foil and throw them on the grill and they come out beautifully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Great and easy to follow recipe. We make batches and freeze them. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.8
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    31%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 195.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites